NOVAGOLD & Paulson Select Fluor as Donlin Gold's Partner to Lead Bankable Feasibility Study
Original announcement by tmx on
- Company
- NOVAGOLD RESOURCES INC.
- Ticker
- NG
- Exchange
- TSX
- Region
- Alaska
- Primary commodity
- Gold
- Secondary commodities
- None reported
- Document categories
- Resource update, Agreement transaction
- Extracted
- 2026-09-12 15:08:23 UTC
Analysis by Minestarters Atlas
Minestarters Atlas analysis
Summary
NOVAGOLD and Paulson have selected Fluor Corporation to lead the Bankable Feasibility Study (BFS) for the Donlin Gold project in Alaska, with completion expected in 2027. The project is a large-scale gold deposit with approximately 40 million ounces of gold in Measured and Indicated resources.
Reasoning: The appointment of Fluor to lead the Bankable Feasibility Study (BFS) is a major de-risking milestone for the Donlin Gold project, moving it closer to development.
Positive factors
- Selection of top-tier engineering firm Fluor to lead BFS
- Project advancing toward financing and development
- Large-scale resource and reserve base confirmed
Facts used in scoring: 4
Classification and evidence
Resource Updateneutral
Revised estimate for an existing resource — compare to prior to assess progress.
Why it applies: The document provides detailed breakdown of Measured, Indicated, Proven, and Probable resource/reserve categories for Donlin Gold.
Evidence · text
“Donlin Gold possesses Measured Resources of approximately 9 Mt grading 2.67 g/t”
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: The resource estimate is explicitly stated to be prepared in accordance with NI 43-101.
Evidence · text
“Mineral Reserve and Resources have been estimated in accordance with NI 43-101”
Extracted facts
Stored fact records: 4. Some facts used in scoring do not have a stored record.
Resource Estimates (4)
measuredDonlin Gold · goldTonnes: 9000000Grade: 2.67Grade Unit: g/tView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Donlin Gold
- Commodity
- gold
- Region
- usa_ak
- Reported Region
- Alaska
- Ticker
- NG
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- resource
- Effective date
- 2025-11-30T00:00:00.000Z
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101, sec_sk1300
- Resource group id
- resource:4d31efa067787c2058a6
- Deposit or zone
- Donlin Gold
- Mining method
- open_pit
- Resource basis
- gross
Resource Data
- Category
- measured
- Tonnes
- 9000000
- Grade
- 2.67
- Grade Unit
- g/t
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2025-11-30
Review
- Needs Review
- No
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2026-02-09T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: Measured resource component of the Donlin Gold project.
Positive factors
- High grade for measured category
Evidence · text
“Donlin Gold possesses Measured Resources of approximately 9 Mt grading 2.67 g/t”
Tags used in scoring
Measured Resourcepositive
Highest confidence category — tonnage, grade, shape well-established from closely-spaced drilling. Basis for Proven Reserves.
Why it applies: category is "measured"
Cut-off Undisclosednegative
High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.
Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
No Contained Metalnegative
Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.
Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported
No QP/CP Disclosurenegative
No Qualified Person or Competent Person named — lower credibility for the estimate. A QP/CP should be a member of a recognized professional association with relevant experience.
Why it applies: no Qualified or Competent Person is named anywhere in the release
DFS-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
indicatedDonlin Gold · goldTonnes: 551000000Grade: 2.21Grade Unit: g/tView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Donlin Gold
- Commodity
- gold
- Region
- usa_ak
- Reported Region
- Alaska
- Ticker
- NG
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- resource
- Effective date
- 2025-11-30T00:00:00.000Z
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101, sec_sk1300
- Resource group id
- resource:7da62f083f6f7dfc498d
- Deposit or zone
- Donlin Gold
- Mining method
- open_pit
- Resource basis
- gross
Resource Data
- Category
- indicated
- Tonnes
- 551000000
- Grade
- 2.21
- Grade Unit
- g/t
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2025-11-30
Review
- Needs Review
- No
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2026-02-09T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: Indicated resource component of the Donlin Gold project.
