CaNickel Announces Positive Preliminary Economic Assessment and Updated Mineral Resource Estimate for Bucko Lake Mine
Original announcement by tmx on
- Company
- CaNickel Mining Ltd.
- Ticker
- CML
- Exchange
- TSX
- Region
- Manitoba
- Primary commodity
- Nickel
- Secondary commodities
- Copper
- Document categories
- Resource update, Economic study
- Extracted
- 2026-09-19 16:32:48 UTC
Analysis by Minestarters Atlas
Minestarters Atlas analysis
Summary
CaNickel Mining Ltd. announced a positive Preliminary Economic Assessment (PEA) and an updated Mineral Resource Estimate (MRE) for its Bucko Lake Mine in Manitoba. The PEA outlines a 13-year mine life producing 101 million pounds of payable nickel, with an after-tax NPV of $169 million (CAD) and an IRR of 30% at a 6% discount rate. The project benefits from existing infrastructure and reports Measured and Indicated resources of 5.7 million tonnes at 1.24% Ni, plus 10.6 million tonnes of Inferred resources at 1.18% Ni. Initial capital costs are estimated at $86.7 million (CAD) with a payback period of 3.3 years.
Reasoning: CaNickel announced a positive PEA and updated MRE for its Bucko Lake Mine, outlining robust economics for a restart project with a 30% after-tax IRR and 3.3-year payback. The project benefits from existing infrastructure and a substantial nickel resource. However, the PEA's preliminary nature, reliance on Inferred resources, and the company's significant corporate debt introduce material risks. The study's base case nickel price is conservative compared to recent spot prices, which could be a positive or a risk depending on market volatility.
Positive factors
- Strong after-tax IRR of 30% and fast payback of 3.3 years for a nickel project.
- Significant Measured and Indicated resource base (156.3 Mlb Ni) with additional Inferred resources.
- Project benefits from existing infrastructure, including a previously operated processing plant.
- PEA supersedes an older study, indicating updated economic assessment.
Negative factors
- PEA is preliminary in nature and includes Inferred Mineral Resources, which are considered too speculative for economic considerations.
- The project is a restart of a mine previously placed on care and maintenance due to low nickel prices and operational challenges.
- Significant corporate debt ($90+ million) needs to be restructured, which could impact project financing.
- The PEA is based on a nickel price assumption that is below the current spot price, suggesting potential for higher returns but also volatility risk.
Facts used in scoring: 15
Classification and evidence
Cut-off Disclosedpositive
Cut-off grade used for resource reporting is clearly stated, enabling like-for-like comparison.
Why it applies: A current resource fact retains the disclosed cut-off grade
Resource Updateneutral
Revised estimate for an existing resource — compare to prior to assess progress.
Why it applies: The source explicitly discloses a revised resource estimate
Evidence · text
“Updated Mineral Resource Estimate”
Extracted facts
Stored fact records: 14. Some facts used in scoring do not have a stored record.
Resource Estimates (14)
measuredBucko Lake Mine · nickelTonnes: 1753000Grade: 1.25Grade Unit: %Contained Metal: 48.32Contained Unit: m lbView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Bucko Lake Mine
- Commodity
- nickel
- Region
- canada_mb
- Reported Region
- Manitoba
- Ticker
- CML
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- resource
- Effective date
- 2023-01-13T00:00:00.000Z
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101
- QP Signed
- Yes
- Resource group id
- resource:744507b4a84aa88103b1
- Mining method
- underground
Resource Data
- Category
- measured
- Tonnes
- 1753000
- Grade
- 1.25
- Grade Unit
- %
- Contained Metal
- 48.32
- Contained Unit
- m lb
- Cutoff Grade
- 0.7
- Cutoff Unit
- % Ni
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2023-01-13
Review
- Needs Review
- No
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2023-01-16T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: The Measured resource provides a high level of confidence for a portion of the project's nickel endowment, supporting the economic assessment.
Positive factors
- High confidence Measured category for a significant portion of the resource.
- Good grade for nickel sulphide deposit.
Evidence · table
“1.25”
Context: 1,753
Tags used in scoring
Measured Resourcepositive
Highest confidence category — tonnage, grade, shape well-established from closely-spaced drilling. Basis for Proven Reserves.
Why it applies: category is "measured"
Cut-off Disclosedpositive
Cut-off grade used for resource reporting is clearly stated, enabling like-for-like comparison.
