NOVAGOLD Files Third Quarter 2025 Report
Original announcement by tmx on
- Company
- NOVAGOLD RESOURCES INC.
- Ticker
- NG
- Exchange
- TSX
- Region
- Alaska
- Primary commodity
- Gold
- Secondary commodities
- None reported
- Document categories
- Resource update, Drill results, Other
- Extracted
- 2026-09-12 15:18:34 UTC
Analysis by Minestarters Atlas
Minestarters Atlas analysis
Summary
NOVAGOLD reported its Q3 2025 financial results, highlighted by the completion of a $1 billion acquisition to increase its stake in the Donlin Gold project to 60%. The company also reported high-grade drill results from its 2025 program and maintains a strong liquidity position of $125 million.
Reasoning: The report covers a transformative acquisition, successful capital raising, and significant drill results, though it also reports quarterly losses typical of a development-stage company.
Positive factors
- Successful $1 billion acquisition of additional interest in Donlin Gold
- Strong liquidity with $125 million in cash and term deposits
- High-grade drill intercepts up to 23.49 g/t gold
- Large scale resource: 39 million ounces M&I
Negative factors
- Net loss for the quarter of $15.6 million
- Increased funding obligations due to higher ownership stake
Facts used in scoring: 5
Classification and evidence
Bonanza Interceptpositive
Exceptionally high-grade zone, well above the deposit-type norm.
Why it applies: Intercept of 23.49 g/t gold is exceptionally high grade.
Evidence · text
“standout intervals containing up to 23.49 g/t gold”
QA/QC Disclosedpositive
Release includes QA/QC disclosure — certified lab, QP sign-off, or stated methods (blanks, standards, duplicates).
Why it applies: The release mentions the scientific and technical information was approved by a Qualified Person.
Evidence · text
“Paul Chilson, P.E., ... a Qualified Person under NI 43-101 and S-K 1300, has approved the scientific and technical information”
Extracted facts
Stored fact records: 5. Some facts used in scoring do not have a stored record.
Drill Results (1)
Fact 1Donlin · goldGrade: 23.49Grade Unit: g/tNeeds review: drill_no_hole_idView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Donlin
- Commodity
- gold
- Region
- usa_ak
- Reported Region
- usa_ak
- Ticker
- NG
Geometry
- Grade
- 23.49
- Grade Unit
- g/t
Classification
- Sample Type
- drill
Review
- Needs Review
- Yes
- Review Reason
- drill_no_hole_id
- Interp. Status
- scored
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2025-10-01T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: Intercept of 23.49 g/t gold is exceptionally high grade.
Positive factors
- Standout high-grade intercept
Evidence · text
“standout intervals containing up to 23.49 g/t gold”
Tags used in scoring
No QA/QC Disclosurenegative
Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.
Why it applies: qaqc_disclosed is not true
Cut-off Undisclosednegative
High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.
Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated
Resource Estimates (4)
measuredDonlin Gold · goldTonnes: 8000000Grade: 2.52Grade Unit: g/tView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Donlin Gold
- Commodity
- gold
- Region
- usa_ak
- Reported Region
- Alaska
- Ticker
- NG
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- resource
- Effective date
- 2021-06-01T00:00:00.000Z
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101, sec_sk1300
- Resource group id
- resource:1127c85b98ca95b36292
- Mining method
- combined
- Ownership percent
- 100 %
- Resource basis
- gross
Resource Data
- Category
- measured
- Tonnes
- 8000000
- Grade
- 2.52
- Grade Unit
- g/t
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2021-06-01
Review
- Needs Review
- No
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2025-10-01T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: Measured resource component of the total project resource.
Positive factors
- High grade for measured category
Evidence · text
“Donlin Gold possesses Measured Resources of approximately 8 Mt grading 2.52 g/t”
Tags used in scoring
Measured Resourcepositive
Highest confidence category — tonnage, grade, shape well-established from closely-spaced drilling. Basis for Proven Reserves.
Why it applies: category is "measured"
Cut-off Undisclosednegative
High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.
Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
No Contained Metalnegative
Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.
Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported
DFS-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
Stale Estimatenegative
Effective date is >2 years old — data currency concern, may not reflect current geological understanding.