Positive factors
- Large tonnage indicated resource
Evidence · text
“Indicated Resources of approximately 551 Mt grading 2.21 g/t”
Tags used in scoring
Indicated Resourcepositive
Reasonable geological confidence based on adequate drilling; continuity can be assumed. Basis for Probable Reserves.
Why it applies: category is "indicated"
Cut-off Undisclosednegative
High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.
Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
No Contained Metalnegative
Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.
Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported
No QP/CP Disclosurenegative
No Qualified Person or Competent Person named — lower credibility for the estimate. A QP/CP should be a member of a recognized professional association with relevant experience.
Why it applies: no Qualified or Competent Person is named anywhere in the release
DFS-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
provenDonlin Gold · goldTonnes: 9000000Grade: 2.29Grade Unit: g/tView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Donlin Gold
- Commodity
- gold
- Region
- usa_ak
- Reported Region
- Alaska
- Ticker
- NG
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- reserve
- Effective date
- 2025-11-30T00:00:00.000Z
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101, sec_sk1300
- Resource group id
- resource:03b739a357069d5c4d2e
- Deposit or zone
- Donlin Gold
- Mining method
- open_pit
- Resource basis
- gross
Resource Data
- Category
- proven
- Tonnes
- 9000000
- Grade
- 2.29
- Grade Unit
- g/t
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2025-11-30
Review
- Needs Review
- No
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2026-02-09T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: Proven reserve component of the Donlin Gold project.
Positive factors
- Proven reserve status
Evidence · text
“Donlin Gold possesses Proven Reserves of approximately 9 Mt grading 2.29 g/t”
Tags used in scoring
Proven Reservepositive
Measured Resource with demonstrated economic viability after applying modifying factors.
Why it applies: category is "proven"
Cut-off Undisclosednegative
High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.
Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
No Contained Metalnegative
Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.
Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported
No QP/CP Disclosurenegative
No Qualified Person or Competent Person named — lower credibility for the estimate. A QP/CP should be a member of a recognized professional association with relevant experience.
Why it applies: no Qualified or Competent Person is named anywhere in the release
DFS-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
probableDonlin Gold · goldTonnes: 495000000Grade: 2.02Grade Unit: g/tView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Donlin Gold
- Commodity
- gold
- Region
- usa_ak
- Reported Region
- Alaska
- Ticker
- NG
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- reserve
- Effective date
- 2025-11-30T00:00:00.000Z
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101, sec_sk1300
- Resource group id
- resource:62f9ab6d83e14b122dec
- Deposit or zone
- Donlin Gold
- Mining method
- open_pit
- Resource basis
- gross
Resource Data
- Category
- probable
- Tonnes
- 495000000
- Grade
- 2.02
- Grade Unit
- g/t
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2025-11-30
Review
- Needs Review
- No
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2026-02-09T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: Probable reserve component of the Donlin Gold project.
Positive factors
- Large tonnage probable reserve
Evidence · text
“Probable Reserves of approximately 495 Mt grading 2.02 g/t”
Tags used in scoring
Probable Reservepositive
Indicated Resource with demonstrated economic viability after applying modifying factors.
Why it applies: category is "probable"
Cut-off Undisclosednegative
High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.
Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
No Contained Metalnegative
Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.
Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported
No QP/CP Disclosurenegative
No Qualified Person or Competent Person named — lower credibility for the estimate. A QP/CP should be a member of a recognized professional association with relevant experience.
Why it applies: no Qualified or Competent Person is named anywhere in the release
DFS-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
How Atlas produces this analysis
Minestarters Atlas uses automated extraction to summarize mining announcements, identify reported measurements, and classify supporting evidence. Sentiment reflects the extracted narrative and classification rules; it is an interpretation, not a reported measurement. Evidence quotes and context are provided where available. Missing data, low-confidence results, and review flags indicate limitations. Check the original publisher announcement before relying on an interpretation.