Honey Badger Silver Completes 2026 Field Program Targeting High-Grade Silver-Polymetallic Mineralization at Yava Project, Nunavut

Original announcement by tmx on

Company
Honey Badger Silver Inc.
Ticker
TUF
Exchange
TSX
Region
Nunavut
Primary commodity
Silver
Secondary commodities
Copper, Zinc, Lead, Gold
Document categories
Drill results, Resource update
Extracted
2026-09-17 02:33:44 UTC

Analysis by Minestarters Atlas

Minestarters Atlas analysis

Summary

Honey Badger Silver has completed its first field exploration program at the Yava Project in Nunavut, focusing on geological mapping and sampling. The company highlighted a historical, non-compliant VMS resource of 1.3 Mt at 106.8 g/t Ag and noted high-grade historical grab samples. The program was intended for target generation ahead of future drilling.

Reasoning: The announcement reports the completion of a field program that focused on mapping and sampling rather than new drilling. While it highlights impressive historical high-grade intercepts and a non-compliant resource, the actual news is the completion of target-generation fieldwork.

Positive factors

  • High-grade historical grab samples
  • Significant historical VMS resource mentioned
  • Nearology play with proximity to Hackett River

Negative factors

  • Historical data is non-compliant and unverified
  • No new drilling completed in the 2026 program
  • Resource is based on 50-year-old data

Low confidence — this extraction should be reviewed alongside the original source.

Facts used in scoring: 10

Classification and evidence

Nearology Playneutral

Value premise rests on proximity to a known deposit rather than own results.

Why it applies: The project is located 40km from the Hackett River deposit and 30km from the George Project.

Evidence · text

“proximity to Glencore's Hackett River Deposit, which is situated ~40 kilometres north”

Historical Estimate Onlynegative

Estimate pre-dates or does not comply with current JORC/NI 43-101 standards — requires verification drilling.

Why it applies: The resource estimate provided is non-compliant with NI 43-101 and has not been verified by the company.

Evidence · text

“The historical resource estimates reported above are not compliant with NI 43-101, has not been verified by Honey Badger Silver”

No QA/QC Disclosurenegative

Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.

Why it applies: The release does not provide QA/QC protocols for the historical drilling results mentioned.

Evidence · text

“reliability of the estimate is uncertain because the publication does not disclose sufficient information regarding the estimation methodology”

Extracted facts

Stored fact records: 10. Some facts used in scoring do not have a stored record.

Drill Results (5)

DH Y-74-01Yava · silverGrade: 67.53Grade Unit: g/tIntercept: 40.1 mHistorical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Hole ID
DH Y-74-01
Project
Yava
Commodity
silver
Region
canada_nu
Reported Region
canada_nu
Ticker
TUF

Geometry

Grade
67.53
Grade Unit
g/t
Intercept
40.1 m
True Width
23 m

Classification

Sample Type
drill

Location

Location
Main Zone
Loc. Source
document

QA/QC

QP Signed
Yes
QA/QC Methods
standards

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Interp. Status
scored
Historical
Yes

Dates

Event date
2026-08-26T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Strong historical silver grade over a significant width.

Positive factors

  • High grade silver intercept

Negative factors

  • Historical data

Evidence · text

“40.1 metres grading 67.53 g/t silver, 1.1% copper, 3.73% zinc, 0.54% gold, and 0.36% lead in DH Y-74-01, with an estimated true width of approximately 23 metres”

Tags used in scoring

True Width Disclosedpositive

Actual thickness perpendicular to structure is stated, not just downhole length.

Why it applies: true_width_m is 23

No QA/QC Disclosurenegative

Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.

Why it applies: qaqc_disclosed is not true

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

Stale Data Re-releasenegative

Historical results re-announced with no new assays or reinterpretation — low genuine novelty.