Why it applies: cutoff_grade is stated
QP/CP Signedpositive
Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.
Why it applies: qp_signed is true
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
Resource Updateneutral
Revised estimate for an existing resource — compare to prior to assess progress.
Why it applies: the release compares against a previous estimate
PEA-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
measuredBucko Lake Mine · copperTonnes: 1753000Grade: 0.09Grade Unit: %Contained Metal: 3.4Contained Unit: m lbView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Bucko Lake Mine
- Commodity
- copper
- Region
- canada_mb
- Reported Region
- Manitoba
- Ticker
- CML
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- resource
- Effective date
- 2023-01-13T00:00:00.000Z
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101
- QP Signed
- Yes
- Resource group id
- resource:744507b4a84aa88103b1
- Mining method
- underground
Resource Data
- Category
- measured
- Tonnes
- 1753000
- Grade
- 0.09
- Grade Unit
- %
- Contained Metal
- 3.4
- Contained Unit
- m lb
- Cutoff Grade
- 0.7
- Cutoff Unit
- % Ni
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2023-01-13
Review
- Needs Review
- No
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2023-01-16T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: Copper is present as a byproduct in the Measured resource, adding minor value to the project.
Evidence · table
“0.09”
Context: 1,753
Tags used in scoring
Measured Resourcepositive
Highest confidence category — tonnage, grade, shape well-established from closely-spaced drilling. Basis for Proven Reserves.
Why it applies: category is "measured"
Cut-off Disclosedpositive
Cut-off grade used for resource reporting is clearly stated, enabling like-for-like comparison.
Why it applies: cutoff_grade is stated
QP/CP Signedpositive
Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.
Why it applies: qp_signed is true
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
Resource Updateneutral
Revised estimate for an existing resource — compare to prior to assess progress.
Why it applies: the release compares against a previous estimate
PEA-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
indicatedBucko Lake Mine · nickelTonnes: 3975000Grade: 1.23Grade Unit: %Contained Metal: 107.94Contained Unit: m lbView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Bucko Lake Mine
- Commodity
- nickel
- Region
- canada_mb
- Reported Region
- Manitoba
- Ticker
- CML
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- resource
- Effective date
- 2023-01-13T00:00:00.000Z
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101
- QP Signed
- Yes
- Resource group id
- resource:71fa66f7e917b6969fc2
- Mining method
- underground
Resource Data
- Category
- indicated
- Tonnes
- 3975000
- Grade
- 1.23
- Grade Unit
- %
- Contained Metal
- 107.94
- Contained Unit
- m lb
- Cutoff Grade
- 0.7
- Cutoff Unit
- % Ni
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2023-01-13
Review
- Needs Review
- No
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2023-01-16T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: The Indicated resource category represents a substantial portion of the project's nickel, supporting further economic studies and potential reserve conversion.
Positive factors
- Significant Indicated resource base, providing reasonable geological confidence.
- Good grade for nickel sulphide deposit.
Evidence · table
“1.23”
Context: 3,975
Tags used in scoring
Indicated Resourcepositive
Reasonable geological confidence based on adequate drilling; continuity can be assumed. Basis for Probable Reserves.
Why it applies: category is "indicated"
Cut-off Disclosedpositive
Cut-off grade used for resource reporting is clearly stated, enabling like-for-like comparison.
Why it applies: cutoff_grade is stated
QP/CP Signedpositive
Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.
Why it applies: qp_signed is true
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
Resource Updateneutral
Revised estimate for an existing resource — compare to prior to assess progress.
Why it applies: the release compares against a previous estimate
PEA-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
indicatedBucko Lake Mine · copperTonnes: 3975000Grade: 0.11Grade Unit: %Contained Metal: 9.99Contained Unit: m lbView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Bucko Lake Mine
- Commodity
- copper
- Region
- canada_mb
- Reported Region
- Manitoba
- Ticker
- CML
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- resource
- Effective date
- 2023-01-13T00:00:00.000Z
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101
- QP Signed
- Yes
- Resource group id
- resource:71fa66f7e917b6969fc2
- Mining method
- underground
Resource Data
- Category
- indicated
- Tonnes
- 3975000
- Grade
- 0.11
- Grade Unit
- %
- Contained Metal
- 9.99
- Contained Unit
- m lb
- Cutoff Grade
- 0.7
- Cutoff Unit
- % Ni
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2023-01-13
Review
- Needs Review
- No
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2023-01-16T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: Copper is present as a byproduct in the Indicated resource, adding minor value to the project.
