NOVAGOLD Releases 2025 Sustainability Report
Original announcement by tmx on
- Company
- NOVAGOLD RESOURCES INC.
- Ticker
- NG
- Exchange
- TSX
- Region
- Alaska
- Primary commodity
- Gold
- Secondary commodities
- None reported
- Document categories
- Resource update, Other
- Extracted
- 2026-09-12 14:54:41 UTC
Analysis by Minestarters Atlas
Minestarters Atlas analysis
Summary
NOVAGOLD has released its 2025 Sustainability Report, detailing its ESG performance and commitment to the Donlin Gold project in Alaska. The report highlights alignment with international disclosure frameworks like TCFD and GRI.
Reasoning: Routine corporate disclosure of an ESG report; contains historical resource data as context but no new geological or metallurgical results.
Positive factors
- Publication of annual sustainability report
- Alignment with TCFD, TNFD, and GRI standards
Facts used in scoring: 5
Classification and evidence
Stale Data Re-releasenegative · Story-specific tag
Historical results re-announced with no new assays or reinterpretation — low genuine novelty.
Why it applies: The document contains resource and reserve figures that are historical restatements from a November 2025 Technical Report.
Evidence · text
“Donlin Gold data as per the report titled “NI 43-101 Technical Report on the Donlin Gold project, Alaska, USA” with an effective date of November 30, 2025”
Extracted facts
Stored fact records: 5. Some facts used in scoring do not have a stored record.
Resource Estimates (5)
indicatedDonlin Gold · goldTonnes: 560000000Grade: 2.22Grade Unit: g/tHistorical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Donlin Gold
- Commodity
- gold
- Region
- usa_ak
- Reported Region
- Alaska
- Ticker
- NG
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- resource
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101
- Resource group id
- resource:75fe1dc6e3baefe5e51d
Resource Data
- Category
- indicated
- Tonnes
- 560000000
- Grade
- 2.22
- Grade Unit
- g/t
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2025-11-30
Review
- Needs Review
- Yes
- Review Reason
- historical_restatement
- Historical
- Yes
- Historical Source Date
- 2025-11-30T00:00:00.000Z
Dates
- Event date
- 2026-05-13T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: Historical resource data provided for context; not new results.
Positive factors
- Large scale resource
Evidence · text
“560 million tonnes at an average grade of approximately 2.22 grams per tonne, in the Measured and Indicated Mineral Resource categories on a 100% basis”
Tags used in scoring
Indicated Resourcepositive
Reasonable geological confidence based on adequate drilling; continuity can be assumed. Basis for Probable Reserves.
Why it applies: category is "indicated"
Cut-off Undisclosednegative
High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.
Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
No Contained Metalnegative
Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.
Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported
No QP/CP Disclosurenegative
No Qualified Person or Competent Person named — lower credibility for the estimate. A QP/CP should be a member of a recognized professional association with relevant experience.
Why it applies: no Qualified or Competent Person is named anywhere in the release
DFS-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
measuredDonlin Gold · goldTonnes: 9000000Grade: 2.67Grade Unit: g/tHistorical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Donlin Gold
- Commodity
- gold
- Region
- usa_ak
- Reported Region
- Alaska
- Ticker
- NG
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- resource
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101
- Resource group id
- resource:b390155df921900569fe
Resource Data
- Category
- measured
- Tonnes
- 9000000
- Grade
- 2.67
- Grade Unit
- g/t
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2025-11-30
Review
- Needs Review
- Yes
- Review Reason
- historical_restatement
- Historical
- Yes
- Historical Source Date
- 2025-11-30T00:00:00.000Z
Dates
- Event date
- 2026-05-13T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: Historical resource data provided for context; not new results.
Positive factors
- High grade for measured category
Evidence · text
“Donlin Gold possesses Measured Resources of approximately 9 Mt grading 2.67 g/t”
Tags used in scoring
Measured Resourcepositive
Highest confidence category — tonnage, grade, shape well-established from closely-spaced drilling. Basis for Proven Reserves.
Why it applies: category is "measured"
Cut-off Undisclosednegative
High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.
Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
No Contained Metalnegative
Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.
Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported
No QP/CP Disclosurenegative
No Qualified Person or Competent Person named — lower credibility for the estimate. A QP/CP should be a member of a recognized professional association with relevant experience.