Why it applies: the fact restates a prior release

DH Y-74-01Yava · copperGrade: 1.1Grade Unit: %Intercept: 40.1 mHistorical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Hole ID
DH Y-74-01
Project
Yava
Commodity
copper
Region
canada_nu
Reported Region
canada_nu
Ticker
TUF

Geometry

Grade
1.1
Grade Unit
%
Intercept
40.1 m
True Width
23 m

Classification

Sample Type
drill
Group ID
DH Y-74-01:0-40.1

Location

Location
Main Zone
Loc. Source
document

QA/QC

QP Signed
Yes
QA/QC Methods
standards

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Interp. Status
scored
Historical
Yes

Dates

Event date
2026-08-26T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Secondary metal in a high-grade intercept.

Positive factors

  • Copper present in high-grade silver interval

Evidence · text

“1.1% copper”

Tags used in scoring

True Width Disclosedpositive

Actual thickness perpendicular to structure is stated, not just downhole length.

Why it applies: true_width_m is 23

No QA/QC Disclosurenegative

Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.

Why it applies: qaqc_disclosed is not true

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

Stale Data Re-releasenegative

Historical results re-announced with no new assays or reinterpretation — low genuine novelty.

Why it applies: the fact restates a prior release

DH Y-74-01Yava · zincGrade: 3.73Grade Unit: %Intercept: 40.1 mHistorical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Hole ID
DH Y-74-01
Project
Yava
Commodity
zinc
Region
canada_nu
Reported Region
canada_nu
Ticker
TUF

Geometry

Grade
3.73
Grade Unit
%
Intercept
40.1 m
True Width
23 m

Classification

Sample Type
drill
Group ID
DH Y-74-01:0-40.1

Location

Location
Main Zone
Loc. Source
document

QA/QC

QP Signed
Yes
QA/QC Methods
standards

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Interp. Status
scored
Historical
Yes

Dates

Event date
2026-08-26T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Secondary metal in a high-grade intercept.

Positive factors

  • Zinc present in high-grade silver interval

Evidence · text

“3.73% zinc”

Tags used in scoring

True Width Disclosedpositive

Actual thickness perpendicular to structure is stated, not just downhole length.

Why it applies: true_width_m is 23

No QA/QC Disclosurenegative

Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.

Why it applies: qaqc_disclosed is not true

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

Stale Data Re-releasenegative

Historical results re-announced with no new assays or reinterpretation — low genuine novelty.

Why it applies: the fact restates a prior release

DH Y-74-01Yava · goldGrade: 0.54Grade Unit: %Intercept: 40.1 mHistorical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Hole ID
DH Y-74-01
Project
Yava
Commodity
gold
Region
canada_nu
Reported Region
canada_nu
Ticker
TUF

Geometry

Grade
0.54
Grade Unit
%
Intercept
40.1 m
True Width
23 m

Classification

Sample Type
drill
Group ID
DH Y-74-01:0-40.1

Location

Location
Main Zone
Loc. Source
document

QA/QC

QP Signed
Yes
QA/QC Methods
standards

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Interp. Status
scored
Historical
Yes

Dates

Event date
2026-08-26T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Secondary metal in a high-grade intercept.

Positive factors

  • Gold present in high-grade silver interval

Evidence · text

“0.54% gold”

Tags used in scoring

True Width Disclosedpositive

Actual thickness perpendicular to structure is stated, not just downhole length.

Why it applies: true_width_m is 23

No QA/QC Disclosurenegative

Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.

Why it applies: qaqc_disclosed is not true

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

Stale Data Re-releasenegative

Historical results re-announced with no new assays or reinterpretation — low genuine novelty.

Why it applies: the fact restates a prior release

DH Y-74-01Yava · leadGrade: 0.36Grade Unit: %Intercept: 40.1 mHistorical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Hole ID
DH Y-74-01
Project
Yava
Commodity
lead
Region
canada_nu
Reported Region
canada_nu
Ticker
TUF

Geometry

Grade
0.36
Grade Unit
%
Intercept
40.1 m
True Width
23 m

Classification

Sample Type
drill
Group ID
DH Y-74-01:0-40.1

Location

Location
Main Zone
Loc. Source
document

QA/QC

QP Signed
Yes
QA/QC Methods
standards

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Interp. Status
scored
Historical
Yes

Dates

Event date
2026-08-26T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Secondary metal in a high-grade intercept.

Positive factors

  • Lead present in high-grade silver interval

Evidence · text

“0.36% lead”

Tags used in scoring

True Width Disclosedpositive

Actual thickness perpendicular to structure is stated, not just downhole length.

