Osisko Metals to Create New Critical Minerals Company

Original announcement by globenewswire on

Company
Osisko Metals Incorporated
Ticker
OM
Exchange
Unavailable
Region
New Brunswick
Primary commodity
Copper
Secondary commodities
Silver, Gold, Zinc, Lead
Document categories
Resource update, Agreement transaction
Extracted
2026-09-15 22:34:12 UTC

Analysis by Minestarters Atlas

Minestarters Atlas analysis

Summary

Osisko Metals announces its intention to spin out its non-core New Brunswick exploration properties into a new standalone company, Osisko Critical Minerals Corporation (OCMC), led by CEO John Burzynski. The transaction aims to unlock value from copper, silver, and gold targets while allowing Osisko Metals to focus on its flagship Gaspé Copper Project in Québec.

Reasoning: The announcement details a significant corporate restructuring via a spin-out of critical mineral assets, creating a new vehicle (OCMC) to focus on high-potential copper and zinc targets.

Positive factors

  • Strategic spin-out to unlock value of non-core assets
  • Transfer of large-scale exploration targets (NB Copper Project)
  • Experienced leadership (John Burzynski)
  • Presence of existing mineral resources in Bathurst Mining Camp

Negative factors

  • Transaction subject to financing and regulatory approvals
  • Historical resource at Mount Fronsac is non-compliant

Facts used in scoring: 13

Classification and evidence

Maiden Resourceneutral

First formal MRE for the project — establishes baseline but typically exploration-stage with high Inferred component. No prior estimate exists, so every change band is not applicable.

Why it applies: The Bathurst Mining Camp resource estimate is described as a maiden resource estimate in the technical report reference.

Evidence · text

“NI 43-101 Maiden Resource Estimate for the Bathurst Mining Camp”

Historical Estimate Onlynegative

Estimate pre-dates or does not comply with current JORC/NI 43-101 standards — requires verification drilling.

Why it applies: The Mount Fronsac deposit resource is explicitly stated as a historical, non-NI 43-101 compliant estimate.

Evidence · text

“The Mount Fronsac deposit contains an historical, non-NI 43-101 compliant, unclassified mineral resource estimate”

Extracted facts

Stored fact records: 13. Some facts used in scoring do not have a stored record.

Resource Estimates (13)

indicatedBathurst Mining Camp · zincTonnes: 1960000Grade: 5.77Grade Unit: %Historical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Bathurst Mining Camp
Commodity
zinc
Region
canada_nb
Reported Region
New Brunswick
Ticker
OM

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Resource group id
resource:87bc5d294369feba7d4a

Resource Data

Category
indicated
Tonnes
1960000
Grade
5.77
Grade Unit
%

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Historical
Yes
Historical Source Date
2019-04-04T00:00:00.000Z

Dates

Event date
2026-09-15T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Indicated resource for Key Anacon component of Bathurst Mining Camp.

Evidence · text

“Key Anacon and Gilmour South Mineral Resource (Table 1) as well as the Mount Fronsac occurrence. The Key Anacon mineral resource estimate was completed in 2019 and hosts indicated mineral resources of 1.96 Mt averaging 5.77% zinc, 2.38% lead, 0.22% copper and 68.9 g/t silver (9.00% ZnEq)”

Tags used in scoring

Indicated Resourcepositive

Reasonable geological confidence based on adequate drilling; continuity can be assumed. Basis for Probable Reserves.

Why it applies: category is "indicated"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

Stale Estimatenegative

Effective date is >2 years old — data currency concern, may not reflect current geological understanding.

Why it applies: effective date is 7.4 years before this release

indicatedBathurst Mining Camp · leadTonnes: 1960000Grade: 2.38Grade Unit: %Historical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Bathurst Mining Camp
Commodity
lead
Region
canada_nb
Reported Region
New Brunswick
Ticker
OM

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Resource group id
resource:87bc5d294369feba7d4a

Resource Data

Category
indicated
Tonnes
1960000
Grade
2.38
Grade Unit
%

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Historical
Yes
Historical Source Date
2019-04-04T00:00:00.000Z

Dates

Event date
2026-09-15T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Indicated resource for Key Anacon component of Bathurst Mining Camp.

