Eastport Critical Metals Provides Operational Update to May 2026

Original announcement by tmx on

Company
Eastport Critical Metals Corp.
Ticker
EVI
Exchange
TSX
Region
Botswana
Primary commodity
Copper
Secondary commodities
Uranium, Rare earth elements
Document categories
Resource update, Other
Extracted
2026-09-13 22:37:12 UTC

Analysis by Minestarters Atlas

Minestarters Atlas analysis

Summary

Eastport Critical Metals provided an operational update highlighting the completion of over 4,000m of drilling at its Matsitama Copper project and 2,000m of RC drilling at the Foley Uranium project. The company also noted ongoing diamond drilling at the Semarule REE project and provided context on historical copper resources at Nakalakwana.

Reasoning: The update provides a consolidated overview of operational progress and future objectives across several projects, but the primary resource data mentioned is historical and not current.

Positive factors

  • completion of significant drilling meters across multiple projects
  • identification of radioactive anomalies at Foley project

Negative factors

  • historical resource data is aged and not treated as current
  • reliance on third-party resource estimates for context

Facts used in scoring: 2

Classification and evidence

Historical Estimate Onlynegative

Estimate pre-dates or does not comply with current JORC/NI 43-101 standards — requires verification drilling.

Why it applies: The Nakalakwana resource is a restatement of a 2013 SAMREC estimate and is not considered current by the company.

Evidence · text

“Eastport does not consider the 2013 SRK Consulting (South Africa) Pty Limited ("SRK") mineral resource as current.”

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: The historical resource includes an Inferred component.

Evidence · table

“3.1”

Context: 4,294

Extracted facts

Stored fact records: 2. Some facts used in scoring do not have a stored record.

Resource Estimates (2)

indicatedNakalakwana · copperTonnes: 6800000Grade: 4800Grade Unit: ppmHistorical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Nakalakwana
Commodity
copper
Region
botswana
Reported Region
Botswana
Ticker
EVI

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Effective date
2013-05-24T00:00:00.000Z
Reporting standards
samrec
QP Signed
Yes
Qualified person names
Victor Simposya, Senzeni Mandava
Resource group id
resource:a83032ce435f837b85b5
Deposit or zone
Nakalakwana Hill

Resource Data

Category
indicated
Tonnes
6800000
Grade
4800
Grade Unit
ppm
Cutoff Grade
3000
Cutoff Unit
ppm

Prior Estimate

Resource Date
2013-05-24

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Historical
Yes
Historical Source Date
2013-05-24T00:00:00.000Z

Dates

Event date
2026-05-07T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: This is a restatement of a 2013 SAMREC resource which the company explicitly states is not current.

Positive factors

  • Indicated category established

Negative factors

  • Historical data from 2012/2013
  • Not treated as current by company

Evidence · table

“4,800”

Context: 6.8

Tags used in scoring

Indicated Resourcepositive

Reasonable geological confidence based on adequate drilling; continuity can be assumed. Basis for Probable Reserves.

Why it applies: category is "indicated"

Cut-off Disclosedpositive

Cut-off grade used for resource reporting is clearly stated, enabling like-for-like comparison.

Why it applies: cutoff_grade is stated

QP/CP Signedpositive

Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.

Why it applies: qp_signed is true

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

PEA-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

Stale Estimatenegative

Effective date is >2 years old — data currency concern, may not reflect current geological understanding.

Why it applies: effective date is 13.0 years before this release

inferredNakalakwana · copperTonnes: 3100000Grade: 4294Grade Unit: ppmHistorical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Nakalakwana
Commodity
copper
Region
botswana
Reported Region
Botswana
Ticker
EVI

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Effective date
2013-05-24T00:00:00.000Z
Reporting standards
samrec
QP Signed
Yes
Qualified person names
Victor Simposya, Senzeni Mandava
Resource group id
resource:4f5537b414a151889f80
Deposit or zone
Nakalakwana Hill

Resource Data

Category
inferred
Tonnes
3100000
Grade
4294
Grade Unit
ppm
Cutoff Grade
3000
Cutoff Unit
ppm

Prior Estimate

Resource Date
2013-05-24

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Historical
Yes
Historical Source Date
2013-05-24T00:00:00.000Z

Dates

Event date
2026-05-07T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: This is a restatement of a 2013 SAMREC resource which the company explicitly states is not current.

Positive factors

  • Inferred category established

Negative factors

  • Historical data from 2012/2013
  • Not treated as current by company

Evidence · table

“4,294”

Context: 3.1

Tags used in scoring

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

Cut-off Disclosedpositive

Cut-off grade used for resource reporting is clearly stated, enabling like-for-like comparison.

Why it applies: cutoff_grade is stated

QP/CP Signedpositive

Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.

Why it applies: qp_signed is true

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

PEA-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

Stale Estimatenegative

Effective date is >2 years old — data currency concern, may not reflect current geological understanding.

Why it applies: effective date is 13.0 years before this release

How Atlas produces this analysis

Minestarters Atlas uses automated extraction to summarize mining announcements, identify reported measurements, and classify supporting evidence. Sentiment reflects the extracted narrative and classification rules; it is an interpretation, not a reported measurement. Evidence quotes and context are provided where available. Missing data, low-confidence results, and review flags indicate limitations. Check the original publisher announcement before relying on an interpretation.