Cashu Research Initiates Coverage on K2 Gold Corporation (KTO)

Original announcement by newsfile on

Company
K2 Gold Corporation
Ticker
KTO
Exchange
Unavailable
Region
California
Primary commodity
Gold
Secondary commodities
None reported
Document categories
Drill results, Other
Extracted
2026-09-16 14:33:44 UTC

Analysis by Minestarters Atlas

Minestarters Atlas analysis

Summary

Cashu Research has initiated coverage on K2 Gold Corporation following high-grade gold drill results from the Mojave Project in California. The company is currently executing a 14,000-metre permitted and funded drilling campaign, reporting significant oxide gold intercepts including 39.62m at 5.35 g/t gold.

Reasoning: The document reports significant high-grade gold drill intercepts from the Mojave project, supported by a fully funded exploration program and strong liquidity, though it remains an early-stage exploration play without a defined resource.

Positive factors

  • High-grade oxide gold intercepts reported
  • Fully permitted and funded 14,000m drilling campaign
  • Strong cash position of C$27 million

Negative factors

  • True widths not yet known
  • No mineral resource or reserve currently defined
  • Metallurgical testwork not yet established

Facts used in scoring: 11

Classification and evidence

Step-Out Extensionpositive

Mineralization extended beyond the previously known limit.

Why it applies: Intercepts from site DF-A were drilled into previously untested ground approximately 40m north of the 2020 discovery hole.

Evidence · text

“Those first three holes were drilled from site DF-A, approximately 40 metres north of K2's 2020 discovery hole, into previously untested ground.”

Apparent Width Onlynegative

Interval given as downhole width with no true width or drill orientation — apparent width may overstate true thickness.

Why it applies: The release explicitly states that true widths for the reported intercepts are not yet known.

Evidence · text

“Reported widths are drilled widths; K2 has stated that true widths are not yet known.”

Nearology Playneutral

Value premise rests on proximity to a known deposit rather than own results.

Why it applies: The report discusses results in proximity to the 2020 discovery hole.

Evidence · text

“approximately 40 metres north of K2's 2020 discovery hole”

Extracted facts

Stored fact records: 11. Some facts used in scoring do not have a stored record.

Drill Results (11)

DF26-020Mojave · goldGrade: 5.35Grade Unit: g/tIntercept: 39.62 mView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Hole ID
DF26-020
Project
Mojave
Commodity
gold
Region
california
Reported Region
california
Ticker
KTO

Geometry

Grade
5.35
Grade Unit
g/t
Intercept
39.62 m
From
51.82 m
To
91.44 m
Intercept Depth
51.82 m

Classification

Program
exploration
Sample Type
drill
Group ID
DF26-020:51.82-91.44

Review

Needs Review
No
Interp. Status
scored
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-09-16T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Strong grade and width for an oxide intercept.

Positive factors

  • High-grade oxide intercept

Evidence · text

“39.62 metres at 5.35 g/t gold in hole DF26-020”

Tags used in scoring

No QA/QC Disclosurenegative

Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.

Why it applies: qaqc_disclosed is not true

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

DF26-020Mojave · goldGrade: 7.14Grade Unit: g/tIntercept: 25.91 mView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Hole ID
DF26-020
Project
Mojave
Commodity
gold
Region
california
Reported Region
california
Ticker
KTO

Geometry

Grade
7.14
Grade Unit
g/t
Intercept
25.91 m
From
51.82 m
To
77.73 m
Intercept Depth
51.82 m

Classification

Program
exploration
Sample Type
drill
Group ID
DF26-020:51.82-77.73

Review

Needs Review
No
Interp. Status
scored
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-09-16T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: High-grade component of the main intercept.

Positive factors

  • High-grade inclusion

Evidence · text

“including 25.91 metres at 7.14 g/t gold”

Tags used in scoring

No QA/QC Disclosurenegative

Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.

Why it applies: qaqc_disclosed is not true

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

DF26-019Mojave · goldGrade: 7.75Grade Unit: g/tIntercept: 10.67 mView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Hole ID
DF26-019
Project
Mojave
Commodity
gold
Region
california
Reported Region
california
Ticker
KTO

Geometry

Grade
7.75
Grade Unit
g/t
Intercept
10.67 m
From
16.76 m
To
27.43 m
Intercept Depth
16.76 m

Classification

Program
exploration
Sample Type
drill
Group ID
DF26-019:16.76-27.43

Review

Needs Review
No
Interp. Status
scored
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-09-16T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: High grade over a relatively narrow interval.

Positive factors

  • High grade

Evidence · text

“10.67 metres at 7.75 g/t gold from 16.76 metres in DF26-019”

Tags used in scoring

No QA/QC Disclosurenegative

Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.

Why it applies: qaqc_disclosed is not true

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

DF26-018Mojave · goldGrade: 3.77Grade Unit: g/tIntercept: 18.29 mView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Hole ID
DF26-018
Project
Mojave
Commodity
gold
Region
california
Reported Region
california
Ticker
KTO

Geometry

Grade
3.77
Grade Unit
g/t
Intercept
18.29 m

Classification

Program
exploration
Sample Type
drill

Review

Needs Review
No
Interp. Status
scored
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-09-16T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Moderate grade and width.

Evidence · text

“18.29 metres at 3.77 g/t gold in DF26-018”

Tags used in scoring

No QA/QC Disclosurenegative

Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.