Evidence · text

“indicated mineral resources of 1.96 Mt averaging 5.77% zinc, 2.38% lead, 0.22% copper and 68.9 g/t silver (9.00% ZnEq)”

Tags used in scoring

Indicated Resourcepositive

Reasonable geological confidence based on adequate drilling; continuity can be assumed. Basis for Probable Reserves.

Why it applies: category is "indicated"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

Stale Estimatenegative

Effective date is >2 years old — data currency concern, may not reflect current geological understanding.

Why it applies: effective date is 7.4 years before this release

indicatedBathurst Mining Camp · copperTonnes: 1960000Grade: 0.22Grade Unit: %Historical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Bathurst Mining Camp
Commodity
copper
Region
canada_nb
Reported Region
New Brunswick
Ticker
OM

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Resource group id
resource:87bc5d294369feba7d4a

Resource Data

Category
indicated
Tonnes
1960000
Grade
0.22
Grade Unit
%

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Historical
Yes
Historical Source Date
2019-04-04T00:00:00.000Z

Dates

Event date
2026-09-15T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Indicated resource for Key Anacon component of Bathurst Mining Camp.

Evidence · text

“indicated mineral resources of 1.96 Mt averaging 5.77% zinc, 2.38% lead, 0.22% copper and 68.9 g/t silver (9.00% ZnEq)”

Tags used in scoring

Indicated Resourcepositive

Reasonable geological confidence based on adequate drilling; continuity can be assumed. Basis for Probable Reserves.

Why it applies: category is "indicated"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

Stale Estimatenegative

Effective date is >2 years old — data currency concern, may not reflect current geological understanding.

Why it applies: effective date is 7.4 years before this release

indicatedBathurst Mining Camp · silverTonnes: 1960000Grade: 68.9Grade Unit: g/tHistorical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Bathurst Mining Camp
Commodity
silver
Region
canada_nb
Reported Region
New Brunswick
Ticker
OM

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Resource group id
resource:87bc5d294369feba7d4a

Resource Data

Category
indicated
Tonnes
1960000
Grade
68.9
Grade Unit
g/t

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Historical
Yes
Historical Source Date
2019-04-04T00:00:00.000Z

Dates

Event date
2026-09-15T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Indicated resource for Key Anacon component of Bathurst Mining Camp.

Evidence · text

“indicated mineral resources of 1.96 Mt averaging 5.77% zinc, 2.38% lead, 0.22% copper and 68.9 g/t silver (9.00% ZnEq)”

Tags used in scoring

Indicated Resourcepositive

Reasonable geological confidence based on adequate drilling; continuity can be assumed. Basis for Probable Reserves.

Why it applies: category is "indicated"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

Stale Estimatenegative

Effective date is >2 years old — data currency concern, may not reflect current geological understanding.

Why it applies: effective date is 7.4 years before this release

inferredBathurst Mining Camp · zincTonnes: 3850000Grade: 5.34Grade Unit: %Historical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Bathurst Mining Camp
Commodity
zinc
Region
canada_nb
Reported Region
New Brunswick
Ticker
OM

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Resource group id
resource:2c7bb86536b8694796c5

Resource Data

Category
inferred
Tonnes
3850000
Grade
5.34
Grade Unit
%

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Historical
Yes
Historical Source Date
2019-04-04T00:00:00.000Z

Dates

Event date
2026-09-15T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Inferred resource for Key Anacon component of Bathurst Mining Camp.

Evidence · text

“inferred mineral resources of 3.85 Mt averaging 5.34% zinc, 1.49% lead, 0.32% copper and 47.7 g/t silver (7.96% ZnEq)”

Tags used in scoring

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

Stale Estimatenegative

Effective date is >2 years old — data currency concern, may not reflect current geological understanding.

