Atico Produces 2.09 Million Pounds of Cu and 2,108 Ounces of Au in First Quarter 2026
Original announcement by tmx on
- Company
- Atico Mining Corporation
- Ticker
- ATY
- Exchange
- TSX
- Region
- Colombia
- Primary commodity
- Copper
- Secondary commodities
- Gold
- Document categories
- Production, Resource update
- Extracted
- 2026-09-17 10:55:15 UTC
Analysis by Minestarters Atlas
Minestarters Atlas analysis
Summary
Atico Mining Corporation announced its Q1 2026 operating results from the El Roble mine in Colombia, reporting 2.09 million pounds of copper and 2,108 ounces of gold in concentrates. Gold production increased by 36% and gold grade by 20% compared to Q1 2025, while copper production and grade saw a 6% decrease. The company also referenced its historical Proven and Probable mineral reserves estimate for El Roble from March 2024.
Reasoning: Atico reported mixed Q1 2026 production results from its El Roble mine, with a significant increase in gold production, grade, and recovery, but a decrease in copper production, grade, and recovery, alongside lower daily throughput. The company expects to meet full-year guidance.
Positive factors
- gold_production_increase
- gold_grade_increase
- gold_recovery_increase
Negative factors
- copper_production_decrease
- copper_grade_decrease
- copper_recovery_decrease
- throughput_decrease
Facts used in scoring: 24
Extracted facts
Stored fact records: 2. Some facts used in scoring do not have a stored record.
Resource Estimates (2)
probableEl Roble mine · copperTonnes: 828000Grade: 2.49Grade Unit: %Historical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- El Roble mine
- Commodity
- copper
- Region
- colombia
- Reported Region
- Colombia
- Ticker
- ATY
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- reserve
- Effective date
- 2024-03-12T00:00:00.000Z
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101
- QP Signed
- Yes
- Qualified person names
- Thomas Kelly
- Resource group id
- resource:bae5698fdc0673573302
- Mining method
- underground
Resource Data
- Category
- probable
- Tonnes
- 828000
- Grade
- 2.49
- Grade Unit
- %
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2024-03-12
Review
- Needs Review
- Yes
- Review Reason
- historical_restatement
- Historical
- Yes
- Historical Source Date
- 2024-03-12T00:00:00.000Z
Dates
- Event date
- 2026-04-28T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: Historical reserve estimate for copper at El Roble mine.
Evidence · text
“reserves estimate, with an effective date of March 12, 2024, includes Proven and Probable mineral reserves of 828 thousand tonnes averaging 2.49% Cu”
Tags used in scoring
Probable Reservepositive
Indicated Resource with demonstrated economic viability after applying modifying factors.
Why it applies: category is "probable"
Cut-off Undisclosednegative
High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.
Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated
QP/CP Signedpositive
Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.
Why it applies: qp_signed is true
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
No Contained Metalnegative
Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.
Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported
Stale Estimatenegative
Effective date is >2 years old — data currency concern, may not reflect current geological understanding.
Why it applies: effective date is 2.1 years before this release
probableEl Roble mine · goldTonnes: 828000Grade: 2.2Grade Unit: g/tHistorical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- El Roble mine
- Commodity
- gold
- Region
- colombia
- Reported Region
- Colombia
- Ticker
- ATY
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- reserve
- Effective date
- 2024-03-12T00:00:00.000Z
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101
- QP Signed
- Yes
- Qualified person names
- Thomas Kelly
- Resource group id
- resource:bae5698fdc0673573302
- Mining method
- underground
Resource Data
- Category
- probable
- Tonnes
- 828000
- Grade
- 2.2
- Grade Unit
- g/t
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2024-03-12
Review
- Needs Review
- Yes
- Review Reason
- historical_restatement
- Historical
- Yes
- Historical Source Date
- 2024-03-12T00:00:00.000Z
Dates
- Event date
- 2026-04-28T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: Historical reserve estimate for gold at El Roble mine.
Evidence · text
“reserves estimate, with an effective date of March 12, 2024, includes Proven and Probable mineral reserves of 828 thousand tonnes averaging ... 2.20 g/t Au”
Tags used in scoring
Probable Reservepositive
Indicated Resource with demonstrated economic viability after applying modifying factors.
Why it applies: category is "probable"
Cut-off Undisclosednegative
High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.
Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated
QP/CP Signedpositive
Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.
Why it applies: qp_signed is true
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
No Contained Metalnegative
Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.
Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported
Stale Estimatenegative
Effective date is >2 years old — data currency concern, may not reflect current geological understanding.
Why it applies: effective date is 2.1 years before this release
How Atlas produces this analysis
Minestarters Atlas uses automated extraction to summarize mining announcements, identify reported measurements, and classify supporting evidence. Sentiment reflects the extracted narrative and classification rules; it is an interpretation, not a reported measurement. Evidence quotes and context are provided where available. Missing data, low-confidence results, and review flags indicate limitations. Check the original publisher announcement before relying on an interpretation.