Opawica Explorations Intersects a 60 Meter Mineralized Zone at its Bazooka Property in the Abitibi Gold Belt
Original announcement by tmx on
- Company
- Opawica Explorations Inc.
- Ticker
- OPW
- Exchange
- TSX
- Region
- Abitibi Gold Belt, Québec
- Primary commodity
- Gold
- Secondary commodities
- Nickel, Chromium, Arsenic
- Document categories
- Drill results
- Extracted
- 2026-09-18 15:15:50 UTC
Analysis by Minestarters Atlas
Minestarters Atlas analysis
Summary
Opawica Explorations has intersected a 60-metre mineralized zone at its Bazooka Property in the Abitibi Gold Belt. While certified assay results are pending, XRF point readings indicate gold, nickel, and chromium mineralization within the interval.
Reasoning: The company reports a significant 60m mineralized interval with high XRF gold readings, but the lack of certified assay values limits the immediate technical confidence.
Positive factors
- Broad 60m mineralized zone intersected
- Visible gold and arsenopyrite noted
- High XRF gold readings (up to 234 ppm) in mineralized zones
Negative factors
- Results are XRF point readings only, not certified assays
- Assay results are still pending
Low confidence — this extraction should be reviewed alongside the original source.
Facts used in scoring: 4
Classification and evidence
QA/QC Disclosedpositive
Release includes QA/QC disclosure — certified lab, QP sign-off, or stated methods (blanks, standards, duplicates).
Why it applies: Release mentions ALS Chemex lab (ISO/IEC 17025 accredited) and QP sign-off by Yvan Bussieres, P.Eng.
Evidence · text
“Assay core samples are being analysed at ALS Chemex lab of Rouyn-Noranda... (an ISO/IEC 17025:2005 accredited facility).”
No QA/QC Disclosurenegative
Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.
Why it applies: The headline grades are XRF point readings, which are not certified assays.
Evidence · text
“We note the results only provide an indication of the amount of minerals present. Certified assaying of the core samples is required”
Extracted facts
Stored fact records: 4. Some facts used in scoring do not have a stored record.
Drill Results (4)
OP-25-35Bazooka · goldGrade: 0.066Grade Unit: ppmIntercept: 12.7 mView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Hole ID
- OP-25-35
- Project
- Bazooka
- Commodity
- gold
- Region
- canada_qc
- Reported Region
- canada_qc
- Ticker
- OPW
Geometry
- Grade
- 0.066
- Grade Unit
- ppm
- Intercept
- 12.7 m
- From
- 189.8 m
- To
- 202.5 m
- Intercept Depth
- 189.8 m
Classification
- Sample Type
- drill
- Group ID
- OP-25-35:189.8-202.5
Review
- Needs Review
- No
- Interp. Status
- low_confidence
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2025-04-17T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: XRF reading of 66 ppm Au over a 12.7m interval.
Positive factors
- Strong silicification and sericitization noted
Negative factors
- XRF reading only
Evidence · text
“XRF reading at 196 m of 66 g/t Au”
Tags used in scoring
No QA/QC Disclosurenegative
Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.
Why it applies: qaqc_disclosed is not true
Cut-off Undisclosednegative
High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.
Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated
OP-25-35Bazooka · goldGrade: 234Grade Unit: ppmIntercept: 8.3 mView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Hole ID
- OP-25-35
- Project
- Bazooka
- Commodity
- gold
- Region
- canada_qc
- Reported Region
- canada_qc
- Ticker
- OPW
Geometry
- Grade
- 234
- Grade Unit
- ppm
- Intercept
- 8.3 m
- From
- 241.2 m
- To
- 249.5 m
- Intercept Depth
- 232.9 m
Classification
- Sample Type
- drill
- Group ID
- OP-25-35:241.2-249.5
Review
- Needs Review
- No
- Interp. Status
- low_confidence
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2025-04-17T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: XRF reading of 234 ppm Au at 249m.
Positive factors
- High XRF gold reading
Negative factors
- XRF reading only
Evidence · text
“XRF reading of 234 ppm Au at 249 m”
Tags used in scoring
No QA/QC Disclosurenegative
Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.
Why it applies: qaqc_disclosed is not true
Cut-off Undisclosednegative
High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.
Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated
OP-25-35Bazooka · nickelGrade: 4129Grade Unit: ppmIntercept: 8.3 mView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Hole ID
- OP-25-35
- Project
- Bazooka
- Commodity
- nickel
- Region
- canada_qc
- Reported Region
- canada_qc
- Ticker
- OPW
Geometry
- Grade
- 4129
- Grade Unit
- ppm
- Intercept
- 8.3 m
- From
- 241.2 m
- To
- 249.5 m
- Intercept Depth
- 232.9 m
Classification
- Sample Type
- drill
- Group ID
- OP-25-35:241.2-249.5
Review
- Needs Review
- No
- Interp. Status
- low_confidence
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2025-04-17T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: XRF reading of 4129 ppm Ni at 249m.
Negative factors
- XRF reading only
Evidence · text
“Ni 4129 ppm”
Tags used in scoring
No QA/QC Disclosurenegative
Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.
Why it applies: qaqc_disclosed is not true
Cut-off Undisclosednegative
High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.
Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated
OP-25-35Bazooka · chromiumGrade: 7970Grade Unit: ppmIntercept: 8.3 mView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Hole ID
- OP-25-35
- Project
- Bazooka
- Commodity
- chromium
- Region
- canada_qc
- Reported Region
- canada_qc
- Ticker
- OPW
Geometry
- Grade
- 7970
- Grade Unit
- ppm
- Intercept
- 8.3 m
- From
- 241.2 m
- To
- 249.5 m
- Intercept Depth
- 232.9 m
Classification
- Sample Type
- drill
- Group ID
- OP-25-35:241.2-249.5
Review
- Needs Review
- No
- Interp. Status
- low_confidence
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2025-04-17T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: XRF reading of 7970 ppm Cr at 249m.
Negative factors
- XRF reading only
Evidence · text
“Cr 7970 ppm”
Tags used in scoring
No QA/QC Disclosurenegative
Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.
Why it applies: qaqc_disclosed is not true
Cut-off Undisclosednegative
High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.
Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated
How Atlas produces this analysis
Minestarters Atlas uses automated extraction to summarize mining announcements, identify reported measurements, and classify supporting evidence. Sentiment reflects the extracted narrative and classification rules; it is an interpretation, not a reported measurement. Evidence quotes and context are provided where available. Missing data, low-confidence results, and review flags indicate limitations. Check the original publisher announcement before relying on an interpretation.