Why it applies: effective date is 7.4 years before this release

inferredBathurst Mining Camp · leadTonnes: 3850000Grade: 1.49Grade Unit: %Historical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Bathurst Mining Camp
Commodity
lead
Region
canada_nb
Reported Region
New Brunswick
Ticker
OM

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Resource group id
resource:2c7bb86536b8694796c5

Resource Data

Category
inferred
Tonnes
3850000
Grade
1.49
Grade Unit
%

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Historical
Yes
Historical Source Date
2019-04-04T00:00:00.000Z

Dates

Event date
2026-09-15T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Inferred resource for Key Anacon component of Bathurst Mining Camp.

Evidence · text

“inferred mineral resources of 3.85 Mt averaging 5.34% zinc, 1.49% lead, 0.32% copper and 47.7 g/t silver (7.96% ZnEq)”

Tags used in scoring

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

Stale Estimatenegative

Effective date is >2 years old — data currency concern, may not reflect current geological understanding.

Why it applies: effective date is 7.4 years before this release

inferredBathurst Mining Camp · copperTonnes: 3850000Grade: 0.32Grade Unit: %Historical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Bathurst Mining Camp
Commodity
copper
Region
canada_nb
Reported Region
New Brunswick
Ticker
OM

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Resource group id
resource:2c7bb86536b8694796c5

Resource Data

Category
inferred
Tonnes
3850000
Grade
0.32
Grade Unit
%

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Historical
Yes
Historical Source Date
2019-04-04T00:00:00.000Z

Dates

Event date
2026-09-15T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Inferred resource for Key Anacon component of Bathurst Mining Camp.

Evidence · text

“inferred mineral resources of 3.85 Mt averaging 5.34% zinc, 1.49% lead, 0.32% copper and 47.7 g/t silver (7.96% ZnEq)”

Tags used in scoring

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

Stale Estimatenegative

Effective date is >2 years old — data currency concern, may not reflect current geological understanding.

Why it applies: effective date is 7.4 years before this release

inferredBathurst Mining Camp · silverTonnes: 3850000Grade: 47.7Grade Unit: g/tHistorical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Bathurst Mining Camp
Commodity
silver
Region
canada_nb
Reported Region
New Brunswick
Ticker
OM

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Resource group id
resource:2c7bb86536b8694796c5

Resource Data

Category
inferred
Tonnes
3850000
Grade
47.7
Grade Unit
g/t

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Historical
Yes
Historical Source Date
2019-04-04T00:00:00.000Z

Dates

Event date
2026-09-15T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Inferred resource for Key Anacon component of Bathurst Mining Camp.

Evidence · text

“inferred mineral resources of 3.85 Mt averaging 5.34% zinc, 1.49% lead, 0.32% copper and 47.7 g/t silver (7.96% ZnEq)”

Tags used in scoring

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

Stale Estimatenegative

Effective date is >2 years old — data currency concern, may not reflect current geological understanding.

Why it applies: effective date is 7.4 years before this release

inferredMount Fronsac · zincTonnes: 1260000Grade: 7.65Grade Unit: %Historical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Mount Fronsac
Commodity
zinc
Region
canada_nb
Reported Region
New Brunswick
Ticker
OM

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Resource group id
resource:c0ac6e7a019727448909

Resource Data

Category
inferred
Tonnes
1260000
Grade
7.65
Grade Unit
%

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Historical
Yes

Dates

Event date
2026-09-15T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Historical, non-compliant resource estimate for Mount Fronsac.

Negative factors

  • Non-NI 43-101 compliant
  • Unclassified resource

Evidence · text

“The Mount Fronsac deposit contains an historical, non-NI 43-101 compliant, unclassified mineral resource estimate of 1.26 million tonnes averaging 7.65 % Zn, 2.18 % Pb, 0.14% Cu, 40.3 g/t Ag, and 0.40 g/t Au.”