Why it applies: no Qualified or Competent Person is named anywhere in the release
DFS-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
indicatedDonlin Gold · goldTonnes: 551000000Grade: 2.21Grade Unit: g/tHistorical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Donlin Gold
- Commodity
- gold
- Region
- usa_ak
- Reported Region
- Alaska
- Ticker
- NG
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- resource
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101
- Resource group id
- resource:cefe0d778fd2efe2b6de
Resource Data
- Category
- indicated
- Tonnes
- 551000000
- Grade
- 2.21
- Grade Unit
- g/t
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2025-11-30
Review
- Needs Review
- Yes
- Review Reason
- historical_restatement
- Historical
- Yes
- Historical Source Date
- 2025-11-30T00:00:00.000Z
Dates
- Event date
- 2026-05-13T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: Historical resource data provided for context; not new results.
Positive factors
- Significant tonnage
Evidence · text
“Indicated Resources of approximately 551 Mt grading 2.21 g/t”
Tags used in scoring
Indicated Resourcepositive
Reasonable geological confidence based on adequate drilling; continuity can be assumed. Basis for Probable Reserves.
Why it applies: category is "indicated"
Cut-off Undisclosednegative
High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.
Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
No Contained Metalnegative
Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.
Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported
No QP/CP Disclosurenegative
No Qualified Person or Competent Person named — lower credibility for the estimate. A QP/CP should be a member of a recognized professional association with relevant experience.
Why it applies: no Qualified or Competent Person is named anywhere in the release
DFS-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
provenDonlin Gold · goldTonnes: 9000000Grade: 2.29Grade Unit: g/tHistorical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Donlin Gold
- Commodity
- gold
- Region
- usa_ak
- Reported Region
- Alaska
- Ticker
- NG
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- reserve
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101
- Resource group id
- resource:fdabf19a2d11c79686bc
Resource Data
- Category
- proven
- Tonnes
- 9000000
- Grade
- 2.29
- Grade Unit
- g/t
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2025-11-30
Review
- Needs Review
- Yes
- Review Reason
- historical_restatement
- Historical
- Yes
- Historical Source Date
- 2025-11-30T00:00:00.000Z
Dates
- Event date
- 2026-05-13T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: Historical reserve data provided for context; not new results.
Positive factors
- Proven reserve status
Evidence · text
“Donlin Gold possesses Proven Reserves of approximately 9 Mt grading 2.29 g/t”
Tags used in scoring
Proven Reservepositive
Measured Resource with demonstrated economic viability after applying modifying factors.
Why it applies: category is "proven"
Cut-off Undisclosednegative
High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.
Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
No Contained Metalnegative
Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.
Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported
No QP/CP Disclosurenegative
No Qualified Person or Competent Person named — lower credibility for the estimate. A QP/CP should be a member of a recognized professional association with relevant experience.
Why it applies: no Qualified or Competent Person is named anywhere in the release
DFS-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
probableDonlin Gold · goldTonnes: 495000000Grade: 2.02Grade Unit: g/tHistorical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Donlin Gold
- Commodity
- gold
- Region
- usa_ak
- Reported Region
- Alaska
- Ticker
- NG
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- reserve
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101
- Resource group id
- resource:9d455d2208ed7c7cc7fd
Resource Data
- Category
- probable
- Tonnes
- 495000000
- Grade
- 2.02
- Grade Unit
- g/t
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2025-11-30
Review
- Needs Review
- Yes
- Review Reason
- historical_restatement
- Historical
- Yes
- Historical Source Date
- 2025-11-30T00:00:00.000Z
Dates
- Event date
- 2026-05-13T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: Historical reserve data provided for context; not new results.
Positive factors
- Large scale probable reserve
Evidence · text
“Probable Reserves of approximately 495 Mt grading 2.02 g/t”
Tags used in scoring
Probable Reservepositive
Indicated Resource with demonstrated economic viability after applying modifying factors.
Why it applies: category is "probable"
Cut-off Undisclosednegative
High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.
Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
No Contained Metalnegative
Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.
Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported
No QP/CP Disclosurenegative
No Qualified Person or Competent Person named — lower credibility for the estimate. A QP/CP should be a member of a recognized professional association with relevant experience.
Why it applies: no Qualified or Competent Person is named anywhere in the release
DFS-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
How Atlas produces this analysis
Minestarters Atlas uses automated extraction to summarize mining announcements, identify reported measurements, and classify supporting evidence. Sentiment reflects the extracted narrative and classification rules; it is an interpretation, not a reported measurement. Evidence quotes and context are provided where available. Missing data, low-confidence results, and review flags indicate limitations. Check the original publisher announcement before relying on an interpretation.