Why it applies: true_width_m is 23

No QA/QC Disclosurenegative

Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.

Why it applies: qaqc_disclosed is not true

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

Stale Data Re-releasenegative

Historical results re-announced with no new assays or reinterpretation — low genuine novelty.

Why it applies: the fact restates a prior release

Resource Estimates (5)

inferredYava Project · silverTonnes: 1300000Grade: 106.8Grade Unit: g/tHistorical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Yava Project
Commodity
silver
Region
canada_nu
Reported Region
Nunavut
Ticker
TUF

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Resource group id
resource:ec5876a8372475ea26db
Deposit or zone
Yava Main Zone

Resource Data

Category
inferred
Tonnes
1300000
Grade
106.8
Grade Unit
g/t

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Historical
Yes

Dates

Event date
2026-08-26T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Historical resource estimate that is not NI 43-101 compliant.

Positive factors

  • High silver grade

Negative factors

  • Non-compliant
  • Unverified
  • Historical

Evidence · text

“historical resource of 1.3 Mt grading 106.8 g/t silver, 1.03% copper, 4.96% zinc, 1.60% lead and 0.30 g/t gold”

Tags used in scoring

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

inferredYava Project · copperTonnes: 1300000Grade: 1.03Grade Unit: %Historical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Yava Project
Commodity
copper
Region
canada_nu
Reported Region
Nunavut
Ticker
TUF

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Resource group id
resource:ec5876a8372475ea26db
Deposit or zone
Yava Main Zone

Resource Data

Category
inferred
Tonnes
1300000
Grade
1.03
Grade Unit
%

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Historical
Yes

Dates

Event date
2026-08-26T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Part of historical non-compliant resource.

Negative factors

  • Non-compliant

Evidence · text

“1.03% copper”

Tags used in scoring

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

inferredYava Project · zincTonnes: 1300000Grade: 4.96Grade Unit: %Historical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Yava Project
Commodity
zinc
Region
canada_nu
Reported Region
Nunavut
Ticker
TUF

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Resource group id
resource:ec5876a8372475ea26db
Deposit or zone
Yava Main Zone

Resource Data

Category
inferred
Tonnes
1300000
Grade
4.96
Grade Unit
%

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Historical
Yes

Dates

Event date
2026-08-26T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Part of historical non-compliant resource.

Negative factors

  • Non-compliant

Evidence · text

“4.96% zinc”

Tags used in scoring

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

inferredYava Project · leadTonnes: 1300000Grade: 1.6Grade Unit: %Historical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Yava Project
Commodity
lead
Region
canada_nu
Reported Region
Nunavut
Ticker
TUF

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Resource group id
resource:ec5876a8372475ea26db
Deposit or zone
Yava Main Zone

Resource Data

Category
inferred
Tonnes
1300000
Grade
1.6
Grade Unit
%

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Historical
Yes

Dates

Event date
2026-08-26T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Part of historical non-compliant resource.

Negative factors

  • Non-compliant

Evidence · text

“1.60% lead”

Tags used in scoring

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

inferredYava Project · goldTonnes: 1300000Grade: 0.3Grade Unit: g/tHistorical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Yava Project
Commodity
gold
Region
canada_nu
Reported Region
Nunavut
Ticker
TUF

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Resource group id
resource:ec5876a8372475ea26db
Deposit or zone
Yava Main Zone

Resource Data

Category
inferred
Tonnes
1300000
Grade
0.3
Grade Unit
g/t

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Historical
Yes

Dates

Event date
2026-08-26T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Part of historical non-compliant resource.

Negative factors

  • Non-compliant

Evidence · text

“0.30 g/t gold”

Tags used in scoring

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

How Atlas produces this analysis

Minestarters Atlas uses automated extraction to summarize mining announcements, identify reported measurements, and classify supporting evidence. Sentiment reflects the extracted narrative and classification rules; it is an interpretation, not a reported measurement. Evidence quotes and context are provided where available. Missing data, low-confidence results, and review flags indicate limitations. Check the original publisher announcement before relying on an interpretation.