McFarlane Increases Gold Mineral Resources on Its Juby Gold Project

Original announcement by globenewswire on

Company
McFarlane Lake Mining Incorporated
Ticker
MLM
Exchange
Unavailable
Region
Ontario
Primary commodity
Gold
Secondary commodities
None reported
Document categories
Resource update
Extracted
2026-09-12 02:37:18 UTC

Analysis by Minestarters Atlas

Minestarters Atlas analysis

Summary

McFarlane Lake Mining has announced an updated Mineral Resource Estimate for its Juby Gold project, reporting a 59% increase in Inferred resources and a 13% increase in Indicated resources. The growth is driven by 13,000m of new drilling, the discovery of the high-grade 826 Zone, and a higher long-term gold price assumption of US$3,600/oz.

Reasoning: The update shows substantial growth in total contained gold ounces, driven by both increased tonnage and a significantly higher long-term gold price assumption ($3,600 vs $2,500).

Positive factors

  • Significant tonnage growth in Inferred category (59%)
  • New higher-grade gold resource established at 826 Zone
  • Indicated resource tonnage increased by 13%
  • Expansion of mineralized footprint into previously undefined southwestern area

Negative factors

  • Average grade declined slightly in both Indicated and Inferred categories due to higher gold price assumption and increased tonnage

Facts used in scoring: 8

Classification and evidence

Tonnage Growthpositive

Tonnage increase reaching the strong tier vs prior estimate, with grade maintained or improved.

Why it applies: Inferred resource tonnage increased by 59% compared to the previous estimate.

Evidence · text

“59% Increase in Inferred Resources”

Step-Out Extensionpositive · Story-specific tag

Mineralization extended beyond the previously known limit.

Why it applies: The 826 Zone represents a new gold resource in a previously undefined area.

Evidence · text

“opens up the large southwestern area of our property where previously no gold resources were defined”

QP/CP Signedpositive

Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.

Why it applies: Todd McCracken, P.Geo., of BBA E&C Inc. is named as the independent Qualified Person.

Evidence · text

“The MRE was independently prepared by Todd McCracken, P. Geo., of BBA E&C Inc.”

NI 43-101 Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: The release states the MRE was prepared in accordance with NI 43-101 standards.

Evidence · text

“prepared in accordance with National Instrument 43-101 standards”

Extracted facts

Stored fact records: 8. Some facts used in scoring do not have a stored record.

Resource Estimates (8)

indicatedJuby Gold project · goldTonnes: 36470000Grade: 0.93Grade Unit: g/tContained Metal: 1.09Contained Unit: mozView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Juby Gold project
Commodity
gold
Region
canada_on
Reported Region
Ontario
Ticker
MLM

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Reporting standards
ni_43_101
QP Signed
Yes
Qualified person names
Todd McCracken, Mark Trevisiol
Resource group id
resource:069422723196b6fb9f7e
Deposit or zone
Juby Gold project
Mining method
combined
Ownership percent
100 %

Resource Data

Category
indicated
Tonnes
36470000
Grade
0.93
Grade Unit
g/t
Contained Metal
1.09
Contained Unit
moz
Cutoff Grade
0.25
Cutoff Unit
g/t Au

Prior Estimate

Resource Date
2026-08-14

Review

Needs Review
No
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-08-18T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Standard indicated resource component for the open pit portion.

Evidence · table

“0.93”

Context: 36.47

Tags used in scoring

Indicated Resourcepositive

Reasonable geological confidence based on adequate drilling; continuity can be assumed. Basis for Probable Reserves.

Why it applies: category is "indicated"

Cut-off Disclosedpositive

Cut-off grade used for resource reporting is clearly stated, enabling like-for-like comparison.

Why it applies: cutoff_grade is stated

QP/CP Signedpositive

Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.

Why it applies: qp_signed is true

NI 43-101 Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101

Resource Updateneutral

Revised estimate for an existing resource — compare to prior to assess progress.

Why it applies: the release compares against a previous estimate

indicatedJuby Gold project · goldTonnes: 690000Grade: 2.36Grade Unit: g/tContained Metal: 0.05Contained Unit: mozView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Juby Gold project
Commodity
gold
Region
canada_on
Reported Region
Ontario
Ticker
MLM

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Reporting standards
ni_43_101
QP Signed
Yes
Qualified person names
Todd McCracken, Mark Trevisiol
Resource group id
resource:578aa179305cba079677
Deposit or zone
Juby Gold project
Mining method
combined
Ownership percent
100 %

Resource Data

Category
indicated
Tonnes
690000
Grade
2.36
Grade Unit
g/t
Contained Metal
0.05
Contained Unit
moz
Cutoff Grade
1.6
Cutoff Unit
g/t Au

Prior Estimate

Resource Date
2026-08-14

Review

Needs Review
No
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-08-18T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: High-grade underground resource component.

