NOVAGOLD Files 2025 Year-End Report Landmark Transaction Positions Donlin Gold as the Next Generational Project Primed for Development
Original announcement by tmx on
- Company
- NOVAGOLD RESOURCES INC.
- Ticker
- NG
- Exchange
- TSX
- Region
- Alaska
- Primary commodity
- Gold
- Secondary commodities
- None reported
- Document categories
- Resource update, Drill results, Other
- Extracted
- 2026-09-12 15:07:40 UTC
Analysis by Minestarters Atlas
Minestarters Atlas analysis
Summary
NOVAGOLD reported its 2025 fiscal year-end results, highlighted by the completion of a $1 billion transaction to increase its interest in the Donlin Gold project to 60%. The company also provided an update on its Tier One gold project, noting significant M&I resources and high-grade drill intercepts from its 2025 program.
Reasoning: The report details a transformative year for NOVAGOLD, highlighted by a major transaction to increase its stake in Donlin Gold and the reporting of a substantial M&I gold resource. While drill results are strong, the company remains in a high-expenditure development phase with ongoing permitting litigation.
Positive factors
- High-grade drill intercepts reported (up to 26.22 g/t Au)
- Significant M&I resource scale (40 Moz)
- Successful landmark transaction increasing ownership to 60%
- Strong cash position of $115.1 million
Negative factors
- Ongoing legal challenges regarding 401 Certification
- Development-stage company with net losses
Facts used in scoring: 5
Classification and evidence
Bonanza Interceptpositive
Exceptionally high-grade zone, well above the deposit-type norm.
Why it applies: Intercept of 26.22 g/t gold is exceptionally high grade.
Evidence · text
“standout intervals up to 26.22 g/t gold”
QA/QC Disclosedpositive
Release includes QA/QC disclosure — certified lab, QP sign-off, or stated methods (blanks, standards, duplicates).
Why it applies: The report mentions a data verification exercise by Wood and Geosyntec QPs including review of drill and assay data.
Evidence · text
“A data verification exercise was also completed by each Wood and Geosyntec QP co-authoring the report.”
Extracted facts
Stored fact records: 5. Some facts used in scoring do not have a stored record.
Drill Results (1)
Fact 1Donlin · goldGrade: 26.22Grade Unit: g/tNeeds review: drill_no_hole_idView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Donlin
- Commodity
- gold
- Region
- usa_ak
- Reported Region
- usa_ak
- Ticker
- NG
Geometry
- Grade
- 26.22
- Grade Unit
- g/t
Classification
- Program
- exploration
- Sample Type
- drill
QA/QC
- QA/QC Methods
- standards
Review
- Needs Review
- Yes
- Review Reason
- drill_no_hole_id
- Interp. Status
- scored
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2026-01-22T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: 26.22 g/t gold is an exceptional intercept for a large-scale project.
Positive factors
- Exceptional grade
Evidence · text
“standout intervals up to 26.22 g/t gold”
Tags used in scoring
No QA/QC Disclosurenegative
Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.
Why it applies: qaqc_disclosed is not true
Cut-off Undisclosednegative
High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.
Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated
Resource Estimates (4)
measuredgoldTonnes: 9000000Grade: 2.67Grade Unit: g/tView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Commodity
- gold
- Region
- usa_ak
- Reported Region
- Alaska
- Ticker
- NG
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- resource
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101, sec_sk1300
- QP Signed
- Yes
- Resource group id
- resource:2ec526c621611a922ab6
- Deposit or zone
- Donlin Gold
- Mining method
- combined
- Resource basis
- gross
Resource Data
- Category
- measured
- Tonnes
- 9000000
- Grade
- 2.67
- Grade Unit
- g/t
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2025-11-30
Review
- Needs Review
- No
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2026-01-22T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: Significant measured resource component.
Positive factors
- High grade for measured category
Evidence · text
“Measured Resources of approximately 9 Mt grading 2.67 g/t”
Tags used in scoring
Measured Resourcepositive
Highest confidence category — tonnage, grade, shape well-established from closely-spaced drilling. Basis for Proven Reserves.
Why it applies: category is "measured"
Cut-off Undisclosednegative
High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.
Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated
QP/CP Signedpositive
Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.
Why it applies: qp_signed is true
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
No Contained Metalnegative
Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.
Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported
No QP/CP Disclosurenegative
No Qualified Person or Competent Person named — lower credibility for the estimate. A QP/CP should be a member of a recognized professional association with relevant experience.
Why it applies: no Qualified or Competent Person is named anywhere in the release
Resource Updateneutral
Revised estimate for an existing resource — compare to prior to assess progress.
