Mkango Resources Limited Announces Year End 2025 Financial Statements and DFS

Original announcement by tmx on

Company
Mkango Resources Limited
Ticker
MKA
Exchange
TSX
Region
Malawi
Primary commodity
Rare earths
Secondary commodities
Neodymium, Praseodymium, Dysprosium, Terbium
Document categories
Resource update, Other
Extracted
2026-09-16 10:45:05 UTC

Analysis by Minestarters Atlas

Minestarters Atlas analysis

Summary

Mkango Resources has filed a NI 43-101 Definitive Feasibility Study (DFS) for the Songwe Hill Rare Earths Project in Malawi. The announcement also highlights strong economic results from the DFS, including a $339 million post-tax NPV for Songwe Hill, and provides updates on the company's rare earth magnet recycling operations in the UK, Germany, and the USA.

Reasoning: The company has reached a major milestone by filing a DFS for its primary project and reporting strong economic indicators for its separation and recycling ventures.

Positive factors

  • filing of NI 43-101 DFS for Songwe Hill
  • strong NPV and IRR for Songwe Hill and Puławy projects
  • successful commissioning of HyProMag plants
  • strategic funding from DFC

Negative factors

  • forward-looking statement risks
  • execution risk on US public listing

Facts used in scoring: 3

Classification and evidence

DFS-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.

Why it applies: The company filed a NI 43-101 DFS for the Songwe Hill project.

Evidence · text

“filed on SEDAR+ a Technical Report (the "Report") prepared in compliance with National Instrument 43-101... in relation to the Definitive Feasibility Study”

Extracted facts

Stored fact records: 3. Some facts used in scoring do not have a stored record.

Resource Estimates (3)

Fact 1View all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Region
malawi
Reported Region
Malawi
Ticker
MKA

Resource scope

Reporting standards
ni_43_101

Review

Needs Review
No
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-05-01T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: The DFS provides high-confidence economic parameters for the primary project.

Positive factors

  • strong NPV and IRR

Evidence · text

“Songwe's post-tax net present value ("NPV") is approximately $339 million, using a 10% nominal discount rate, with an internal rate of return ("IRR") of 24%”

Tags used in scoring

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

NI 43-101 Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

No QP/CP Disclosurenegative

No Qualified Person or Competent Person named — lower credibility for the estimate. A QP/CP should be a member of a recognized professional association with relevant experience.

Why it applies: no Qualified or Competent Person is named anywhere in the release

PFS-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Pre-Feasibility Study — requires adequate M&I component.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

DFS-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

Fact 2View all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Region
malawi
Reported Region
Malawi
Ticker
MKA

Resource scope

Reporting standards
ni_43_101

Review

Needs Review
No
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-05-01T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: The PFS for the Puławy plant shows very strong economic potential.

Positive factors

  • high NPV and IRR for separation plant

Evidence · text

“Puławy's post-tax NPV is approximately $779 million, using a 10% nominal discount rate, with an IRR of 40%”

Tags used in scoring

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

NI 43-101 Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

No QP/CP Disclosurenegative

No Qualified Person or Competent Person named — lower credibility for the estimate. A QP/CP should be a member of a recognized professional association with relevant experience.

Why it applies: no Qualified or Competent Person is named anywhere in the release

PFS-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Pre-Feasibility Study — requires adequate M&I component.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

DFS-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

Fact 3View all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Region
malawi
Reported Region
Malawi
Ticker
MKA

Resource scope

Reporting standards
ni_43_101

Review

Needs Review
No
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-05-01T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Updated capital cost estimates for HyProMag USA confirm improved economics.

Positive factors

  • improved project economics

Evidence · text

“US$409 million post-tax Net Present Value ("NPV") and 27.6% real internal rate of return ("IRR") based on current market prices”

Tags used in scoring

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

NI 43-101 Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

No QP/CP Disclosurenegative

No Qualified Person or Competent Person named — lower credibility for the estimate. A QP/CP should be a member of a recognized professional association with relevant experience.

Why it applies: no Qualified or Competent Person is named anywhere in the release

PFS-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Pre-Feasibility Study — requires adequate M&I component.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

DFS-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

How Atlas produces this analysis

Minestarters Atlas uses automated extraction to summarize mining announcements, identify reported measurements, and classify supporting evidence. Sentiment reflects the extracted narrative and classification rules; it is an interpretation, not a reported measurement. Evidence quotes and context are provided where available. Missing data, low-confidence results, and review flags indicate limitations. Check the original publisher announcement before relying on an interpretation.