Manganese X Energy Announces Eric Sprott's Commitment to Fund Pre-Feasibility Study of Electric Royalties' Flagship Manganese Royalty Asset in New Brunswick
Original announcement by tmx on
- Company
- Electric Royalties Ltd.
- Ticker
- ELEC
- Exchange
- TSX
- Region
- New Brunswick
- Primary commodity
- Manganese
- Secondary commodities
- None reported
- Document categories
- Resource update, Agreement transaction, Economic study
- Extracted
- 2026-09-19 21:15:20 UTC
Analysis by Minestarters Atlas
Minestarters Atlas analysis
Summary
Electric Royalties announced that Manganese X Energy has secured a C$2 million commitment from Eric Sprott to fund a Pre-Feasibility Study for the Battery Hill Manganese Project, in which Electric Royalties holds a 2% gross metal royalty. The document also references a 2022 PEA for the project which projected significant annual revenues and a short payback period.
Reasoning: The announcement highlights a significant funding commitment from a major mining investor (Eric Sprott) to advance a key project (Battery Hill) where the company holds a royalty, de-risking the upcoming PFS.
Positive factors
- Strategic investment from Eric Sprott to fund upcoming PFS
- Existing royalty interest in a high-purity manganese project
- Historical PEA shows strong revenue and short payback
Negative factors
- Electric Royalties only holds a 2% gross metal royalty, limiting direct upside
Facts used in scoring: 4
Classification and evidence
Nearology Playneutral · Story-specific tag
Value premise rests on proximity to a known deposit rather than own results.
Why it applies: The company's value is derived from its royalty interest in the Battery Hill Manganese Project.
Evidence · text
“Electric Royalties Ltd. ... is pleased to provide an update on the Battery Hill Manganese Project ("Battery Hill" or "the Project") in New Brunswick, Canada, on which it owns a 2% Gross Metal Royalty.”
QP/CP Signedpositive
Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.
Why it applies: David Gaunt, P.Geo., a qualified person, has reviewed and approved the technical information.
Evidence · text
“David Gaunt, P.Geo., a qualified person who is not independent of Electric Royalties, has reviewed and approved the technical information in this release.”
Extracted facts
Stored fact records: 3. Some facts used in scoring do not have a stored record.
Resource Estimates (3)
measuredBattery Hill Manganese Project · manganeseTonnes: 5900000Grade: 7.65Grade Unit: %Historical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Battery Hill Manganese Project
- Commodity
- manganese
- Region
- canada_nb
- Reported Region
- New Brunswick
- Ticker
- ELEC
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- resource
- Effective date
- 2022-05-12T00:00:00.000Z
- Resource group id
- resource:969754780dc83adff65d
Resource Data
- Category
- measured
- Tonnes
- 5900000
- Grade
- 7.65
- Grade Unit
- %
- Cutoff Grade
- 3.3
- Cutoff Unit
- %
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2022-05-12
Review
- Needs Review
- Yes
- Review Reason
- historical_restatement
- Historical
- Yes
- Historical Source Date
- 2022-05-12T00:00:00.000Z
Dates
- Event date
- 2025-01-03T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: The resource figures are part of the historical PEA technical report.
Positive factors
- High grade manganese reported
Negative factors
- Historical data from 2022 PEA
Evidence · text
“Measured MR of 5.90 Mt grading 7.65% Mn”
Tags used in scoring
Measured Resourcepositive
Highest confidence category — tonnage, grade, shape well-established from closely-spaced drilling. Basis for Proven Reserves.
Why it applies: category is "measured"
Cut-off Disclosedpositive
Cut-off grade used for resource reporting is clearly stated, enabling like-for-like comparison.
Why it applies: cutoff_grade is stated
No Contained Metalnegative
Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.
Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported
PEA-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
PFS-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Pre-Feasibility Study — requires adequate M&I component.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
DFS-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
Stale Estimatenegative
Effective date is >2 years old — data currency concern, may not reflect current geological understanding.
