Initial Drill Holes Returned Zn, Ag and Au Over Wide Widths on Chibougamau Independent Claims Optioned to TomaGold

Original announcement by tmx on

Company
Chibougamau Independent Mines Inc.
Ticker
CBG
Exchange
TSX
Region
Québec
Primary commodity
Zinc
Secondary commodities
Silver, Gold
Document categories
Drill results
Extracted
2026-09-17 15:26:56 UTC

Analysis by Minestarters Atlas

Minestarters Atlas analysis

Summary

Chibougamau Independent Mines has announced high-grade initial drill results from the Berrigan claims, which are optioned to TomaGold. The intercepts feature significant zinc-equivalent grades, including up to 39.03% ZnEq over 2.90m, suggesting strong mineralization potential.

Reasoning: Initial drill results from the Berrigan claims show high-grade zinc-equivalent intercepts over wide intervals, demonstrating significant mineralization potential in the Chibougamau camp.

Positive factors

  • High-grade ZnEq intercepts
  • Significant width continuity
  • Exploration success on optioned claims

Negative factors

  • Metal equivalent opaque
  • Apparent width only

Facts used in scoring: 7

Classification and evidence

Bonanza Interceptpositive

Exceptionally high-grade zone, well above the deposit-type norm.

Why it applies: 39.03% ZnEq is exceptionally high for a zinc-focused project.

Evidence · text

“39.03% ZnEq (9.15 g/t AuEq) over 2.90 metres”

Metal Equivalent Opaquenegative

Metal equivalent grade reported without disclosing the price, recovery, or payability assumptions used. Requires an actual metal equivalent grade; a combined elemental basket such as PGE is not a metal equivalent.

Why it applies: ZnEq and AuEq are reported without disclosing the specific price, recovery, or payability assumptions used.

Evidence · text

“ZnEq and AuEq are calculated using the Company’s standard parameters.”

Apparent Width Onlynegative

Interval given as downhole width with no true width or drill orientation — apparent width may overstate true thickness.

Why it applies: Reported widths are core lengths and true width is only estimated as 80-85% of core length.

Evidence · text

“True width is estimated to be approximately 80–85% of the core length”

QA/QC Disclosedpositive

Release includes QA/QC disclosure — certified lab, QP sign-off, or stated methods (blanks, standards, duplicates).

Why it applies: Release mentions a Qualified Person (Jack Stoch, P.Geo.) and technical approval by a P.Geo.

Evidence · text

“This press release was written by Jack Stoch, P. Geo... in his capacity as a Qualified Person (Q.P.) under NI 43-101.”

Step-Out Extensionpositive

Mineralization extended beyond the previously known limit.

Why it applies: The results are described as initial drill holes on optioned claims, targeting lateral and depth extensions.

Evidence · text

“Five additional holes targeting lateral and depth extensions of the mineralized envelope are out for assay”

Extracted facts

Stored fact records: 7. Some facts used in scoring do not have a stored record.

Drill Results (7)

TOM-25-009Berrigan claims · zincGrade: 6.68Grade Unit: %Intercept: 48.05 mView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Hole ID
TOM-25-009
Project
Berrigan claims
Commodity
zinc
Region
canada_qc
Reported Region
canada_qc
Ticker
CBG

Geometry

Grade
6.68
Grade Unit
%
Intercept
48.05 m
From
156.7 m
To
204.75 m
Intercept Depth
156.7 m

Classification

Program
exploration
Sample Type
drill
Group ID
TOM-25-009:156.7-204.75
Mining Method
unknown

QA/QC

QP Signed
Yes
QA/QC Methods
standards

Metal Equivalent

Metal Eq. Grade
1.57
Metal Eq. Unit
g/t AuEq
Assumptions Disclosed
No

Review

Needs Review
No
Interp. Status
scored
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2025-12-23T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Strong initial intercept showing significant ZnEq width.

Positive factors

  • Wide high-grade intercept

Negative factors

  • Metal equivalent assumptions not disclosed

Evidence · text

“Hole TOM-25-009 (from 156.70 m): 6.68% ZnEq (1.57 g/t AuEq) over 48.05 metres”

Tags used in scoring

No QA/QC Disclosurenegative

Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.

Why it applies: qaqc_disclosed is not true

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

Metal Equivalent Opaquenegative

Metal equivalent grade reported without disclosing the price, recovery, or payability assumptions used. Requires an actual metal equivalent grade; a combined elemental basket such as PGE is not a metal equivalent.

