FORTUNE BAY ANNOUNCES EXPLORATION TARGETS AT GOLDFIELDS AND COMMENCES DRILLING

Original announcement by tmx on

Company
Fortune Bay Corp.
Ticker
FOR
Exchange
TSX
Region
Saskatchewan
Primary commodity
Gold
Secondary commodities
None reported
Document categories
Drill results, Resource update
Extracted
2026-09-17 23:03:44 UTC

Analysis by Minestarters Atlas

Minestarters Atlas analysis

Summary

Fortune Bay has commenced a 17-hole exploration program at its 100%-owned Goldfields Gold Project in Saskatchewan, targeting resource expansion at the Box and Athona deposits and new targets at Frontier, Golden Pond, and Triangle. The company aims to unlock near-mine ounces to support the advancement of the project toward a Pre-Feasibility Study.

Reasoning: The announcement signals active development and exploration momentum, combining the start of a new drilling program with the reinforcement of high-grade targets and existing resource continuity.

Positive factors

  • Commencement of a significant 17-hole exploration program
  • High-grade historical intercepts at Box deposit (up to 13.22 g/t Au)
  • Near-mine expansion potential at Athona and new targets at Frontier, Golden Pond, and Triangle
  • Existing resource base at Goldfields provides a robust development foundation

Negative factors

  • Reliance on unverified historical results for Frontier and Golden Pond

Facts used in scoring: 8

Classification and evidence

Step-Out Extensionpositive

Mineralization extended beyond the previously known limit.

Why it applies: Drilling is planned to test extensions of high-grade zones and mineralization continuity at Athona and Frontier.

Evidence · text

“testing mineralization continuity in the AWMG and testing an underlying extension of the AMG”

QA/QC Disclosedpositive

Release includes QA/QC disclosure — certified lab, QP sign-off, or stated methods (blanks, standards, duplicates).

Why it applies: The release discloses compositing rules, cut-off grades, and sample types used for the B21/B22 holes.

Evidence · text

“assays from 1 metre samples of half-cut NQ core composited into longer intervals using a minimum lower cut-off of 0.5 g/t Au”

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: The company reports significant inferred resource components at both Box and Athona deposits.

Evidence · text

“114,100 oz Inferred (3.4 Mt @ 1.04 g/t)”

Extracted facts

Stored fact records: 8. Some facts used in scoring do not have a stored record.

Drill Results (4)

B21-340Goldfields · goldGrade: 13.22Grade Unit: g/tIntercept: 8 mHistorical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Hole ID
B21-340
Project
Goldfields
Commodity
gold
Region
canada_sk
Reported Region
canada_sk
Ticker
FOR

Geometry

Grade
13.22
Grade Unit
g/t
Intercept
8 m
From
426 m
To
434 m
Hole Depth
2000 m
Intercept Depth
426 m

Classification

Sample Type
drill
Group ID
B21-340:426-434

QA/QC

QP Signed
Yes

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Interp. Status
scored
Historical
Yes
Historical Source Date
2021-01-01T00:00:00.000Z

Dates

Event date
2025-11-25T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Strong grade intercept at the Box deposit.

Positive factors

  • High-grade intercept

Evidence · text

“13.22 g/t Au over 8.0 m from 426.0 to 434.0 m (drill hole B21-340)”

Tags used in scoring

No QA/QC Disclosurenegative

Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.

Why it applies: qaqc_disclosed is not true

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

Nearology Playneutral

Value premise rests on proximity to a known deposit rather than own results.

Why it applies: proximity is offered as the value premise: "The outcropping Athona West Mine Granite ("AWMG") is located immediately west of the AMG and displays gold mineralizatio"

B21-339Goldfields · goldGrade: 8.74Grade Unit: g/tIntercept: 5 mHistorical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Hole ID
B21-339
Project
Goldfields
Commodity
gold
Region
canada_sk
Reported Region
canada_sk
Ticker
FOR

Geometry

Grade
8.74
Grade Unit
g/t
Intercept
5 m
From
575 m
To
580 m
Hole Depth
2000 m
Intercept Depth
575 m

Classification

Sample Type
drill
Group ID
B21-339:575-580

QA/QC

QP Signed
Yes

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Interp. Status
scored
Historical
Yes
Historical Source Date
2021-01-01T00:00:00.000Z

Dates

Event date
2025-11-25T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Strong grade intercept at the Box deposit.

