PRU increases Nyanzaga Project Ore Reserves to 4.0Moz

Original announcement by tmx on

Company
Perseus Mining Limited
Ticker
PRU
Exchange
TSX
Region
Tanzania
Primary commodity
Gold
Secondary commodities
None reported
Document categories
Resource update
Extracted
2026-09-14 18:53:23 UTC

Analysis by Minestarters Atlas

Minestarters Atlas analysis

Summary

Perseus Mining has updated the Nyanzaga Gold Project ore reserves to 4.0 Moz, representing a 73% increase from the April 2025 estimate. The update is supported by 82,700m of recent drilling and a revised large-scale open-pit mine design, extending the projected mine life to 16 years.

Reasoning: Significant expansion of ore reserves (from 2.3 Moz to 4.0 Moz) driven by successful infill and extension drilling and pit optimization.

Positive factors

  • 73% increase in ore reserves compared to April 2025
  • Mine life extended to 16 years
  • Significant drilling campaign (82,700m) underpinning the update
  • Strong investment metrics (28.8% IRR, $864M NPV)

Facts used in scoring: 7

Classification and evidence

Tonnage Growthpositive

Tonnage increase reaching the strong tier vs prior estimate, with grade maintained or improved.

Why it applies: Ore reserves increased by 73% from 2.3 Moz to 4.0 Moz.

Evidence · text

“This represents a 73% increase to the 2.3 Moz Ore Reserve reported in April 2025”

JORC Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with JORC Code (Australia) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: The reserve is classified in accordance with the JORC Code (2012).

Evidence · text

“The Ore Reserve is classified as Probable in accordance with the JORC Code (2012)”

NI 43-101 Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: The release states preparation in accordance with NI 43-101 standards.

Evidence · text

“and have been prepared in accordance with the standards set out in ... NI 43-101”

QP/CP Signedpositive

Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.

Why it applies: Competent Persons Daniel Saunders and Adrian Ralph are named and responsible for the report.

Evidence · text

“prepared by Mr Daniel Saunders, a Competent Person”

Extracted facts

Stored fact records: 7. Some facts used in scoring do not have a stored record.

Resource Estimates (7)

probableNyanzaga Gold Project · goldTonnes: 90900000Grade: 1.38Grade Unit: g/tContained Metal: 4046Contained Unit: ’000 ozView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Nyanzaga Gold Project
Commodity
gold
Region
tanzania
Reported Region
Tanzania
Ticker
PRU

Resource scope

Estimate type
reserve
Reporting standards
jorc, ni_43_101
QP Signed
Yes
Qualified person names
Daniel Saunders, Adrian Ralph
Resource group id
resource:b6431643bca0dbab984e
Deposit or zone
Nyanzaga Gold Project
Mining method
open_pit
Ownership percent
80 %
Resource basis
attributable

Resource Data

Category
probable
Tonnes
90900000
Grade
1.38
Grade Unit
g/t
Contained Metal
4046
Contained Unit
’000 oz
Cutoff Grade
0.3
Cutoff Unit
g/t

Prior Estimate

Resource Date
2026-02-20

Review

Needs Review
No
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-02-19T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Large scale probable reserve update.

Positive factors

  • Significant tonnage and metal growth

Evidence · text

“The Probable Ore Reserve for the NGP is estimated as 90.9 Mt, grading 1.38 g/t Au and containing 4.0 Moz of gold”

Tags used in scoring

Probable Reservepositive

Indicated Resource with demonstrated economic viability after applying modifying factors.

Why it applies: category is "probable"

Cut-off Disclosedpositive

Cut-off grade used for resource reporting is clearly stated, enabling like-for-like comparison.

Why it applies: cutoff_grade is stated

QP/CP Signedpositive

Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.

Why it applies: qp_signed is true

JORC Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with JORC Code (Australia) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: reporting_standards includes jorc

NI 43-101 Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101

indicatedNyanzaga Gold Project · goldTonnes: 110400000Grade: 1.33Grade Unit: g/tContained Metal: 4715Contained Unit: ’000 ozView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Nyanzaga Gold Project
Commodity
gold
Region
tanzania
Reported Region
Tanzania
Ticker
PRU

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Reporting standards
jorc, ni_43_101
QP Signed
Yes
Qualified person names
Daniel Saunders, Adrian Ralph
Resource group id
resource:91a2afc0a5557d1cf090
Deposit or zone
Nyanzaga Gold Project
Mining method
open_pit
Ownership percent
80 %
Resource basis
attributable

Resource Data

Category
indicated
Tonnes
110400000
Grade
1.33
Grade Unit
g/t
Contained Metal
4715
Contained Unit
’000 oz
Cutoff Grade
0.25
Cutoff Unit
g/t gold

Prior Estimate

Resource Date
2026-02-20

Review

Needs Review
No
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-02-19T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Substantial indicated resource supporting the reserve.

Positive factors

  • Large M&I resource base

Evidence · text

“The combined M&I Mineral Resource for the NGP is estimated at 110.4 Mt grading 1.33 g/t Au, containing 4.7 Moz of gold.”

Tags used in scoring

Indicated Resourcepositive

Reasonable geological confidence based on adequate drilling; continuity can be assumed. Basis for Probable Reserves.

