OCEANIC PROVIDES UPDATE ON ADVANCEMENT OF HOPES ADVANCE PROJECT
Original announcement by tmx on
- Company
- Oceanic Iron Ore Corp.
- Ticker
- FEO
- Exchange
- TSX
- Region
- Northern Québec, Canada
- Primary commodity
- Iron ore
- Secondary commodities
- None reported
- Document categories
- Resource update, Other
- Extracted
- 2026-09-12 05:29:38 UTC
Analysis by Minestarters Atlas
Minestarters Atlas analysis
Summary
Oceanic Iron Ore Corp. provides an update on its Hopes Advance Project in Northern Québec, Canada, highlighting its world-class iron ore development potential. The project boasts a large Measured and Indicated mineral resource of over 1.3 billion tonnes at 32.1% Fe, with an effective date of December 2019. A Preliminary Economic Assessment (PEA) outlines robust post-tax economics, including an NPV8 of $1.4 billion and an IRR of 17%, driven by a "no-rail" advantage and high-grade concentrate production.
Reasoning: The announcement provides an update on a large-scale iron ore project with robust preliminary economics, supported by a significant Measured and Indicated resource, despite the resource estimate being from 2019.
Positive factors
- Large Measured & Indicated resource
- Robust PEA economics (NPV, IRR)
- "No Rail" advantage reducing costs
- High-grade concentrate
- Long mine life
- QP/CP signed off on MRE
Negative factors
- MRE effective date is 2019, which is somewhat stale
- PEA is a preliminary study, not a definitive one
Facts used in scoring: 4
Classification and evidence
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: The mineral resource estimate is stated to be compliant with National Instrument 43-101.
Evidence · text
“National Instrument 43-101 (" NI 43-101 ") Preliminary Economic Assessment”
QP/CP Signedpositive
Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.
Why it applies: The technical information and mineral resource estimates have been reviewed and approved by a Qualified Person, Eddy Canova.
Evidence · text
“The technical information contained in this news release has been reviewed and approved by Eddy Canova, director of Exploration of the Company, a Qualified Person as defined by NI 43-101”
Measured Resourcepositive
Highest confidence category — tonnage, grade, shape well-established from closely-spaced drilling. Basis for Proven Reserves.
Why it applies: The resource estimate includes a Measured category of 774,241,000 tonnes.
Evidence · table
“Measured”
Context: 774,241
Indicated Resourcepositive
Reasonable geological confidence based on adequate drilling; continuity can be assumed. Basis for Probable Reserves.
Why it applies: The resource estimate includes an Indicated category of 613,796,000 tonnes.
Evidence · table
“Indicated”
Context: 613,796
Inferred Resourcenegative
Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.
Why it applies: The resource estimate includes an Inferred category of 222,188,000 tonnes.
Evidence · table
“Inferred”
Context: 222,188
Resource Updateneutral
Revised estimate for an existing resource — compare to prior to assess progress.
Why it applies: The document provides an update on the Hopes Advance Project, including a mineral resource estimate.
Evidence · text
“OCEANIC PROVIDES UPDATE ON ADVANCEMENT OF HOPES ADVANCE PROJECT”
PEA-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.
Why it applies: The resource estimate and project details are presented in the context of a Preliminary Economic Assessment (PEA Study).
Evidence · text
“Preliminary Economic Assessment (the " PEA Study ")”
Stale Estimatenegative
Effective date is >2 years old — data currency concern, may not reflect current geological understanding.
Why it applies: The effective date of the Mineral Resource Estimate is December 19, 2019, which is over two years old compared to the August 2025 announcement date.
Evidence · text
“The effective date of the Mineral Resource Estimate is December 19, 2019.”
High Grade Concentratepositive · Story-specific tag
No canonical definition is currently available.
Why it applies: The PEA study indicates a concentrate grade of 66.6% Fe, which is high for iron ore.
Evidence · table
“66.6”
Context: Concentrate Grade
Open Pit Miningneutral · Story-specific tag
No canonical definition is currently available.