Evidence · table
“0.11”
Context: 3,975
Tags used in scoring
Indicated Resourcepositive
Reasonable geological confidence based on adequate drilling; continuity can be assumed. Basis for Probable Reserves.
Why it applies: category is "indicated"
Cut-off Disclosedpositive
Cut-off grade used for resource reporting is clearly stated, enabling like-for-like comparison.
Why it applies: cutoff_grade is stated
QP/CP Signedpositive
Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.
Why it applies: qp_signed is true
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
Resource Updateneutral
Revised estimate for an existing resource — compare to prior to assess progress.
Why it applies: the release compares against a previous estimate
PEA-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
inferredBucko Lake Mine · nickelTonnes: 10587000Grade: 1.18Grade Unit: %Contained Metal: 275.59Contained Unit: m lbView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Bucko Lake Mine
- Commodity
- nickel
- Region
- canada_mb
- Reported Region
- Manitoba
- Ticker
- CML
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- resource
- Effective date
- 2023-01-13T00:00:00.000Z
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101
- QP Signed
- Yes
- Resource group id
- resource:677537cbd9e75cd9eff0
- Mining method
- underground
Resource Data
- Category
- inferred
- Tonnes
- 10587000
- Grade
- 1.18
- Grade Unit
- %
- Contained Metal
- 275.59
- Contained Unit
- m lb
- Cutoff Grade
- 0.7
- Cutoff Unit
- % Ni
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2023-01-13
Review
- Needs Review
- No
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2023-01-16T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: The substantial Inferred resource offers future growth potential but carries a lower confidence level, impacting the overall project certainty at this stage.
Positive factors
- Large Inferred resource base provides significant exploration upside.
Negative factors
- Inferred resources are considered too speculative for economic considerations in a PEA.
Evidence · table
“1.18”
Context: 10,587
Tags used in scoring
Inferred Resourcenegative
Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.
Why it applies: category is "inferred"
Cut-off Disclosedpositive
Cut-off grade used for resource reporting is clearly stated, enabling like-for-like comparison.
Why it applies: cutoff_grade is stated
QP/CP Signedpositive
Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.
Why it applies: qp_signed is true
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
Resource Updateneutral
Revised estimate for an existing resource — compare to prior to assess progress.
Why it applies: the release compares against a previous estimate
PEA-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
inferredBucko Lake Mine · copperTonnes: 10587000Grade: 0.13Grade Unit: %Contained Metal: 31.15Contained Unit: m lbView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Bucko Lake Mine
- Commodity
- copper
- Region
- canada_mb
- Reported Region
- Manitoba
- Ticker
- CML
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- resource
- Effective date
- 2023-01-13T00:00:00.000Z
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101
- QP Signed
- Yes
- Resource group id
- resource:677537cbd9e75cd9eff0
- Mining method
- underground
Resource Data
- Category
- inferred
- Tonnes
- 10587000
- Grade
- 0.13
- Grade Unit
- %
- Contained Metal
- 31.15
- Contained Unit
- m lb
- Cutoff Grade
- 0.7
- Cutoff Unit
- % Ni
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2023-01-13
Review
- Needs Review
- No
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2023-01-16T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: Copper is present as a byproduct in the Inferred resource, adding minor value to the project's long-term potential.
Evidence · table
“0.13”
Context: 10,587
Tags used in scoring
Inferred Resourcenegative
Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.
Why it applies: category is "inferred"
Cut-off Disclosedpositive
Cut-off grade used for resource reporting is clearly stated, enabling like-for-like comparison.
Why it applies: cutoff_grade is stated
QP/CP Signedpositive
Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.
Why it applies: qp_signed is true
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
Resource Updateneutral
Revised estimate for an existing resource — compare to prior to assess progress.
Why it applies: the release compares against a previous estimate
PEA-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
measuredBucko Lake Mine · nickelTonnes: 1753Grade: 1.25Grade Unit: %View all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Bucko Lake Mine
- Commodity
- nickel
- Region
- canada_mb
- Reported Region
- Manitoba
- Ticker
- CML
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- resource
- Effective date
- 2023-01-13T00:00:00.000Z
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101
- QP Signed
- Yes
- Resource group id
- resource:3c6fa0489784dd6de22b
- Mining method
- underground
Resource Data
- Category
- measured
- Tonnes
- 1753
- Grade
- 1.25
- Grade Unit
- %
- Cutoff Grade
- 0.7
- Cutoff Unit
- % Ni
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2023-01-13
Review
- Needs Review
- No
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2023-01-16T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: The Measured resource provides a high level of confidence for a portion of the project's nickel endowment, supporting the economic assessment. (Expanded from multi-commodity resource table for completeness.)
