Atico Produces 2.24 Million Pounds of Cu and 1,906 Ounces of Au in Third Quarter 2025
Original announcement by tmx on
- Company
- Atico Mining Corporation
- Ticker
- ATY
- Exchange
- TSX
- Region
- Colombia
- Primary commodity
- Copper
- Secondary commodities
- Gold
- Document categories
- Production, Resource update
- Extracted
- 2026-09-17 11:31:30 UTC
Analysis by Minestarters Atlas
Minestarters Atlas analysis
Summary
Atico Mining reported Q3 2025 production from its El Roble mine, with copper production decreasing 23% year-over-year to 2.24 million pounds and gold production decreasing 8% to 1,906 ounces. The company attributed the decline to a revised mine plan prioritizing lower-grade, previously excluded ore due to higher metal prices, which impacted copper head grade. Atico also provided revised 2025 guidance, projecting 9,000-9,500 thousand pounds of copper and 7,500-8,500 ounces of gold, with C1 cash costs between $1.70-$1.80 per pound.
Reasoning: Q3 2025 production saw a year-over-year decline in copper and gold output, primarily due to a strategic shift to process lower-grade, previously excluded ore to maximize overall recovery, which impacted copper head grade. However, the company anticipates improved production in the next quarter and is conducting a drill program to increase reserves and mine life.
Positive factors
- Strategic shift to incorporate lower-grade ore to maximize overall recovery
- Anticipated production improvement in next quarter
- Current drill program aims to increase reserves and LOM
Negative factors
- Q3 2025 production decrease for copper and gold year-over-year
- Copper head grade below budget
- Postponement of concentrate shipment to next quarter
Low confidence — this extraction should be reviewed alongside the original source.
Facts used in scoring: 27
Extracted facts
Stored fact records: 2. Some facts used in scoring do not have a stored record.
Resource Estimates (2)
probableEl Roble mine · copperTonnes: 828000Grade: 2.49Grade Unit: %Historical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- El Roble mine
- Commodity
- copper
- Region
- colombia
- Reported Region
- Colombia
- Ticker
- ATY
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- reserve
- Effective date
- 2024-03-12T00:00:00.000Z
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101
- QP Signed
- Yes
- Qualified person names
- Thomas Kelly
- Resource group id
- resource:bae5698fdc0673573302
- Mining method
- underground
Resource Data
- Category
- probable
- Tonnes
- 828000
- Grade
- 2.49
- Grade Unit
- %
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2024-03-12
Review
- Needs Review
- Yes
- Review Reason
- historical_restatement
- Historical
- Yes
- Historical Source Date
- 2024-03-12T00:00:00.000Z
Dates
- Event date
- 2025-10-21T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: Restatement of the El Roble mine's Proven and Probable mineral reserves as of March 12, 2024.
Evidence · text
“Proven and Probable mineral reserves of 828 thousand tonnes averaging 2.49% Cu”
Tags used in scoring
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: The reserve estimate is reported under NI 43-101 standards.
Evidence · text
“NI 43-101 technical report”
QP/CP Signedpositive
Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.
Why it applies: Mr. Thomas Kelly, a qualified person under NI 43-101, is responsible for the technical information.
Evidence · text
“Mr. Thomas Kelly (SME Registered Member 1696580), advisor to the Company and a qualified person under National Instrument 43-101 standards, is responsible for ensuring that the technical information contained in this news release is an accurate summary of the original reports and data provided to or developed by Atico.”
Historical Estimate Onlynegative
Estimate pre-dates or does not comply with current JORC/NI 43-101 standards — requires verification drilling.
Why it applies: The reserve estimate has an effective date of March 12, 2024, and is being restated in this October 2025 announcement.
Evidence · text
“El Roble’s reserves estimate, with an effective date of March 12, 2024”
Probable Reservepositive
Indicated Resource with demonstrated economic viability after applying modifying factors.
Why it applies: category is "probable"
Cut-off Undisclosednegative
High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.
Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated
No Contained Metalnegative
Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.
Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported
probableEl Roble mine · goldTonnes: 828000Grade: 2.2Grade Unit: g/tHistorical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- El Roble mine
- Commodity
- gold
- Region
- colombia
- Reported Region
- Colombia
- Ticker
- ATY
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- reserve
- Effective date
- 2024-03-12T00:00:00.000Z
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101
- QP Signed
- Yes
- Qualified person names
- Thomas Kelly
- Resource group id
- resource:bae5698fdc0673573302
- Mining method
- underground
Resource Data
- Category
- probable
- Tonnes
- 828000
- Grade
- 2.2
- Grade Unit
- g/t
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2024-03-12
Review
- Needs Review
- Yes
- Review Reason
- historical_restatement
- Historical
- Yes
- Historical Source Date
- 2024-03-12T00:00:00.000Z
Dates
- Event date
- 2025-10-21T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: Restatement of the El Roble mine's Proven and Probable mineral reserves as of March 12, 2024.
Evidence · text
“2.20 g/t Au”
Tags used in scoring
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: The reserve estimate is reported under NI 43-101 standards.
Evidence · text
“NI 43-101 technical report”
QP/CP Signedpositive
Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.
Why it applies: Mr. Thomas Kelly, a qualified person under NI 43-101, is responsible for the technical information.
Evidence · text
“Mr. Thomas Kelly (SME Registered Member 1696580), advisor to the Company and a qualified person under National Instrument 43-101 standards, is responsible for ensuring that the technical information contained in this news release is an accurate summary of the original reports and data provided to or developed by Atico.”
Historical Estimate Onlynegative
Estimate pre-dates or does not comply with current JORC/NI 43-101 standards — requires verification drilling.
Why it applies: The reserve estimate has an effective date of March 12, 2024, and is being restated in this October 2025 announcement.
Evidence · text
“El Roble’s reserves estimate, with an effective date of March 12, 2024”
Probable Reservepositive
Indicated Resource with demonstrated economic viability after applying modifying factors.
Why it applies: category is "probable"
Cut-off Undisclosednegative
High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.
Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated
No Contained Metalnegative
Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.
Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported
How Atlas produces this analysis
Minestarters Atlas uses automated extraction to summarize mining announcements, identify reported measurements, and classify supporting evidence. Sentiment reflects the extracted narrative and classification rules; it is an interpretation, not a reported measurement. Evidence quotes and context are provided where available. Missing data, low-confidence results, and review flags indicate limitations. Check the original publisher announcement before relying on an interpretation.