Positive factors

  • High grade (2.36 g/t) for underground component

Evidence · table

“2.36”

Context: 0.69

Tags used in scoring

Indicated Resourcepositive

Reasonable geological confidence based on adequate drilling; continuity can be assumed. Basis for Probable Reserves.

Why it applies: category is "indicated"

Cut-off Disclosedpositive

Cut-off grade used for resource reporting is clearly stated, enabling like-for-like comparison.

Why it applies: cutoff_grade is stated

QP/CP Signedpositive

Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.

Why it applies: qp_signed is true

NI 43-101 Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101

Resource Updateneutral

Revised estimate for an existing resource — compare to prior to assess progress.

Why it applies: the release compares against a previous estimate

indicatedJuby Gold project · goldTonnes: 37170000Grade: 0.95Grade Unit: g/tContained Metal: 1.14Contained Unit: mozView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Juby Gold project
Commodity
gold
Region
canada_on
Reported Region
Ontario
Ticker
MLM

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Reporting standards
ni_43_101
QP Signed
Yes
Qualified person names
Todd McCracken, Mark Trevisiol
Resource group id
resource:53745d0a65f4cd71fadf
Deposit or zone
Juby Gold project
Mining method
combined
Ownership percent
100 %

Resource Data

Category
indicated
Tonnes
37170000
Grade
0.95
Grade Unit
g/t
Contained Metal
1.14
Contained Unit
moz

Prior Estimate

Resource Date
2026-08-14

Review

Needs Review
No
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-08-18T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Total indicated resource combining OP and UG.

Positive factors

  • 13% increase in indicated resources

Evidence · table

“0.95”

Context: 37.17

Tags used in scoring

Indicated Resourcepositive

Reasonable geological confidence based on adequate drilling; continuity can be assumed. Basis for Probable Reserves.

Why it applies: category is "indicated"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

QP/CP Signedpositive

Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.

Why it applies: qp_signed is true

NI 43-101 Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101

Resource Updateneutral

Revised estimate for an existing resource — compare to prior to assess progress.

Why it applies: the release compares against a previous estimate

inferredJuby Gold project · goldTonnes: 175810000Grade: 0.83Grade Unit: g/tContained Metal: 4.69Contained Unit: mozView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Juby Gold project
Commodity
gold
Region
canada_on
Reported Region
Ontario
Ticker
MLM

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Reporting standards
ni_43_101
QP Signed
Yes
Qualified person names
Todd McCracken, Mark Trevisiol
Resource group id
resource:16b1bf754873cc40c65a
Deposit or zone
Juby Gold project
Mining method
combined
Ownership percent
100 %

Resource Data

Category
inferred
Tonnes
175810000
Grade
0.83
Grade Unit
g/t
Contained Metal
4.69
Contained Unit
moz
Cutoff Grade
0.25
Cutoff Unit
g/t Au

Prior Estimate

Resource Date
2026-08-14

Review

Needs Review
No
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-08-18T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Large inferred open pit component.

Positive factors

  • Significant tonnage growth

Evidence · table

“0.83”

Context: 175.81

Tags used in scoring

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

Cut-off Disclosedpositive

Cut-off grade used for resource reporting is clearly stated, enabling like-for-like comparison.

Why it applies: cutoff_grade is stated

QP/CP Signedpositive

Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.

Why it applies: qp_signed is true

NI 43-101 Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101

Resource Updateneutral

Revised estimate for an existing resource — compare to prior to assess progress.

Why it applies: the release compares against a previous estimate

inferredJuby Gold project · goldTonnes: 4860000Grade: 2.36Grade Unit: g/tContained Metal: 0.37Contained Unit: mozView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Juby Gold project
Commodity
gold
Region
canada_on
Reported Region
Ontario
Ticker
MLM

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Reporting standards
ni_43_101
QP Signed
Yes
Qualified person names
Todd McCracken, Mark Trevisiol
Resource group id
resource:d364422b8f288e61197e
Deposit or zone
Juby Gold project
Mining method
combined
Ownership percent
100 %

Resource Data

Category
inferred
Tonnes
4860000
Grade
2.36
Grade Unit
g/t
Contained Metal
0.37
Contained Unit
moz
Cutoff Grade
1.6
Cutoff Unit
g/t Au

Prior Estimate

Resource Date
2026-08-14

Review

Needs Review
No
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-08-18T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Inferred underground component.