Why it applies: the release compares against a previous estimate
DFS-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
indicatedgoldTonnes: 551000000Grade: 2.21Grade Unit: g/tView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Commodity
- gold
- Region
- usa_ak
- Reported Region
- Alaska
- Ticker
- NG
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- resource
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101, sec_sk1300
- QP Signed
- Yes
- Resource group id
- resource:a65e8388243ebe296ee8
- Deposit or zone
- Donlin Gold
- Mining method
- combined
- Resource basis
- gross
Resource Data
- Category
- indicated
- Tonnes
- 551000000
- Grade
- 2.21
- Grade Unit
- g/t
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2025-11-30
Review
- Needs Review
- No
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2026-01-22T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: Very large indicated resource scale.
Positive factors
- Massive tonnage
Evidence · text
“Indicated Resources of approximately 551 Mt grading 2.21 g/t”
Tags used in scoring
Indicated Resourcepositive
Reasonable geological confidence based on adequate drilling; continuity can be assumed. Basis for Probable Reserves.
Why it applies: category is "indicated"
Cut-off Undisclosednegative
High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.
Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated
QP/CP Signedpositive
Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.
Why it applies: qp_signed is true
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
No Contained Metalnegative
Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.
Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported
No QP/CP Disclosurenegative
No Qualified Person or Competent Person named — lower credibility for the estimate. A QP/CP should be a member of a recognized professional association with relevant experience.
Why it applies: no Qualified or Competent Person is named anywhere in the release
Resource Updateneutral
Revised estimate for an existing resource — compare to prior to assess progress.
Why it applies: the release compares against a previous estimate
DFS-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
provengoldTonnes: 9000000Grade: 2.29Grade Unit: g/tView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Commodity
- gold
- Region
- usa_ak
- Reported Region
- Alaska
- Ticker
- NG
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- reserve
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101, sec_sk1300
- QP Signed
- Yes
- Resource group id
- resource:90d28d11437a3ca6ceb1
- Deposit or zone
- Donlin Gold
- Mining method
- combined
- Resource basis
- gross
Resource Data
- Category
- proven
- Tonnes
- 9000000
- Grade
- 2.29
- Grade Unit
- g/t
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2025-11-30
Review
- Needs Review
- No
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2026-01-22T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: Established proven reserves.
Positive factors
- Economic viability demonstrated
Evidence · text
“Proven Reserves of approximately 9 Mt grading 2.29 g/t”
Tags used in scoring
Proven Reservepositive
Measured Resource with demonstrated economic viability after applying modifying factors.
Why it applies: category is "proven"
Cut-off Undisclosednegative
High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.
Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated
QP/CP Signedpositive
Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.
Why it applies: qp_signed is true
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
No Contained Metalnegative
Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.
Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported
No QP/CP Disclosurenegative
No Qualified Person or Competent Person named — lower credibility for the estimate. A QP/CP should be a member of a recognized professional association with relevant experience.
Why it applies: no Qualified or Competent Person is named anywhere in the release
Resource Updateneutral
Revised estimate for an existing resource — compare to prior to assess progress.
Why it applies: the release compares against a previous estimate
DFS-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
probablegoldTonnes: 495000000Grade: 2.02Grade Unit: g/tView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Commodity
- gold
- Region
- usa_ak
- Reported Region
- Alaska
- Ticker
- NG
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- reserve
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101, sec_sk1300
- QP Signed
- Yes
- Resource group id
- resource:97628e26d33a6d036a6c
- Deposit or zone
- Donlin Gold
- Mining method
- combined
- Resource basis
- gross
Resource Data
- Category
- probable
- Tonnes
- 495000000
- Grade
- 2.02
- Grade Unit
- g/t
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2025-11-30
Review
- Needs Review
- No
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2026-01-22T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: Large scale probable reserves.
Positive factors
- Massive scale
Evidence · text
“Probable Reserves of approximately 495 Mt grading 2.02 g/t”
Tags used in scoring
Probable Reservepositive
Indicated Resource with demonstrated economic viability after applying modifying factors.
Why it applies: category is "probable"
Cut-off Undisclosednegative
High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.
Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated
QP/CP Signedpositive
Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.
Why it applies: qp_signed is true
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
No Contained Metalnegative
Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.
Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported
No QP/CP Disclosurenegative
No Qualified Person or Competent Person named — lower credibility for the estimate. A QP/CP should be a member of a recognized professional association with relevant experience.
Why it applies: no Qualified or Competent Person is named anywhere in the release
Resource Updateneutral
Revised estimate for an existing resource — compare to prior to assess progress.
Why it applies: the release compares against a previous estimate
DFS-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
How Atlas produces this analysis
Minestarters Atlas uses automated extraction to summarize mining announcements, identify reported measurements, and classify supporting evidence. Sentiment reflects the extracted narrative and classification rules; it is an interpretation, not a reported measurement. Evidence quotes and context are provided where available. Missing data, low-confidence results, and review flags indicate limitations. Check the original publisher announcement before relying on an interpretation.