Why it applies: an equivalent grade is reported without its assumptions

TOM-25-009Berrigan claims · zincGrade: 39.03Grade Unit: %Intercept: 2.9 mView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Hole ID
TOM-25-009
Project
Berrigan claims
Commodity
zinc
Region
canada_qc
Reported Region
canada_qc
Ticker
CBG

Geometry

Grade
39.03
Grade Unit
%
Intercept
2.9 m
From
156.7 m
To
159.6 m
Intercept Depth
156.7 m

Classification

Program
exploration
Sample Type
drill
Group ID
TOM-25-009:156.7-159.6
Mining Method
unknown

QA/QC

QP Signed
Yes
QA/QC Methods
standards

Metal Equivalent

Metal Eq. Grade
9.15
Metal Eq. Unit
g/t AuEq
Assumptions Disclosed
No

Review

Needs Review
No
Interp. Status
scored
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2025-12-23T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Exceptional high-grade interval within the larger intercept.

Positive factors

  • Bonanza grade

Evidence · text

“including 39.03% ZnEq (9.15 g/t AuEq) over 2.90 metres”

Tags used in scoring

No QA/QC Disclosurenegative

Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.

Why it applies: qaqc_disclosed is not true

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

Metal Equivalent Opaquenegative

Metal equivalent grade reported without disclosing the price, recovery, or payability assumptions used. Requires an actual metal equivalent grade; a combined elemental basket such as PGE is not a metal equivalent.

Why it applies: an equivalent grade is reported without its assumptions

TOM-25-009Berrigan claims · zincGrade: 21.86Grade Unit: %Intercept: 5.4 mView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Hole ID
TOM-25-009
Project
Berrigan claims
Commodity
zinc
Region
canada_qc
Reported Region
canada_qc
Ticker
CBG

Geometry

Grade
21.86
Grade Unit
%
Intercept
5.4 m
From
156.7 m
To
162.1 m
Intercept Depth
156.7 m

Classification

Program
exploration
Sample Type
drill
Group ID
TOM-25-009:156.7-162.1
Mining Method
unknown

QA/QC

QP Signed
Yes
QA/QC Methods
standards

Metal Equivalent

Metal Eq. Grade
5.12
Metal Eq. Unit
g/t AuEq
Assumptions Disclosed
No

Review

Needs Review
No
Interp. Status
scored
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2025-12-23T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Significant high-grade interval.

Positive factors

  • High grade

Evidence · text

“and 21.86% ZnEq (5.12 g/t AuEq) over 5.40 metres”

Tags used in scoring

No QA/QC Disclosurenegative

Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.

Why it applies: qaqc_disclosed is not true

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

Metal Equivalent Opaquenegative

Metal equivalent grade reported without disclosing the price, recovery, or payability assumptions used. Requires an actual metal equivalent grade; a combined elemental basket such as PGE is not a metal equivalent.

Why it applies: an equivalent grade is reported without its assumptions

TOM-25-009Berrigan claims · zincGrade: 5.44Grade Unit: %Intercept: 15.2 mView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Hole ID
TOM-25-009
Project
Berrigan claims
Commodity
zinc
Region
canada_qc
Reported Region
canada_qc
Ticker
CBG

Geometry

Grade
5.44
Grade Unit
%
Intercept
15.2 m
From
244.5 m
To
259.7 m
Intercept Depth
244.5 m

Classification

Program
exploration
Sample Type
drill
Group ID
TOM-25-009:244.5-259.7
Mining Method
unknown

QA/QC

QP Signed
Yes
QA/QC Methods
standards

Metal Equivalent

Metal Eq. Grade
1.27
Metal Eq. Unit
g/t AuEq
Assumptions Disclosed
No

Review

Needs Review
No
Interp. Status
scored
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2025-12-23T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Solid secondary intercept.

Positive factors

  • Good width

Evidence · text

“Hole TOM-25-009 (from 244.50 m): 5.44% ZnEq (1.27 g/t AuEq) over 15.20 metres”

Tags used in scoring

No QA/QC Disclosurenegative

Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.

Why it applies: qaqc_disclosed is not true

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

Metal Equivalent Opaquenegative

Metal equivalent grade reported without disclosing the price, recovery, or payability assumptions used. Requires an actual metal equivalent grade; a combined elemental basket such as PGE is not a metal equivalent.