Why it applies: category is "indicated"

Cut-off Disclosedpositive

Cut-off grade used for resource reporting is clearly stated, enabling like-for-like comparison.

Why it applies: cutoff_grade is stated

QP/CP Signedpositive

Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.

Why it applies: qp_signed is true

JORC Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with JORC Code (Australia) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: reporting_standards includes jorc

NI 43-101 Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101

inferredNyanzaga Gold Project · goldTonnes: 6500000Grade: 1.6Grade Unit: g/tContained Metal: 343Contained Unit: kozView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Nyanzaga Gold Project
Commodity
gold
Region
tanzania
Reported Region
Tanzania
Ticker
PRU

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Reporting standards
jorc, ni_43_101
QP Signed
Yes
Qualified person names
Daniel Saunders, Adrian Ralph
Resource group id
resource:9d57e73a37705f8ddf3e
Deposit or zone
Nyanzaga Gold Project
Mining method
open_pit
Ownership percent
80 %
Resource basis
attributable

Resource Data

Category
inferred
Tonnes
6500000
Grade
1.6
Grade Unit
g/t
Contained Metal
343
Contained Unit
koz

Prior Estimate

Resource Date
2026-02-20

Review

Needs Review
No
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-02-19T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Inferred resource provides additional upside but lacks geological confidence.

Positive factors

  • Higher grade than M&I

Negative factors

  • Speculative category

Evidence · text

“A further 6.5 Mt of material grading 1.6 g/t Au, containing 343 koz of gold is classified as Inferred Mineral Resources”

Tags used in scoring

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

QP/CP Signedpositive

Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.

Why it applies: qp_signed is true

JORC Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with JORC Code (Australia) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: reporting_standards includes jorc

NI 43-101 Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101

indicatedTusker · goldTonnes: 100700000Grade: 1.37Grade Unit: g/tView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Tusker
Commodity
gold
Ticker
PRU

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Reporting standards
ni_43_101, jorc
Resource group id
resource:8eec3529a7cee59d17d6
Mining method
open_pit

Resource Data

Category
indicated
Tonnes
100700000
Grade
1.37
Grade Unit
g/t

Review

Needs Review
No
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-02-19T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Expanded from portfolio resource summary table.

Negative factors

  • Fact expanded from resource table columns (model omitted this commodity).

Evidence · table

“1.37”

Context: 100.7

Tags used in scoring

Indicated Resourcepositive

Reasonable geological confidence based on adequate drilling; continuity can be assumed. Basis for Probable Reserves.

Why it applies: category is "indicated"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

JORC Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with JORC Code (Australia) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: reporting_standards includes jorc

NI 43-101 Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

inferredTusker · goldTonnes: 5500000Grade: 1.8Grade Unit: g/tView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Tusker
Commodity
gold
Ticker
PRU

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Reporting standards
ni_43_101, jorc
Resource group id
resource:1c9524ae366c86ac98b1
Mining method
open_pit

Resource Data

Category
inferred
Tonnes
5500000
Grade
1.8
Grade Unit
g/t

Review

Needs Review
No
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-02-19T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Expanded from portfolio resource summary table.

Negative factors

  • Fact expanded from resource table columns (model omitted this commodity).

Evidence · table

“1.8”

Context: 5.5

Tags used in scoring

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

JORC Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with JORC Code (Australia) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: reporting_standards includes jorc

NI 43-101 Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

indicatedKilimani · goldTonnes: 9700000Grade: 0.9Grade Unit: g/tView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Kilimani
Commodity
gold
Ticker
PRU

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Reporting standards
ni_43_101, jorc
Resource group id
resource:1276edecd117d6706d18
Mining method
open_pit

Resource Data

Category
indicated
Tonnes
9700000
Grade
0.9
Grade Unit
g/t

Review

Needs Review
No
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-02-19T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Expanded from portfolio resource summary table.

Negative factors

  • Fact expanded from resource table columns (model omitted this commodity).

Evidence · table

“0.90”

Context: 9.7

Tags used in scoring

Indicated Resourcepositive

Reasonable geological confidence based on adequate drilling; continuity can be assumed. Basis for Probable Reserves.

Why it applies: category is "indicated"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

JORC Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with JORC Code (Australia) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: reporting_standards includes jorc

NI 43-101 Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

inferredKilimani · goldTonnes: 1000000Grade: 1Grade Unit: g/tView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Kilimani
Commodity
gold
Ticker
PRU

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Reporting standards
ni_43_101, jorc
Resource group id
resource:a2ad046584d912ab142c
Mining method
open_pit

Resource Data

Category
inferred
Tonnes
1000000
Grade
1
Grade Unit
g/t

Review

Needs Review
No
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-02-19T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Expanded from portfolio resource summary table.

Negative factors

  • Fact expanded from resource table columns (model omitted this commodity).

Evidence · table

“1.0”

Context: 1.0

Tags used in scoring

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

JORC Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with JORC Code (Australia) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: reporting_standards includes jorc

NI 43-101 Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

How Atlas produces this analysis

Minestarters Atlas uses automated extraction to summarize mining announcements, identify reported measurements, and classify supporting evidence. Sentiment reflects the extracted narrative and classification rules; it is an interpretation, not a reported measurement. Evidence quotes and context are provided where available. Missing data, low-confidence results, and review flags indicate limitations. Check the original publisher announcement before relying on an interpretation.