Why it applies: effective date is 4.3 years before this release
indicatedDonlin Gold · goldTonnes: 534000000Grade: 2.24Grade Unit: g/tView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Donlin Gold
- Commodity
- gold
- Region
- usa_ak
- Reported Region
- Alaska
- Ticker
- NG
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- resource
- Effective date
- 2021-06-01T00:00:00.000Z
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101, sec_sk1300
- Resource group id
- resource:da1cff2c7f994410cd17
- Mining method
- combined
- Ownership percent
- 100 %
- Resource basis
- gross
Resource Data
- Category
- indicated
- Tonnes
- 534000000
- Grade
- 2.24
- Grade Unit
- g/t
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2021-06-01
Review
- Needs Review
- No
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2025-10-01T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: Indicated resource component of the total project resource.
Positive factors
- Large scale indicated resource
Evidence · text
“Indicated Resources of approximately 534 Mt grading 2.24 g/t”
Tags used in scoring
Indicated Resourcepositive
Reasonable geological confidence based on adequate drilling; continuity can be assumed. Basis for Probable Reserves.
Why it applies: category is "indicated"
Cut-off Undisclosednegative
High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.
Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
No Contained Metalnegative
Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.
Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported
DFS-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
Stale Estimatenegative
Effective date is >2 years old — data currency concern, may not reflect current geological understanding.
Why it applies: effective date is 4.3 years before this release
provenDonlin Gold · goldTonnes: 8000000Grade: 2.32Grade Unit: g/tView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Donlin Gold
- Commodity
- gold
- Region
- usa_ak
- Reported Region
- Alaska
- Ticker
- NG
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- reserve
- Effective date
- 2021-06-01T00:00:00.000Z
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101, sec_sk1300
- Resource group id
- resource:3a9c81e213363f9f9987
- Mining method
- combined
- Ownership percent
- 100 %
- Resource basis
- gross
Resource Data
- Category
- proven
- Tonnes
- 8000000
- Grade
- 2.32
- Grade Unit
- g/t
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2021-06-01
Review
- Needs Review
- No
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2025-10-01T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: Proven reserve component of the total project reserves.
Positive factors
- Proven reserves established
Evidence · text
“Donlin Gold possesses Proven Reserves of approximately 8 Mt grading 2.32 g/t”
Tags used in scoring
Proven Reservepositive
Measured Resource with demonstrated economic viability after applying modifying factors.
Why it applies: category is "proven"
Cut-off Undisclosednegative
High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.
Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
No Contained Metalnegative
Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.
Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported
DFS-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
Stale Estimatenegative
Effective date is >2 years old — data currency concern, may not reflect current geological understanding.
Why it applies: effective date is 4.3 years before this release
probableDonlin Gold · goldTonnes: 497000000Grade: 2.08Grade Unit: g/tView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Donlin Gold
- Commodity
- gold
- Region
- usa_ak
- Reported Region
- Alaska
- Ticker
- NG
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- reserve
- Effective date
- 2021-06-01T00:00:00.000Z
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101, sec_sk1300
- Resource group id
- resource:99d5663bead5af92efa5
- Mining method
- combined
- Ownership percent
- 100 %
- Resource basis
- gross
Resource Data
- Category
- probable
- Tonnes
- 497000000
- Grade
- 2.08
- Grade Unit
- g/t
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2021-06-01
Review
- Needs Review
- No
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2025-10-01T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: Probable reserve component of the total project reserves.
Positive factors
- Large scale probable reserves
Evidence · text
“Probable Reserves of approximately 497 Mt grading 2.08 g/t”
Tags used in scoring
Probable Reservepositive
Indicated Resource with demonstrated economic viability after applying modifying factors.
Why it applies: category is "probable"
Cut-off Undisclosednegative
High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.
Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
No Contained Metalnegative
Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.
Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported
DFS-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
Stale Estimatenegative
Effective date is >2 years old — data currency concern, may not reflect current geological understanding.
Why it applies: effective date is 4.3 years before this release
How Atlas produces this analysis
Minestarters Atlas uses automated extraction to summarize mining announcements, identify reported measurements, and classify supporting evidence. Sentiment reflects the extracted narrative and classification rules; it is an interpretation, not a reported measurement. Evidence quotes and context are provided where available. Missing data, low-confidence results, and review flags indicate limitations. Check the original publisher announcement before relying on an interpretation.