Why it applies: Mineral Resources are reported assuming open pit mining methods.
Evidence · text
“Mineral Resources are reported assuming open pit mining methods.”
Extracted facts
Stored fact records: 4. Some facts used in scoring do not have a stored record.
Resource Estimates (4)
measuredHopes Advance Project · iron_oreTonnes: 774241000Grade: 32.2Grade Unit: %View all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Hopes Advance Project
- Commodity
- iron_ore
- Region
- canada_qc
- Reported Region
- Northern Québec, Canada
- Ticker
- FEO
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- resource
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101
- QP Signed
- Yes
- Qualified person names
- Eddy Canova
- Resource group id
- resource:e2d05d7d01e5fa7336d1
- Deposit or zone
- Hopes Advance – All 10 Deposits
- Mining method
- open_pit
- Ownership percent
- 100 %
Resource Data
- Category
- measured
- Tonnes
- 774241000
- Grade
- 32.2
- Grade Unit
- %
- Cutoff Grade
- 25
- Cutoff Unit
- % Fe
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2019-12-19
Review
- Needs Review
- No
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2025-08-25T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: The Measured resource category represents the highest level of geological confidence and contributes significantly to the project's overall scale, despite the estimate being from 2019.
Positive factors
- High confidence Measured resource
- Large tonnage
Negative factors
- Estimate effective date is stale
Evidence · table
“774,241”
Context: Measured
Tags used in scoring
Measured Resourcepositive
Highest confidence category — tonnage, grade, shape well-established from closely-spaced drilling. Basis for Proven Reserves.
Why it applies: category is "measured"
Cut-off Disclosedpositive
Cut-off grade used for resource reporting is clearly stated, enabling like-for-like comparison.
Why it applies: cutoff_grade is stated
QP/CP Signedpositive
Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.
Why it applies: qp_signed is true
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
No Contained Metalnegative
Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.
Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported
PEA-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
PFS-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Pre-Feasibility Study — requires adequate M&I component.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
DFS-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
Stale Estimatenegative
Effective date is >2 years old — data currency concern, may not reflect current geological understanding.
Why it applies: effective date is 5.7 years before this release
indicatedHopes Advance Project · iron_oreTonnes: 613796000Grade: 32Grade Unit: %View all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Hopes Advance Project
- Commodity
- iron_ore
- Region
- canada_qc
- Reported Region
- Northern Québec, Canada
- Ticker
- FEO
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- resource
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101
- QP Signed
- Yes
- Qualified person names
- Eddy Canova
- Resource group id
- resource:ca9cdc90722cd88e647c
- Deposit or zone
- Hopes Advance – All 10 Deposits
- Mining method
- open_pit
- Ownership percent
- 100 %
Resource Data
- Category
- indicated
- Tonnes
- 613796000
- Grade
- 32
- Grade Unit
- %
- Cutoff Grade
- 25
- Cutoff Unit
- % Fe
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2019-12-19
Review
- Needs Review
- No
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2025-08-25T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: The Indicated resource category provides a strong level of geological confidence and adds substantial tonnage to the project, supporting future studies.
Positive factors
- High confidence Indicated resource
- Large tonnage
Negative factors
- Estimate effective date is stale
Evidence · table
“613,796”
Context: Indicated
Tags used in scoring
Indicated Resourcepositive
Reasonable geological confidence based on adequate drilling; continuity can be assumed. Basis for Probable Reserves.
Why it applies: category is "indicated"
Cut-off Disclosedpositive
Cut-off grade used for resource reporting is clearly stated, enabling like-for-like comparison.
Why it applies: cutoff_grade is stated
QP/CP Signedpositive
Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.
Why it applies: qp_signed is true
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
No Contained Metalnegative
Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.
Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported
PEA-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
PFS-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Pre-Feasibility Study — requires adequate M&I component.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
DFS-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
Stale Estimatenegative
Effective date is >2 years old — data currency concern, may not reflect current geological understanding.