Positive factors

  • High grade (2.36 g/t) for underground component

Evidence · table

“2.36”

Context: 4.86

Tags used in scoring

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

Cut-off Disclosedpositive

Cut-off grade used for resource reporting is clearly stated, enabling like-for-like comparison.

Why it applies: cutoff_grade is stated

QP/CP Signedpositive

Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.

Why it applies: qp_signed is true

NI 43-101 Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101

Resource Updateneutral

Revised estimate for an existing resource — compare to prior to assess progress.

Why it applies: the release compares against a previous estimate

inferredJuby Gold project · goldTonnes: 180670000Grade: 0.87Grade Unit: g/tContained Metal: 5.06Contained Unit: mozView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Juby Gold project
Commodity
gold
Region
canada_on
Reported Region
Ontario
Ticker
MLM

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Reporting standards
ni_43_101
QP Signed
Yes
Qualified person names
Todd McCracken, Mark Trevisiol
Resource group id
resource:ceea2a224a089489377f
Deposit or zone
Juby Gold project
Mining method
combined
Ownership percent
100 %

Resource Data

Category
inferred
Tonnes
180670000
Grade
0.87
Grade Unit
g/t
Contained Metal
5.06
Contained Unit
moz

Prior Estimate

Resource Date
2026-08-14

Review

Needs Review
No
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-08-18T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Total inferred resource combining OP and UG.

Positive factors

  • 59% increase in inferred resources

Evidence · table

“0.87”

Context: 180.67

Tags used in scoring

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

QP/CP Signedpositive

Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.

Why it applies: qp_signed is true

NI 43-101 Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101

Resource Updateneutral

Revised estimate for an existing resource — compare to prior to assess progress.

Why it applies: the release compares against a previous estimate

inferredJuby Gold project · goldTonnes: 1820000Grade: 1.29Grade Unit: g/tView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Juby Gold project
Commodity
gold
Region
canada_on
Reported Region
Ontario
Ticker
MLM

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Reporting standards
ni_43_101
Resource group id
resource:b2f4afbe861b778060b1
Deposit or zone
826 Zone
Mining method
combined
Ownership percent
100 %

Resource Data

Category
inferred
Tonnes
1820000
Grade
1.29
Grade Unit
g/t
Cutoff Grade
0.25
Cutoff Unit
g/t gold

Prior Estimate

Resource Date
2026-08-14

Review

Needs Review
No
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-08-18T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Specific new resource component at the 826 Zone.

Positive factors

  • New higher-grade gold resource established

Evidence · text

“1.82 Mt at 1.29 g/t at a 0.25g/t gold cut-off”

Tags used in scoring

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

Cut-off Disclosedpositive

Cut-off grade used for resource reporting is clearly stated, enabling like-for-like comparison.

Why it applies: cutoff_grade is stated

NI 43-101 Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

Resource Updateneutral

Revised estimate for an existing resource — compare to prior to assess progress.

Why it applies: the release compares against a previous estimate

Fact 8Juby Gold projectHistorical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Juby Gold project
Ticker
MLM

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Effective date
2025-09-29T00:00:00.000Z
Resource group id
resource:269fb4d6e7e6abd5b395

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Historical
Yes
Historical Source Date
2025-09-29T00:00:00.000Z

Dates

Event date
2026-08-18T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Explicit resource disclosure recovered from source prose.

Evidence · text

“previous MRE (effective date September 29, 2025)”

Tags used in scoring

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

Resource Updateneutral

Revised estimate for an existing resource — compare to prior to assess progress.

Why it applies: the release compares against a previous estimate

How Atlas produces this analysis

Minestarters Atlas uses automated extraction to summarize mining announcements, identify reported measurements, and classify supporting evidence. Sentiment reflects the extracted narrative and classification rules; it is an interpretation, not a reported measurement. Evidence quotes and context are provided where available. Missing data, low-confidence results, and review flags indicate limitations. Check the original publisher announcement before relying on an interpretation.