Tags used in scoring

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

inferredMount Fronsac · leadTonnes: 1260000Grade: 2.18Grade Unit: %Historical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Mount Fronsac
Commodity
lead
Region
canada_nb
Reported Region
New Brunswick
Ticker
OM

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Resource group id
resource:c0ac6e7a019727448909

Resource Data

Category
inferred
Tonnes
1260000
Grade
2.18
Grade Unit
%

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Historical
Yes

Dates

Event date
2026-09-15T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Historical, non-compliant resource estimate for Mount Fronsac.

Negative factors

  • Non-NI 43-101 compliant
  • Unclassified resource

Evidence · text

“The Mount Fronsac deposit contains an historical, non-NI 43-101 compliant, unclassified mineral resource estimate of 1.26 million tonnes averaging 7.65 % Zn, 2.18 % Pb, 0.14% Cu, 40.3 g/t Ag, and 0.40 g/t Au.”

Tags used in scoring

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

inferredMount Fronsac · copperTonnes: 1260000Grade: 0.14Grade Unit: %Historical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Mount Fronsac
Commodity
copper
Region
canada_nb
Reported Region
New Brunswick
Ticker
OM

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Resource group id
resource:c0ac6e7a019727448909

Resource Data

Category
inferred
Tonnes
1260000
Grade
0.14
Grade Unit
%

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Historical
Yes

Dates

Event date
2026-09-15T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Historical, non-compliant resource estimate for Mount Fronsac.

Negative factors

  • Non-NI 43-101 compliant
  • Unclassified resource

Evidence · text

“The Mount Fronsac deposit contains an historical, non-NI 43-101 compliant, unclassified mineral resource estimate of 1.26 million tonnes averaging 7.65 % Zn, 2.18 % Pb, 0.14% Cu, 40.3 g/t Ag, and 0.40 g/t Au.”

Tags used in scoring

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

inferredMount Fronsac · silverTonnes: 1260000Grade: 40.3Grade Unit: g/tHistorical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Mount Fronsac
Commodity
silver
Region
canada_nb
Reported Region
New Brunswick
Ticker
OM

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Resource group id
resource:c0ac6e7a019727448909

Resource Data

Category
inferred
Tonnes
1260000
Grade
40.3
Grade Unit
g/t

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Historical
Yes

Dates

Event date
2026-09-15T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Historical, non-compliant resource estimate for Mount Fronsac.

Negative factors

  • Non-NI 43-101 compliant
  • Unclassified resource

Evidence · text

“The Mount Fronsac deposit contains an historical, non-NI 43-101 compliant, unclassified mineral resource estimate of 1.26 million tonnes averaging 7.65 % Zn, 2.18 % Pb, 0.14% Cu, 40.3 g/t Ag, and 0.40 g/t Au.”

Tags used in scoring

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

inferredMount Fronsac · goldTonnes: 1260000Grade: 0.4Grade Unit: g/tHistorical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Mount Fronsac
Commodity
gold
Region
canada_nb
Reported Region
New Brunswick
Ticker
OM

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Resource group id
resource:c0ac6e7a019727448909

Resource Data

Category
inferred
Tonnes
1260000
Grade
0.4
Grade Unit
g/t

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Historical
Yes

Dates

Event date
2026-09-15T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Historical, non-compliant resource estimate for Mount Fronsac.

Negative factors

  • Non-NI 43-101 compliant
  • Unclassified resource

Evidence · text

“The Mount Fronsac deposit contains an historical, non-NI 43-101 compliant, unclassified mineral resource estimate of 1.26 million tonnes averaging 7.65 % Zn, 2.18 % Pb, 0.14% Cu, 40.3 g/t Ag, and 0.40 g/t Au.”

Tags used in scoring

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

How Atlas produces this analysis

Minestarters Atlas uses automated extraction to summarize mining announcements, identify reported measurements, and classify supporting evidence. Sentiment reflects the extracted narrative and classification rules; it is an interpretation, not a reported measurement. Evidence quotes and context are provided where available. Missing data, low-confidence results, and review flags indicate limitations. Check the original publisher announcement before relying on an interpretation.