Why it applies: an equivalent grade is reported without its assumptions

TOM-25-009Berrigan claims · zincGrade: 25.15Grade Unit: %Intercept: 2.55 mView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Hole ID
TOM-25-009
Project
Berrigan claims
Commodity
zinc
Region
canada_qc
Reported Region
canada_qc
Ticker
CBG

Geometry

Grade
25.15
Grade Unit
%
Intercept
2.55 m
From
244.5 m
To
247.05 m
Intercept Depth
244.5 m

Classification

Program
exploration
Sample Type
drill
Group ID
TOM-25-009:244.5-247.05
Mining Method
unknown

QA/QC

QP Signed
Yes
QA/QC Methods
standards

Metal Equivalent

Metal Eq. Grade
5.85
Metal Eq. Unit
g/t AuEq
Assumptions Disclosed
No

Review

Needs Review
No
Interp. Status
scored
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2025-12-23T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: High grade interval within the second intercept.

Positive factors

  • High grade

Evidence · text

“including 25.15% ZnEq (5.85 g/t AuEq) over 2.55 metres”

Tags used in scoring

No QA/QC Disclosurenegative

Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.

Why it applies: qaqc_disclosed is not true

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

Metal Equivalent Opaquenegative

Metal equivalent grade reported without disclosing the price, recovery, or payability assumptions used. Requires an actual metal equivalent grade; a combined elemental basket such as PGE is not a metal equivalent.

Why it applies: an equivalent grade is reported without its assumptions

TOM-25-010Berrigan claims · zincGrade: 2.67Grade Unit: %Intercept: 48.3 mView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Hole ID
TOM-25-010
Project
Berrigan claims
Commodity
zinc
Region
canada_qc
Reported Region
canada_qc
Ticker
CBG

Geometry

Grade
2.67
Grade Unit
%
Intercept
48.3 m
From
130.7 m
To
179 m
Intercept Depth
130.7 m

Classification

Program
exploration
Sample Type
drill
Group ID
TOM-25-010:130.7-179
Mining Method
unknown

QA/QC

QP Signed
Yes
QA/QC Methods
standards

Metal Equivalent

Metal Eq. Grade
0.62
Metal Eq. Unit
g/t AuEq
Assumptions Disclosed
No

Review

Needs Review
No
Interp. Status
scored
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2025-12-23T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Wide but lower grade intercept.

Positive factors

  • Wide intercept

Evidence · text

“Hole TOM-25-010 (from 130.70 m): 2.67% ZnEq (0.62 g/t AuEq) over 48.30 metres”

Tags used in scoring

No QA/QC Disclosurenegative

Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.

Why it applies: qaqc_disclosed is not true

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

Metal Equivalent Opaquenegative

Metal equivalent grade reported without disclosing the price, recovery, or payability assumptions used. Requires an actual metal equivalent grade; a combined elemental basket such as PGE is not a metal equivalent.

Why it applies: an equivalent grade is reported without its assumptions

TOM-25-010Berrigan claims · zincGrade: 12.87Grade Unit: %Intercept: 6.25 mView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Hole ID
TOM-25-010
Project
Berrigan claims
Commodity
zinc
Region
canada_qc
Reported Region
canada_qc
Ticker
CBG

Geometry

Grade
12.87
Grade Unit
%
Intercept
6.25 m
From
130.7 m
To
136.95 m
Intercept Depth
130.7 m

Classification

Program
exploration
Sample Type
drill
Group ID
TOM-25-010:130.7-136.95
Mining Method
unknown

QA/QC

QP Signed
Yes
QA/QC Methods
standards

Metal Equivalent

Metal Eq. Grade
3
Metal Eq. Unit
g/t AuEq
Assumptions Disclosed
No

Review

Needs Review
No
Interp. Status
scored
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2025-12-23T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: High grade sub-interval.

Positive factors

  • High grade

Evidence · text

“including 12.87% ZnEq (3.00 g/t AuEq) over 6.25 metres”

Tags used in scoring

No QA/QC Disclosurenegative

Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.

Why it applies: qaqc_disclosed is not true

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

Metal Equivalent Opaquenegative

Metal equivalent grade reported without disclosing the price, recovery, or payability assumptions used. Requires an actual metal equivalent grade; a combined elemental basket such as PGE is not a metal equivalent.

Why it applies: an equivalent grade is reported without its assumptions

How Atlas produces this analysis

Minestarters Atlas uses automated extraction to summarize mining announcements, identify reported measurements, and classify supporting evidence. Sentiment reflects the extracted narrative and classification rules; it is an interpretation, not a reported measurement. Evidence quotes and context are provided where available. Missing data, low-confidence results, and review flags indicate limitations. Check the original publisher announcement before relying on an interpretation.