Positive factors

  • High-grade intercept

Evidence · text

“8.74 g/t Au over 5.0 m from 575.0 to 580.0 m (drill hole B21-339)”

Tags used in scoring

No QA/QC Disclosurenegative

Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.

Why it applies: qaqc_disclosed is not true

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

Nearology Playneutral

Value premise rests on proximity to a known deposit rather than own results.

Why it applies: proximity is offered as the value premise: "The outcropping Athona West Mine Granite ("AWMG") is located immediately west of the AMG and displays gold mineralizatio"

B21-336Goldfields · goldGrade: 8Grade Unit: g/tIntercept: 12 mHistorical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Hole ID
B21-336
Project
Goldfields
Commodity
gold
Region
canada_sk
Reported Region
canada_sk
Ticker
FOR

Geometry

Grade
8
Grade Unit
g/t
Intercept
12 m
From
509 m
To
521 m
Hole Depth
2000 m
Intercept Depth
509 m

Classification

Sample Type
drill
Group ID
B21-336:509-521

QA/QC

QP Signed
Yes

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Interp. Status
scored
Historical
Yes
Historical Source Date
2021-01-01T00:00:00.000Z

Dates

Event date
2025-11-25T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Strong grade and width intercept at the Box deposit.

Positive factors

  • High-grade intercept

Evidence · text

“8.00 g/t Au over 12.0 m from 509.0 to 521.0 m (drill hole B21-336)”

Tags used in scoring

No QA/QC Disclosurenegative

Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.

Why it applies: qaqc_disclosed is not true

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

Nearology Playneutral

Value premise rests on proximity to a known deposit rather than own results.

Why it applies: proximity is offered as the value premise: "The outcropping Athona West Mine Granite ("AWMG") is located immediately west of the AMG and displays gold mineralizatio"

B21-334Goldfields · goldGrade: 8Grade Unit: g/tIntercept: 4 mHistorical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Hole ID
B21-334
Project
Goldfields
Commodity
gold
Region
canada_sk
Reported Region
canada_sk
Ticker
FOR

Geometry

Grade
8
Grade Unit
g/t
Intercept
4 m
From
375 m
To
379 m
Hole Depth
2000 m
Intercept Depth
375 m

Classification

Sample Type
drill
Group ID
B21-334:375-379

QA/QC

QP Signed
Yes

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Interp. Status
scored
Historical
Yes
Historical Source Date
2021-01-01T00:00:00.000Z

Dates

Event date
2025-11-25T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: High-grade intercept at the Box deposit.

Positive factors

  • High-grade intercept

Evidence · text

“8.00 g/t Au over 4.0 m from 375.0 to 379.0 m (drill hole B21-334)”

Tags used in scoring

No QA/QC Disclosurenegative

Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.

Why it applies: qaqc_disclosed is not true

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

Nearology Playneutral

Value premise rests on proximity to a known deposit rather than own results.

Why it applies: proximity is offered as the value premise: "The outcropping Athona West Mine Granite ("AWMG") is located immediately west of the AMG and displays gold mineralizatio"

Resource Estimates (4)

indicatedGoldfields · goldTonnes: 16200000Grade: 1.41Grade Unit: g/tContained Metal: 734300Contained Unit: ozView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Goldfields
Commodity
gold
Region
canada_sk
Reported Region
Saskatchewan
Ticker
FOR

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Effective date
2025-09-11T00:00:00.000Z
Reporting standards
ni_43_101
Resource group id
resource:2f6799b9a3175a5e3e4b
Deposit or zone
Box Deposit
Mining method
combined
Ownership percent
100 %

Resource Data

Category
indicated
Tonnes
16200000
Grade
1.41
Grade Unit
g/t
Contained Metal
734300
Contained Unit
oz

Prior Estimate

Resource Date
2025-09-11

Review

Needs Review
No
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2025-11-25T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Indicated resource component of the Box deposit.

