Focus Graphite Announces One of the Largest Identified Graphite Deposits Globally at the Lac Tetepisca Project

Original announcement by tmx on

Company
Focus Graphite Inc.
Ticker
FMS
Exchange
TSX
Region
Quebec
Primary commodity
Graphite
Secondary commodities
None reported
Document categories
Resource update
Extracted
2026-09-17 22:47:56 UTC

Analysis by Minestarters Atlas

Minestarters Atlas analysis

Summary

Focus Graphite has announced an upgraded mineral resource estimate for its 100%-owned Lac Tetepisca Project in Quebec, featuring 120.16 Mt of Indicated graphite at 10.27% Cg and 24.14 Mt of Inferred graphite at 9.88% Cg. The estimate was prepared by IOS Geosciences under NI 43-101 standards using a 3.5% Cg cut-off.

Reasoning: The announcement of a large-scale, high-grade graphite resource update at Lac Tetepisca represents a major de-risking and scale-demonstration milestone for the company.

Positive factors

  • Significant scale with 120 Mt Indicated resource
  • High grade (10.27% Cg) for Indicated category
  • NI 43-101 compliant with QP sign-off
  • Robust QA/QC disclosure including inter-laboratory checks

Facts used in scoring: 2

Classification and evidence

Indicated Resourcepositive

Reasonable geological confidence based on adequate drilling; continuity can be assumed. Basis for Probable Reserves.

Why it applies: The estimate includes 120,163 kt of Indicated Mineral Resources.

Evidence · text

“120,163 ktonnes of Indicated Mineral Resources at 10.27% Cg”

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: The estimate includes 24,143 kt of Inferred Mineral Resources.

Evidence · text

“24,143 ktonnes of Inferred Mineral Resources at 9.88% Cg”

QP/CP Signedpositive

Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.

Why it applies: Jean-Michel Dubé, P.Geo. and Alexandre Burelle, P.Eng. are named as QPs.

Evidence · text

“The independent and qualified persons ("QPs") for the mineral resource estimate, as defined under NI 43-101, are Jean-Michel Dubé, P.Geo. from IOS Geosciences and Alexandre Burelle, P.Eng., from Evomine Consulting.”

NI 43-101 Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: The MRE was completed pursuant to NI 43-101 requirements.

Evidence · text

“The MRE was completed pursuant to the requirements of National Instrument 43-101”

Cut-off Disclosedpositive

Cut-off grade used for resource reporting is clearly stated, enabling like-for-like comparison.

Why it applies: A 3.5% Cg cut-off grade is explicitly stated.

Evidence · text

“Estimates were calculated using a conservative 3.5% Cg cut-off grade”

Resource Updateneutral

Revised estimate for an existing resource — compare to prior to assess progress.

Why it applies: The source explicitly discloses a revised resource estimate

Evidence · text

“updated mineral resource”

Extracted facts

Stored fact records: 2. Some facts used in scoring do not have a stored record.

Resource Estimates (2)

indicatedLac Tetepisca Project · graphiteTonnes: 120163000Grade: 10.27Grade Unit: %View all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Lac Tetepisca Project
Commodity
graphite
Region
canada_qc
Reported Region
Quebec
Ticker
FMS

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Effective date
2026-04-30T00:00:00.000Z
Reporting standards
ni_43_101
QP Signed
Yes
Qualified person names
Jean-Michel Dubé, Alexandre Burelle
Resource group id
resource:4908ccf929cebeb0cf71
Deposit or zone
MOGC, Lac Tetepisca Project
Mining method
open_pit
Ownership percent
100 %

Resource Data

Category
indicated
Tonnes
120163000
Grade
10.27
Grade Unit
%
Cutoff Grade
3.5
Cutoff Unit
% Cg

Prior Estimate

Resource Date
2026-04-30

Review

Needs Review
No
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-05-07T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Large indicated resource at high grade.

Positive factors

  • High grade for indicated category
  • Large tonnage

Evidence · table

“10.27”

Context: 120,163

Tags used in scoring

Indicated Resourcepositive

Reasonable geological confidence based on adequate drilling; continuity can be assumed. Basis for Probable Reserves.

Why it applies: category is "indicated"

Cut-off Disclosedpositive

Cut-off grade used for resource reporting is clearly stated, enabling like-for-like comparison.

Why it applies: cutoff_grade is stated

QP/CP Signedpositive

Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.

Why it applies: qp_signed is true

NI 43-101 Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

Resource Updateneutral

Revised estimate for an existing resource — compare to prior to assess progress.

Why it applies: the release compares against a previous estimate

DFS-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

inferredLac Tetepisca Project · graphiteTonnes: 24143000Grade: 9.88Grade Unit: %View all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Lac Tetepisca Project
Commodity
graphite
Region
canada_qc
Reported Region
Quebec
Ticker
FMS

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Effective date
2026-04-30T00:00:00.000Z
Reporting standards
ni_43_101
QP Signed
Yes
Qualified person names
Jean-Michel Dubé, Alexandre Burelle
Resource group id
resource:7ef1a9366c6eedc68ab9
Deposit or zone
MOGC, Lac Tetepisca Project
Mining method
open_pit
Ownership percent
100 %

Resource Data

Category
inferred
Tonnes
24143000
Grade
9.88
Grade Unit
%
Cutoff Grade
3.5
Cutoff Unit
% Cg

Prior Estimate

Resource Date
2026-04-30

Review

Needs Review
No
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-05-07T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Substantial inferred resource adds to project scale.

Positive factors

  • Significant tonnage for inferred

Negative factors

  • Inferred category carries lower confidence

Evidence · table

“9.88”

Context: 24,143

Tags used in scoring

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

Cut-off Disclosedpositive

Cut-off grade used for resource reporting is clearly stated, enabling like-for-like comparison.

Why it applies: cutoff_grade is stated

QP/CP Signedpositive

Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.

Why it applies: qp_signed is true

NI 43-101 Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

Resource Updateneutral

Revised estimate for an existing resource — compare to prior to assess progress.

Why it applies: the release compares against a previous estimate

DFS-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

How Atlas produces this analysis

Minestarters Atlas uses automated extraction to summarize mining announcements, identify reported measurements, and classify supporting evidence. Sentiment reflects the extracted narrative and classification rules; it is an interpretation, not a reported measurement. Evidence quotes and context are provided where available. Missing data, low-confidence results, and review flags indicate limitations. Check the original publisher announcement before relying on an interpretation.