Why it applies: effective date is 2.6 years before this release
indicatedBattery Hill Manganese Project · manganeseTonnes: 6370000Grade: 7.26Grade Unit: %Historical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Battery Hill Manganese Project
- Commodity
- manganese
- Region
- canada_nb
- Reported Region
- New Brunswick
- Ticker
- ELEC
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- resource
- Effective date
- 2022-05-12T00:00:00.000Z
- Resource group id
- resource:924463b98e00709daf2d
Resource Data
- Category
- indicated
- Tonnes
- 6370000
- Grade
- 7.26
- Grade Unit
- %
- Cutoff Grade
- 3.3
- Cutoff Unit
- %
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2022-05-12
Review
- Needs Review
- Yes
- Review Reason
- historical_restatement
- Historical
- Yes
- Historical Source Date
- 2022-05-12T00:00:00.000Z
Dates
- Event date
- 2025-01-03T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: The resource figures are part of the historical PEA technical report.
Positive factors
- High grade manganese reported
Negative factors
- Historical data from 2022 PEA
Evidence · text
“Indicated MR of 6.37 Mt grading 7.26% Mn”
Tags used in scoring
Indicated Resourcepositive
Reasonable geological confidence based on adequate drilling; continuity can be assumed. Basis for Probable Reserves.
Why it applies: category is "indicated"
Cut-off Disclosedpositive
Cut-off grade used for resource reporting is clearly stated, enabling like-for-like comparison.
Why it applies: cutoff_grade is stated
No Contained Metalnegative
Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.
Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported
PEA-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
PFS-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Pre-Feasibility Study — requires adequate M&I component.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
DFS-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
Stale Estimatenegative
Effective date is >2 years old — data currency concern, may not reflect current geological understanding.
Why it applies: effective date is 2.6 years before this release
inferredBattery Hill Manganese Project · manganeseTonnes: 4730000Grade: 8.26Grade Unit: %Historical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Battery Hill Manganese Project
- Commodity
- manganese
- Region
- canada_nb
- Reported Region
- New Brunswick
- Ticker
- ELEC
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- resource
- Effective date
- 2022-05-12T00:00:00.000Z
- Resource group id
- resource:cb55b75deffbcc0990e8
Resource Data
- Category
- inferred
- Tonnes
- 4730000
- Grade
- 8.26
- Grade Unit
- %
- Cutoff Grade
- 3.3
- Cutoff Unit
- %
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2022-05-12
Review
- Needs Review
- Yes
- Review Reason
- historical_restatement
- Historical
- Yes
- Historical Source Date
- 2022-05-12T00:00:00.000Z
Dates
- Event date
- 2025-01-03T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: The resource figures are part of the historical PEA technical report.
Positive factors
- High grade manganese reported
Negative factors
- Historical data from 2022 PEA
Evidence · text
“Inferred MR of 4.73 Mt grading 8.26% Mn”
Tags used in scoring
Inferred Resourcenegative
Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.
Why it applies: category is "inferred"
Cut-off Disclosedpositive
Cut-off grade used for resource reporting is clearly stated, enabling like-for-like comparison.
Why it applies: cutoff_grade is stated
No Contained Metalnegative
Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.
Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported
PEA-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
PFS-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Pre-Feasibility Study — requires adequate M&I component.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
DFS-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
Stale Estimatenegative
Effective date is >2 years old — data currency concern, may not reflect current geological understanding.
Why it applies: effective date is 2.6 years before this release
How Atlas produces this analysis
Minestarters Atlas uses automated extraction to summarize mining announcements, identify reported measurements, and classify supporting evidence. Sentiment reflects the extracted narrative and classification rules; it is an interpretation, not a reported measurement. Evidence quotes and context are provided where available. Missing data, low-confidence results, and review flags indicate limitations. Check the original publisher announcement before relying on an interpretation.