Osisko Mining Announces C$60 Million "Bought Deal" Private Placement of Flow-Through Shares

Original announcement by tmx on

Company
Osisko Mining Inc.
Ticker
OSK
Exchange
TSX
Region
Québec
Primary commodity
Gold
Secondary commodities
None reported
Document categories
Resource update, Capital raise
Extracted
2026-09-18 15:27:03 UTC

Analysis by Minestarters Atlas

Minestarters Atlas analysis

Summary

Osisko Mining has entered into a C$60 million 'bought deal' private placement of flow-through shares to fund exploration in Québec. The company also provided a summary of its historical Windfall gold deposit mineral resource estimate from February 2020.

Reasoning: The document announces a significant C$60M financing to fund exploration, while also restating historical resource data for the Windfall project.

Positive factors

  • C$60 million capital raise via bought deal
  • Flow-through shares to fund exploration in Québec
  • High-grade resource-stage gold project mentioned

Facts used in scoring: 3

Classification and evidence

capital_raisepositive · Story-specific tag

No canonical definition is currently available.

Why it applies: The announcement is primarily about a C$60 million private placement of flow-through shares.

Evidence · text

“Osisko Mining Announces C$60 Million "Bought Deal" Private Placement of Flow-Through Shares”

resource_updateneutral · Story-specific tag

No canonical definition is currently available.

Why it applies: The document restates historical mineral resource figures for the Windfall gold deposit.

Evidence · text

“The mineral resource defined by Osisko, as disclosed in the news release dated February 19, 2020”

Cut-off Disclosedpositive

Cut-off grade used for resource reporting is clearly stated, enabling like-for-like comparison.

Why it applies: A current resource fact retains the disclosed cut-off grade

Resource Updateneutral

Revised estimate for an existing resource — compare to prior to assess progress.

Why it applies: The source explicitly discloses a revised resource estimate

Evidence · text

“updated mineral resource estimate”

Extracted facts

Stored fact records: 2. Some facts used in scoring do not have a stored record.

Resource Estimates (2)

indicatedView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Region
canada_qc
Reported Region
Québec
Ticker
OSK

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Effective date
2020-01-03T00:00:00.000Z
Reporting standards
ni_43_101
Resource group id
resource:4777b824524a11bf5262

Resource Data

Category
indicated
Cutoff Grade
3.5
Cutoff Unit
g/t

Review

Needs Review
No
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2021-01-15T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Historical resource restatement; not new data.

Positive factors

  • High grade indicated resource

Evidence · text

“4,127,000 tonnes at 9.1 g/t Au (1,206,000 ounces) in the indicated mineral resource category”

Tags used in scoring

Indicated Resourcepositive

Reasonable geological confidence based on adequate drilling; continuity can be assumed. Basis for Probable Reserves.

Why it applies: category is "indicated"

Cut-off Disclosedpositive

Cut-off grade used for resource reporting is clearly stated, enabling like-for-like comparison.

Why it applies: cutoff_grade is stated

NI 43-101 Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

No QP/CP Disclosurenegative

No Qualified Person or Competent Person named — lower credibility for the estimate. A QP/CP should be a member of a recognized professional association with relevant experience.

Why it applies: no Qualified or Competent Person is named anywhere in the release

Resource Updateneutral

Revised estimate for an existing resource — compare to prior to assess progress.

Why it applies: the release compares against a previous estimate

inferredView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Region
canada_qc
Reported Region
Québec
Ticker
OSK

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Effective date
2020-01-03T00:00:00.000Z
Reporting standards
ni_43_101
Resource group id
resource:c6692c041ed822c7bdd9

Resource Data

Category
inferred
Cutoff Grade
3.5
Cutoff Unit
g/t

Review

Needs Review
No
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2021-01-15T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Historical resource restatement; not new data.

Negative factors

  • Inferred category

Evidence · text

“14,532,000 tonnes at 8.40 g/t Au (3,938,000 ounces) in the inferred mineral resource category”

Tags used in scoring

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

Cut-off Disclosedpositive

Cut-off grade used for resource reporting is clearly stated, enabling like-for-like comparison.

Why it applies: cutoff_grade is stated

NI 43-101 Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

No QP/CP Disclosurenegative

No Qualified Person or Competent Person named — lower credibility for the estimate. A QP/CP should be a member of a recognized professional association with relevant experience.

Why it applies: no Qualified or Competent Person is named anywhere in the release

Resource Updateneutral

Revised estimate for an existing resource — compare to prior to assess progress.

Why it applies: the release compares against a previous estimate

How Atlas produces this analysis

Minestarters Atlas uses automated extraction to summarize mining announcements, identify reported measurements, and classify supporting evidence. Sentiment reflects the extracted narrative and classification rules; it is an interpretation, not a reported measurement. Evidence quotes and context are provided where available. Missing data, low-confidence results, and review flags indicate limitations. Check the original publisher announcement before relying on an interpretation.