Why it applies: qaqc_disclosed is not true

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

DF26-023Mojave · goldGrade: 4.08Grade Unit: g/tIntercept: 27.43 mView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Hole ID
DF26-023
Project
Mojave
Commodity
gold
Region
california
Reported Region
california
Ticker
KTO

Geometry

Grade
4.08
Grade Unit
g/t
Intercept
27.43 m

Classification

Program
exploration
Sample Type
drill
Group ID
DF26-023:0-27.43

Review

Needs Review
No
Interp. Status
scored
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-09-16T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Solid grade and width.

Evidence · text

“DF26-023 returned 27.43 metres at 4.08 g/t gold”

Tags used in scoring

No QA/QC Disclosurenegative

Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.

Why it applies: qaqc_disclosed is not true

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

DF26-023Mojave · goldGrade: 5.3Grade Unit: g/tIntercept: 15.24 mView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Hole ID
DF26-023
Project
Mojave
Commodity
gold
Region
california
Reported Region
california
Ticker
KTO

Geometry

Grade
5.3
Grade Unit
g/t
Intercept
15.24 m

Classification

Program
exploration
Sample Type
drill
Group ID
DF26-023:0-27.43

Review

Needs Review
No
Interp. Status
scored
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-09-16T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: High grade component of the intercept.

Positive factors

  • High grade inclusion

Evidence · text

“including 15.24 metres at 5.30 g/t”

Tags used in scoring

No QA/QC Disclosurenegative

Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.

Why it applies: qaqc_disclosed is not true

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

DF26-021Mojave · goldGrade: 2.02Grade Unit: g/tIntercept: 32.01 mView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Hole ID
DF26-021
Project
Mojave
Commodity
gold
Region
california
Reported Region
california
Ticker
KTO

Geometry

Grade
2.02
Grade Unit
g/t
Intercept
32.01 m

Classification

Program
exploration
Sample Type
drill

Review

Needs Review
No
Interp. Status
scored
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-09-16T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Wide but lower grade intercept.

Evidence · text

“DF26-021 returned 32.01 metres at 2.02 g/t”

Tags used in scoring

No QA/QC Disclosurenegative

Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.

Why it applies: qaqc_disclosed is not true

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

DF26-022Mojave · goldGrade: 1.63Grade Unit: g/tIntercept: 33.53 mView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Hole ID
DF26-022
Project
Mojave
Commodity
gold
Region
california
Reported Region
california
Ticker
KTO

Geometry

Grade
1.63
Grade Unit
g/t
Intercept
33.53 m

Classification

Program
exploration
Sample Type
drill

Review

Needs Review
No
Interp. Status
scored
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-09-16T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Wide but lower grade intercept.

Evidence · text

“DF26-022 returned 33.53 metres at 1.63 g/t”

Tags used in scoring

No QA/QC Disclosurenegative

Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.

Why it applies: qaqc_disclosed is not true

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

DF26-024Mojave · goldGrade: 17.55Grade Unit: g/tIntercept: 3.05 mView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Hole ID
DF26-024
Project
Mojave
Commodity
gold
Region
california
Reported Region
california
Ticker
KTO

Geometry

Grade
17.55
Grade Unit
g/t
Intercept
3.05 m

Classification

Program
exploration
Sample Type
drill
Group ID
DF26-024:0-32.0

Review

Needs Review
No
Interp. Status
scored
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-09-16T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Very high grade over a narrow interval.

Positive factors

  • Bonanza grade

Evidence · text

“DF26-024 returned 3.05 metres at 17.55 g/t”

Tags used in scoring

No QA/QC Disclosurenegative

Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.

Why it applies: qaqc_disclosed is not true

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

DF26-024Mojave · goldGrade: 2.03Grade Unit: g/tIntercept: 28.95 mView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Hole ID
DF26-024
Project
Mojave
Commodity
gold
Region
california
Reported Region
california
Ticker
KTO

Geometry

Grade
2.03
Grade Unit
g/t
Intercept
28.95 m

Classification

Program
exploration
Sample Type
drill
Group ID
DF26-024:0-32.0

Review

Needs Review
No
Interp. Status
scored
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-09-16T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Lower grade following high-grade interval.

Evidence · text

“followed by 28.95 metres at 2.03 g/t”

Tags used in scoring

No QA/QC Disclosurenegative

Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.

Why it applies: qaqc_disclosed is not true

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

NM20-011Mojave · goldGrade: 1.64Grade Unit: g/tIntercept: 41.15 mHistorical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Hole ID
NM20-011
Project
Mojave
Commodity
gold
Region
california
Reported Region
california
Ticker
KTO

Geometry

Grade
1.64
Grade Unit
g/t
Intercept
41.15 m

Classification

Program
exploration
Sample Type
drill

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Interp. Status
scored
Historical
Yes

Dates

Event date
2026-09-16T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Historical drilling result mentioned for context.

Evidence · text

“NM20-011, which returned 1.64 g/t gold over 41.15 metres”

Tags used in scoring

No QA/QC Disclosurenegative

Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.

Why it applies: qaqc_disclosed is not true

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

Stale Data Re-releasenegative

Historical results re-announced with no new assays or reinterpretation — low genuine novelty.

Why it applies: the fact restates a prior release

How Atlas produces this analysis

Minestarters Atlas uses automated extraction to summarize mining announcements, identify reported measurements, and classify supporting evidence. Sentiment reflects the extracted narrative and classification rules; it is an interpretation, not a reported measurement. Evidence quotes and context are provided where available. Missing data, low-confidence results, and review flags indicate limitations. Check the original publisher announcement before relying on an interpretation.