Why it applies: effective date is 5.7 years before this release
indicatedHopes Advance Project · iron_oreTonnes: 1388037000Grade: 32.1Grade Unit: %View all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Hopes Advance Project
- Commodity
- iron_ore
- Region
- canada_qc
- Reported Region
- Northern Québec, Canada
- Ticker
- FEO
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- resource
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101
- QP Signed
- Yes
- Qualified person names
- Eddy Canova
- Resource group id
- resource:d21a4ff6d2bbe3817c97
- Deposit or zone
- Hopes Advance – All 10 Deposits
- Mining method
- open_pit
- Ownership percent
- 100 %
Resource Data
- Category
- indicated
- Tonnes
- 1388037000
- Grade
- 32.1
- Grade Unit
- %
- Cutoff Grade
- 25
- Cutoff Unit
- % Fe
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2019-12-19
Review
- Needs Review
- No
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2025-08-25T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: The combined Measured & Indicated resource of over 1.3 billion tonnes provides a very strong foundation for the project, indicating high geological confidence and significant scale.
Positive factors
- Very large combined Measured & Indicated resource
- High confidence for project development
Negative factors
- Estimate effective date is stale
Evidence · table
“1,388,037”
Context: Measured & Indicated
Tags used in scoring
Indicated Resourcepositive
Reasonable geological confidence based on adequate drilling; continuity can be assumed. Basis for Probable Reserves.
Why it applies: category is "indicated"
Cut-off Disclosedpositive
Cut-off grade used for resource reporting is clearly stated, enabling like-for-like comparison.
Why it applies: cutoff_grade is stated
QP/CP Signedpositive
Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.
Why it applies: qp_signed is true
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
No Contained Metalnegative
Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.
Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported
PEA-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
PFS-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Pre-Feasibility Study — requires adequate M&I component.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
DFS-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
Stale Estimatenegative
Effective date is >2 years old — data currency concern, may not reflect current geological understanding.
Why it applies: effective date is 5.7 years before this release
inferredHopes Advance Project · iron_oreTonnes: 222188000Grade: 32.5Grade Unit: %View all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Hopes Advance Project
- Commodity
- iron_ore
- Region
- canada_qc
- Reported Region
- Northern Québec, Canada
- Ticker
- FEO
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- resource
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101
- QP Signed
- Yes
- Qualified person names
- Eddy Canova
- Resource group id
- resource:d2ec8fdf3e1e39e1f2db
- Deposit or zone
- Hopes Advance – All 10 Deposits
- Mining method
- open_pit
- Ownership percent
- 100 %
Resource Data
- Category
- inferred
- Tonnes
- 222188000
- Grade
- 32.5
- Grade Unit
- %
- Cutoff Grade
- 25
- Cutoff Unit
- % Fe
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2019-12-19
Review
- Needs Review
- No
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2025-08-25T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: The Inferred resource provides additional tonnage but carries the lowest level of geological confidence, requiring further drilling to upgrade.
Positive factors
- Adds to overall resource potential
Negative factors
- Lowest confidence category
- Estimate effective date is stale
Evidence · table
“222,188”
Context: Inferred
Tags used in scoring
Inferred Resourcenegative
Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.
Why it applies: category is "inferred"
Cut-off Disclosedpositive
Cut-off grade used for resource reporting is clearly stated, enabling like-for-like comparison.
Why it applies: cutoff_grade is stated
QP/CP Signedpositive
Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.
Why it applies: qp_signed is true
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
No Contained Metalnegative
Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.
Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported
PEA-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
PFS-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Pre-Feasibility Study — requires adequate M&I component.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
DFS-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
Stale Estimatenegative
Effective date is >2 years old — data currency concern, may not reflect current geological understanding.
Why it applies: effective date is 5.7 years before this release
How Atlas produces this analysis
Minestarters Atlas uses automated extraction to summarize mining announcements, identify reported measurements, and classify supporting evidence. Sentiment reflects the extracted narrative and classification rules; it is an interpretation, not a reported measurement. Evidence quotes and context are provided where available. Missing data, low-confidence results, and review flags indicate limitations. Check the original publisher announcement before relying on an interpretation.