Positive factors

  • Established indicated resource

Evidence · text

“734,300 oz Indicated (16.2 Mt @ 1.41 g/t)”

Tags used in scoring

Indicated Resourcepositive

Reasonable geological confidence based on adequate drilling; continuity can be assumed. Basis for Probable Reserves.

Why it applies: category is "indicated"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

NI 43-101 Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101

PEA-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

PFS-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Pre-Feasibility Study — requires adequate M&I component.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

DFS-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

inferredGoldfields · goldTonnes: 3400000Grade: 1.04Grade Unit: g/tContained Metal: 114100Contained Unit: ozView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Goldfields
Commodity
gold
Region
canada_sk
Reported Region
Saskatchewan
Ticker
FOR

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Effective date
2025-09-11T00:00:00.000Z
Reporting standards
ni_43_101
Resource group id
resource:a7c7adc5576b094945fc
Deposit or zone
Box Deposit
Mining method
combined
Ownership percent
100 %

Resource Data

Category
inferred
Tonnes
3400000
Grade
1.04
Grade Unit
g/t
Contained Metal
114100
Contained Unit
oz

Prior Estimate

Resource Date
2025-09-11

Review

Needs Review
No
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2025-11-25T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Inferred resource component of the Box deposit.

Negative factors

  • Inferred category

Evidence · text

“114,100 oz Inferred (3.4 Mt @ 1.04 g/t)”

Tags used in scoring

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

NI 43-101 Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101

PEA-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

PFS-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Pre-Feasibility Study — requires adequate M&I component.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

DFS-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

indicatedGoldfields · goldTonnes: 7800000Grade: 1.02Grade Unit: g/tContained Metal: 255400Contained Unit: ozView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Goldfields
Commodity
gold
Region
canada_sk
Reported Region
Saskatchewan
Ticker
FOR

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Effective date
2025-09-11T00:00:00.000Z
Reporting standards
ni_43_101
Resource group id
resource:6864eaeccdb5f7462486
Deposit or zone
Athona Deposit
Mining method
combined
Ownership percent
100 %

Resource Data

Category
indicated
Tonnes
7800000
Grade
1.02
Grade Unit
g/t
Contained Metal
255400
Contained Unit
oz

Prior Estimate

Resource Date
2025-09-11

Review

Needs Review
No
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2025-11-25T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Indicated resource component of the Athona deposit.

Positive factors

  • Established indicated resource

Evidence · text

“255,400 oz Indicated (7.8 Mt @ 1.02 g/t)”

Tags used in scoring

Indicated Resourcepositive

Reasonable geological confidence based on adequate drilling; continuity can be assumed. Basis for Probable Reserves.

Why it applies: category is "indicated"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

NI 43-101 Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101

PEA-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

PFS-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Pre-Feasibility Study — requires adequate M&I component.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

DFS-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

inferredGoldfields · goldTonnes: 4000000Grade: 0.78Grade Unit: g/tContained Metal: 100100Contained Unit: ozView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Goldfields
Commodity
gold
Region
canada_sk
Reported Region
Saskatchewan
Ticker
FOR

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Effective date
2025-09-11T00:00:00.000Z
Reporting standards
ni_43_101
Resource group id
resource:409bf98d18ccc816a537
Deposit or zone
Athona Deposit
Mining method
combined
Ownership percent
100 %

Resource Data

Category
inferred
Tonnes
4000000
Grade
0.78
Grade Unit
g/t
Contained Metal
100100
Contained Unit
oz

Prior Estimate

Resource Date
2025-09-11

Review

Needs Review
No
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2025-11-25T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Inferred resource component of the Athona deposit.

Negative factors

  • Inferred category

Evidence · text

“100,100 oz Inferred (4.0 Mt @ 0.78 g/t)”

Tags used in scoring

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

NI 43-101 Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101

PEA-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

PFS-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Pre-Feasibility Study — requires adequate M&I component.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

DFS-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

How Atlas produces this analysis

Minestarters Atlas uses automated extraction to summarize mining announcements, identify reported measurements, and classify supporting evidence. Sentiment reflects the extracted narrative and classification rules; it is an interpretation, not a reported measurement. Evidence quotes and context are provided where available. Missing data, low-confidence results, and review flags indicate limitations. Check the original publisher announcement before relying on an interpretation.