Positive factors
- High confidence Measured category for a significant portion of the resource.
- Good grade for nickel sulphide deposit.
Evidence · table
“1.25”
Context: 1,753
Tags used in scoring
Measured Resourcepositive
Highest confidence category — tonnage, grade, shape well-established from closely-spaced drilling. Basis for Proven Reserves.
Why it applies: category is "measured"
Cut-off Disclosedpositive
Cut-off grade used for resource reporting is clearly stated, enabling like-for-like comparison.
Why it applies: cutoff_grade is stated
QP/CP Signedpositive
Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.
Why it applies: qp_signed is true
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
No Contained Metalnegative
Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.
Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported
Resource Updateneutral
Revised estimate for an existing resource — compare to prior to assess progress.
Why it applies: the release compares against a previous estimate
PEA-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
measuredBucko Lake Mine · copperTonnes: 1753Grade: 0.09Grade Unit: %View all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Bucko Lake Mine
- Commodity
- copper
- Region
- canada_mb
- Reported Region
- Manitoba
- Ticker
- CML
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- resource
- Effective date
- 2023-01-13T00:00:00.000Z
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101
- QP Signed
- Yes
- Resource group id
- resource:3c6fa0489784dd6de22b
- Mining method
- underground
Resource Data
- Category
- measured
- Tonnes
- 1753
- Grade
- 0.09
- Grade Unit
- %
- Cutoff Grade
- 0.7
- Cutoff Unit
- % Ni
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2023-01-13
Review
- Needs Review
- No
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2023-01-16T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: The Measured resource provides a high level of confidence for a portion of the project's nickel endowment, supporting the economic assessment. (Expanded from multi-commodity resource table for completeness.)
Positive factors
- High confidence Measured category for a significant portion of the resource.
- Good grade for nickel sulphide deposit.
Evidence · table
“0.09”
Context: 1,753
Tags used in scoring
Measured Resourcepositive
Highest confidence category — tonnage, grade, shape well-established from closely-spaced drilling. Basis for Proven Reserves.
Why it applies: category is "measured"
Cut-off Disclosedpositive
Cut-off grade used for resource reporting is clearly stated, enabling like-for-like comparison.
Why it applies: cutoff_grade is stated
QP/CP Signedpositive
Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.
Why it applies: qp_signed is true
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
No Contained Metalnegative
Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.
Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported
Resource Updateneutral
Revised estimate for an existing resource — compare to prior to assess progress.
Why it applies: the release compares against a previous estimate
PEA-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
indicatedBucko Lake Mine · nickelTonnes: 3975Grade: 1.23Grade Unit: %View all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Bucko Lake Mine
- Commodity
- nickel
- Region
- canada_mb
- Reported Region
- Manitoba
- Ticker
- CML
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- resource
- Effective date
- 2023-01-13T00:00:00.000Z
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101
- QP Signed
- Yes
- Resource group id
- resource:3628534bcbb01a603487
- Mining method
- underground
Resource Data
- Category
- indicated
- Tonnes
- 3975
- Grade
- 1.23
- Grade Unit
- %
- Cutoff Grade
- 0.7
- Cutoff Unit
- % Ni
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2023-01-13
Review
- Needs Review
- No
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2023-01-16T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: The Indicated resource category represents a substantial portion of the project's nickel, supporting further economic studies and potential reserve conversion. (Expanded from multi-commodity resource table for completeness.)
Positive factors
- Significant Indicated resource base, providing reasonable geological confidence.
- Good grade for nickel sulphide deposit.
Evidence · table
“1.23”
Context: 3,975
Tags used in scoring
Indicated Resourcepositive
Reasonable geological confidence based on adequate drilling; continuity can be assumed. Basis for Probable Reserves.
Why it applies: category is "indicated"
Cut-off Disclosedpositive
Cut-off grade used for resource reporting is clearly stated, enabling like-for-like comparison.
Why it applies: cutoff_grade is stated
QP/CP Signedpositive
Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.
Why it applies: qp_signed is true
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
No Contained Metalnegative
Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.
Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported
Resource Updateneutral
Revised estimate for an existing resource — compare to prior to assess progress.
