NOVAGOLD Files First Quarter 2026 Report Highlighting Growing Momentum on Key Donlin Gold Workstreams

Original announcement by tmx on

Company
NOVAGOLD RESOURCES INC.
Ticker
NG
Exchange
TSX
Region
Alaska
Primary commodity
Gold
Secondary commodities
None reported
Document categories
Resource update
Extracted
2026-09-12 15:01:53 UTC

Analysis by Minestarters Atlas

Minestarters Atlas analysis

Summary

NOVAGOLD reported its Q1 2026 results, highlighting a strengthened balance sheet with ~$393 million in cash following an upsized private placement. The company is advancing the Donlin Gold Bankable Feasibility Study (BFS) with major engineering firms like Fluor, WSP, and Worley.

Reasoning: The report provides a quarterly update and restates the significant Donlin Gold resource to provide context for the BFS progress. While the resource figures are historical (from the 2025 Technical Report), the financial strength and BFS momentum are current.

Positive factors

  • High grade relative to industry average
  • Large scale resource
  • Strong balance sheet following private placement

Negative factors

  • Regulatory challenges in state court regarding water quality certification

Facts used in scoring: 4

Classification and evidence

Resource Updateneutral

Revised estimate for an existing resource — compare to prior to assess progress.

Why it applies: The document provides an update on the Donlin Gold project and restates its resource/reserve figures.

Evidence · text

“provided an update on its Tier One 1 gold development project, Donlin Gold”

Extracted facts

Stored fact records: 4. Some facts used in scoring do not have a stored record.

Resource Estimates (4)

measuredDonlin Gold · goldTonnes: 9000000Grade: 2.67Grade Unit: g/tHistorical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Donlin Gold
Commodity
gold
Region
usa_ak
Reported Region
Alaska
Ticker
NG

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Reporting standards
ni_43_101, sec_sk1300
Resource group id
resource:dc0bc90c002b793502b9
Deposit or zone
Donlin Gold
Ownership percent
100 %
Resource basis
gross

Resource Data

Category
measured
Tonnes
9000000
Grade
2.67
Grade Unit
g/t

Prior Estimate

Resource Date
2025-11-30

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Historical
Yes
Historical Source Date
2025-11-30T00:00:00.000Z

Dates

Event date
2026-04-01T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Restated measured resource from 2025 Technical Report.

Positive factors

  • High grade

Evidence · text

“Donlin Gold possesses Measured Resources of approximately 9 Mt grading 2.67 g/t”

Tags used in scoring

Measured Resourcepositive

Highest confidence category — tonnage, grade, shape well-established from closely-spaced drilling. Basis for Proven Reserves.

Why it applies: category is "measured"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

NI 43-101 Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

No QP/CP Disclosurenegative

No Qualified Person or Competent Person named — lower credibility for the estimate. A QP/CP should be a member of a recognized professional association with relevant experience.

Why it applies: no Qualified or Competent Person is named anywhere in the release

DFS-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

indicatedDonlin Gold · goldTonnes: 551000000Grade: 2.21Grade Unit: g/tHistorical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Donlin Gold
Commodity
gold
Region
usa_ak
Reported Region
Alaska
Ticker
NG

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Reporting standards
ni_43_101, sec_sk1300
Resource group id
resource:3115459b7a68bd73633c
Deposit or zone
Donlin Gold
Ownership percent
100 %
Resource basis
gross

Resource Data

Category
indicated
Tonnes
551000000
Grade
2.21
Grade Unit
g/t

Prior Estimate

Resource Date
2025-11-30

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Historical
Yes
Historical Source Date
2025-11-30T00:00:00.000Z

Dates

Event date
2026-04-01T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Restated indicated resource from 2025 Technical Report.

Positive factors

  • Large scale

Evidence · text

“Indicated Resources of approximately 551 Mt grading 2.21 g/t”

Tags used in scoring

Indicated Resourcepositive

Reasonable geological confidence based on adequate drilling; continuity can be assumed. Basis for Probable Reserves.

Why it applies: category is "indicated"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

NI 43-101 Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

No QP/CP Disclosurenegative

No Qualified Person or Competent Person named — lower credibility for the estimate. A QP/CP should be a member of a recognized professional association with relevant experience.

Why it applies: no Qualified or Competent Person is named anywhere in the release

DFS-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

provenDonlin Gold · goldTonnes: 9000000Grade: 2.29Grade Unit: g/tHistorical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Donlin Gold
Commodity
gold
Region
usa_ak
Reported Region
Alaska
Ticker
NG

Resource scope

Estimate type
reserve
Reporting standards
ni_43_101, sec_sk1300
Resource group id
resource:7a9da71287284985c273
Deposit or zone
Donlin Gold
Ownership percent
100 %
Resource basis
gross

Resource Data

Category
proven
Tonnes
9000000
Grade
2.29
Grade Unit
g/t

Prior Estimate

Resource Date
2025-11-30

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Historical
Yes
Historical Source Date
2025-11-30T00:00:00.000Z

Dates

Event date
2026-04-01T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Restated proven reserve from 2025 Technical Report.

Evidence · text

“Donlin Gold possesses Proven Reserves of approximately 9 Mt grading 2.29 g/t”

Tags used in scoring

Proven Reservepositive

Measured Resource with demonstrated economic viability after applying modifying factors.

Why it applies: category is "proven"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

NI 43-101 Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

No QP/CP Disclosurenegative

No Qualified Person or Competent Person named — lower credibility for the estimate. A QP/CP should be a member of a recognized professional association with relevant experience.

Why it applies: no Qualified or Competent Person is named anywhere in the release

DFS-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

probableDonlin Gold · goldTonnes: 495000000Grade: 2.02Grade Unit: g/tHistorical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Donlin Gold
Commodity
gold
Region
usa_ak
Reported Region
Alaska
Ticker
NG

Resource scope

Estimate type
reserve
Reporting standards
ni_43_101, sec_sk1300
Resource group id
resource:eb257f494348d5450c4c
Deposit or zone
Donlin Gold
Ownership percent
100 %
Resource basis
gross

Resource Data

Category
probable
Tonnes
495000000
Grade
2.02
Grade Unit
g/t

Prior Estimate

Resource Date
2025-11-30

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Historical
Yes
Historical Source Date
2025-11-30T00:00:00.000Z

Dates

Event date
2026-04-01T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Restated probable reserve from 2025 Technical Report.

Evidence · text

“Probable Reserves of approximately 495 Mt grading 2.02 g/t”

Tags used in scoring

Probable Reservepositive

Indicated Resource with demonstrated economic viability after applying modifying factors.

Why it applies: category is "probable"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

NI 43-101 Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

No QP/CP Disclosurenegative

No Qualified Person or Competent Person named — lower credibility for the estimate. A QP/CP should be a member of a recognized professional association with relevant experience.

Why it applies: no Qualified or Competent Person is named anywhere in the release

DFS-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

How Atlas produces this analysis

Minestarters Atlas uses automated extraction to summarize mining announcements, identify reported measurements, and classify supporting evidence. Sentiment reflects the extracted narrative and classification rules; it is an interpretation, not a reported measurement. Evidence quotes and context are provided where available. Missing data, low-confidence results, and review flags indicate limitations. Check the original publisher announcement before relying on an interpretation.