Why it applies: the release compares against a previous estimate
PEA-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
indicatedBucko Lake Mine · copperTonnes: 3975Grade: 0.11Grade Unit: %View all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Bucko Lake Mine
- Commodity
- copper
- Region
- canada_mb
- Reported Region
- Manitoba
- Ticker
- CML
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- resource
- Effective date
- 2023-01-13T00:00:00.000Z
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101
- QP Signed
- Yes
- Resource group id
- resource:3628534bcbb01a603487
- Mining method
- underground
Resource Data
- Category
- indicated
- Tonnes
- 3975
- Grade
- 0.11
- Grade Unit
- %
- Cutoff Grade
- 0.7
- Cutoff Unit
- % Ni
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2023-01-13
Review
- Needs Review
- No
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2023-01-16T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: The Indicated resource category represents a substantial portion of the project's nickel, supporting further economic studies and potential reserve conversion. (Expanded from multi-commodity resource table for completeness.)
Positive factors
- Significant Indicated resource base, providing reasonable geological confidence.
- Good grade for nickel sulphide deposit.
Evidence · table
“0.11”
Context: 3,975
Tags used in scoring
Indicated Resourcepositive
Reasonable geological confidence based on adequate drilling; continuity can be assumed. Basis for Probable Reserves.
Why it applies: category is "indicated"
Cut-off Disclosedpositive
Cut-off grade used for resource reporting is clearly stated, enabling like-for-like comparison.
Why it applies: cutoff_grade is stated
QP/CP Signedpositive
Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.
Why it applies: qp_signed is true
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
No Contained Metalnegative
Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.
Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported
Resource Updateneutral
Revised estimate for an existing resource — compare to prior to assess progress.
Why it applies: the release compares against a previous estimate
PEA-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
indicatedBucko Lake Mine · nickelTonnes: 5727Grade: 1.24Grade Unit: %View all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Bucko Lake Mine
- Commodity
- nickel
- Region
- canada_mb
- Reported Region
- Manitoba
- Ticker
- CML
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- resource
- Effective date
- 2023-01-13T00:00:00.000Z
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101
- QP Signed
- Yes
- Resource group id
- resource:56def6867b04f8bdad7f
- Mining method
- underground
Resource Data
- Category
- indicated
- Tonnes
- 5727
- Grade
- 1.24
- Grade Unit
- %
- Cutoff Grade
- 0.7
- Cutoff Unit
- % Ni
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2023-01-13
Review
- Needs Review
- No
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2023-01-16T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: The Indicated resource category represents a substantial portion of the project's nickel, supporting further economic studies and potential reserve conversion. (Expanded from multi-commodity resource table for completeness.)
Positive factors
- Significant Indicated resource base, providing reasonable geological confidence.
- Good grade for nickel sulphide deposit.
Evidence · table
“1.24”
Context: 5,727
Tags used in scoring
Indicated Resourcepositive
Reasonable geological confidence based on adequate drilling; continuity can be assumed. Basis for Probable Reserves.
Why it applies: category is "indicated"
Cut-off Disclosedpositive
Cut-off grade used for resource reporting is clearly stated, enabling like-for-like comparison.
Why it applies: cutoff_grade is stated
QP/CP Signedpositive
Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.
Why it applies: qp_signed is true
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
No Contained Metalnegative
Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.
Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported
Resource Updateneutral
Revised estimate for an existing resource — compare to prior to assess progress.
Why it applies: the release compares against a previous estimate
PEA-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
indicatedBucko Lake Mine · copperTonnes: 5727Grade: 0.11Grade Unit: %View all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Bucko Lake Mine
- Commodity
- copper
- Region
- canada_mb
- Reported Region
- Manitoba
- Ticker
- CML
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- resource
- Effective date
- 2023-01-13T00:00:00.000Z
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101
- QP Signed
- Yes
- Resource group id
- resource:56def6867b04f8bdad7f
- Mining method
- underground
Resource Data
- Category
- indicated
- Tonnes
- 5727
- Grade
- 0.11
- Grade Unit
- %
- Cutoff Grade
- 0.7
- Cutoff Unit
- % Ni
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2023-01-13
Review
- Needs Review
- No
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2023-01-16T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: The Indicated resource category represents a substantial portion of the project's nickel, supporting further economic studies and potential reserve conversion. (Expanded from multi-commodity resource table for completeness.)
Positive factors
- Significant Indicated resource base, providing reasonable geological confidence.
- Good grade for nickel sulphide deposit.
Evidence · table
“0.11”
Context: 5,727
Tags used in scoring
Indicated Resourcepositive
Reasonable geological confidence based on adequate drilling; continuity can be assumed. Basis for Probable Reserves.
Why it applies: category is "indicated"
Cut-off Disclosedpositive
Cut-off grade used for resource reporting is clearly stated, enabling like-for-like comparison.
Why it applies: cutoff_grade is stated
QP/CP Signedpositive
Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.
Why it applies: qp_signed is true
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
No Contained Metalnegative
Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.
Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported
Resource Updateneutral
Revised estimate for an existing resource — compare to prior to assess progress.
Why it applies: the release compares against a previous estimate
PEA-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
inferredBucko Lake Mine · nickelTonnes: 10587Grade: 1.18Grade Unit: %View all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Bucko Lake Mine
- Commodity
- nickel
- Region
- canada_mb
- Reported Region
- Manitoba
- Ticker
- CML
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- resource
- Effective date
- 2023-01-13T00:00:00.000Z
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101
- QP Signed
- Yes
- Resource group id
- resource:b948d0e03f534677de85
- Mining method
- underground
Resource Data
- Category
- inferred
- Tonnes
- 10587
- Grade
- 1.18
- Grade Unit
- %
- Cutoff Grade
- 0.7
- Cutoff Unit
- % Ni
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2023-01-13
Review
- Needs Review
- No
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2023-01-16T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: The substantial Inferred resource offers future growth potential but carries a lower confidence level, impacting the overall project certainty at this stage. (Expanded from multi-commodity resource table for completeness.)
Positive factors
- Large Inferred resource base provides significant exploration upside.
Negative factors
- Inferred resources are considered too speculative for economic considerations in a PEA.
Evidence · table
“1.18”
Context: 10,587
Tags used in scoring
Inferred Resourcenegative
Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.
Why it applies: category is "inferred"
Cut-off Disclosedpositive
Cut-off grade used for resource reporting is clearly stated, enabling like-for-like comparison.
Why it applies: cutoff_grade is stated
QP/CP Signedpositive
Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.
Why it applies: qp_signed is true
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
No Contained Metalnegative
Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.
Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported
Resource Updateneutral
Revised estimate for an existing resource — compare to prior to assess progress.
Why it applies: the release compares against a previous estimate
PEA-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
inferredBucko Lake Mine · copperTonnes: 10587Grade: 0.13Grade Unit: %View all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Bucko Lake Mine
- Commodity
- copper
- Region
- canada_mb
- Reported Region
- Manitoba
- Ticker
- CML
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- resource
- Effective date
- 2023-01-13T00:00:00.000Z
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101
- QP Signed
- Yes
- Resource group id
- resource:b948d0e03f534677de85
- Mining method
- underground
Resource Data
- Category
- inferred
- Tonnes
- 10587
- Grade
- 0.13
- Grade Unit
- %
- Cutoff Grade
- 0.7
- Cutoff Unit
- % Ni
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2023-01-13
Review
- Needs Review
- No
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2023-01-16T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: The substantial Inferred resource offers future growth potential but carries a lower confidence level, impacting the overall project certainty at this stage. (Expanded from multi-commodity resource table for completeness.)
Positive factors
- Large Inferred resource base provides significant exploration upside.
Negative factors
- Inferred resources are considered too speculative for economic considerations in a PEA.
Evidence · table
“0.13”
Context: 10,587
Tags used in scoring
Inferred Resourcenegative
Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.
Why it applies: category is "inferred"
Cut-off Disclosedpositive
Cut-off grade used for resource reporting is clearly stated, enabling like-for-like comparison.
Why it applies: cutoff_grade is stated
QP/CP Signedpositive
Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.
Why it applies: qp_signed is true
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
No Contained Metalnegative
Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.
Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported
Resource Updateneutral
Revised estimate for an existing resource — compare to prior to assess progress.
Why it applies: the release compares against a previous estimate
PEA-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
How Atlas produces this analysis
Minestarters Atlas uses automated extraction to summarize mining announcements, identify reported measurements, and classify supporting evidence. Sentiment reflects the extracted narrative and classification rules; it is an interpretation, not a reported measurement. Evidence quotes and context are provided where available. Missing data, low-confidence results, and review flags indicate limitations. Check the original publisher announcement before relying on an interpretation.