Sama Resources and Ivanhoe Electric Commence 2025 Exploration Program at the Polymetallic Samapleu-Grata Nickel-Copper Project in Cote d'Ivoire, West-Africa

Original announcement by tmx on

Company
Sama Resources Inc.
Ticker
SME
Exchange
TSX
Region
Cote d'Ivoire
Primary commodity
Nickel
Secondary commodities
Copper, Cobalt, Platinum, Palladium, Gold
Document categories
Resource update, Economic study, Other, Drill results
Extracted
2026-09-16 23:03:46 UTC

Analysis by Minestarters Atlas

Minestarters Atlas analysis

Summary

Sama Resources and Ivanhoe Electric have commenced a 2025 exploration program at the Samapleu-Grata Nickel-Copper Project in Côte d'Ivoire. The program includes 4,500m of diamond drilling focused on resource conversion at Grata, expansion at Samapleu, and regional testing at the Mossikro prospect, alongside environmental baseline studies.

Reasoning: The announcement details a structured exploration program designed to de-risk a project that already has a preliminary economic assessment (PEA) in place, focusing on resource upgrading and expansion.

Positive factors

  • Commencement of a multi-pronged 2025 exploration program
  • Infill drilling targeting resource conversion (Inferred to Indicated)
  • Expansion drilling to delineate deposit extensions
  • Regional exploration to test new prospects (Mossikro)
  • Environmental and social baseline studies to support permitting
  • Reference to a strong 2024 PEA with 28.2% pre-tax IRR

Facts used in scoring: 9

Classification and evidence

Infill Drillingneutral · Story-specific tag

Confirmatory drilling to raise resource confidence, not new discovery.

Why it applies: Program includes 3,000m of infill drilling at Grata to convert Inferred to Indicated resources.

Evidence · text

“Infill drilling comprising 3,000 meters is designed to convert Inferred Resources at the polymetallic Grata Deposit into higher confidence Indicated Resources.”

Step-Out Extensionpositive · Story-specific tag

Mineralization extended beyond the previously known limit.

Why it applies: 1,000m of drilling at Samapleu Main is designed to step out and delineate extensions.

Evidence · text

“Resource expansion drilling comprising 1,000 meters at the polymetallic Samapleu Main Deposit is designed to step out from the currently defined Mineral Resources”

PEA-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.

Why it applies: The exploration program aims to advance the project following the March 2024 PEA.

Evidence · text

“The 2025 exploration program aims to further advance the Project following the March 2024 Preliminary Economic Assessment (“PEA”)”

Extracted facts

Stored fact records: 8. Some facts used in scoring do not have a stored record.

Drill Results (2)

Fact 1Samapleu-Grata · copperGrade: 1.5Grade Unit: %Intercept: 11.9 mNeeds review: drill_no_hole_idView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Samapleu-Grata
Commodity
copper
Region
cote d'ivoire
Reported Region
cote d'ivoire
Ticker
SME

Geometry

Grade
1.5
Grade Unit
%
Intercept
11.9 m

Classification

Sample Type
drill
Group ID
unknown:0-11.9
Mining Method
open_pit

Location

Location
southwest Samapleu Extension
Loc. Source
document

QA/QC

QA/QC Methods
standards

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
drill_no_hole_id
Interp. Status
scored
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2025-05-27T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Strong polymetallic intercept identified in the Samapleu Extension.

Positive factors

  • High-grade copper and nickel intercept

Evidence · text

“11.90 meters grading 1.50% copper, 0.50% nickel, 0.02% cobalt, 1.04 g/t platinum, 0.55 g/t palladium, and 0.03 g/t gold.”

Tags used in scoring

No QA/QC Disclosurenegative

Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.

Why it applies: qaqc_disclosed is not true

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

Fact 2Samapleu-Grata · nickelGrade: 0.5Grade Unit: %Intercept: 11.9 mNeeds review: drill_no_hole_idView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Samapleu-Grata
Commodity
nickel
Region
cote d'ivoire
Reported Region
cote d'ivoire
Ticker
SME

Geometry

Grade
0.5
Grade Unit
%
Intercept
11.9 m

Classification

Sample Type
drill
Group ID
unknown:0-11.9
Mining Method
open_pit

Location

Location
southwest Samapleu Extension
Loc. Source
document

QA/QC

QA/QC Methods
standards

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
drill_no_hole_id
Interp. Status
scored
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2025-05-27T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Strong polymetallic intercept identified in the Samapleu Extension.

Positive factors

  • High-grade nickel intercept

Evidence · text

“11.90 meters grading 1.50% copper, 0.50% nickel, 0.02% cobalt, 1.04 g/t platinum, 0.55 g/t palladium, and 0.03 g/t gold.”

Tags used in scoring

No QA/QC Disclosurenegative

Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.

Why it applies: qaqc_disclosed is not true

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

Resource Estimates (6)

inferredSamapleu-Grata Nickel-Copper Project · nickelTonnes: 67300000Grade: 0.24Grade Unit: %Historical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Samapleu-Grata Nickel-Copper Project
Commodity
nickel
Region
cote d'ivoire
Reported Region
Cote d'Ivoire
Ticker
SME

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Resource group id
resource:9bc38964e7111e856a49
Deposit or zone
Grata Deposit

Resource Data

Category
inferred
Tonnes
67300000
Grade
0.24
Grade Unit
%

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Historical
Yes
Historical Source Date
2024-03-21T00:00:00.000Z

Dates

Event date
2025-05-27T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: The Grata deposit is currently entirely Inferred, which is the basis for the upcoming infill program.

Negative factors

  • 100% Inferred resource

Evidence · text

“The Grata Deposit comprised nearly 70% of the Inferred Resources used in the 2024 PEA, totaling 67.3 million tonnes grading 0.24% nickel, 0.25% copper,0.01% cobalt, 0.10 grams per tonne (“g/t”) platinum, 0.26 g/t palladium, and 0.04 g/t gold.”

Tags used in scoring

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

PEA-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

PFS-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Pre-Feasibility Study — requires adequate M&I component.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

DFS-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

inferredSamapleu-Grata Nickel-Copper Project · copperTonnes: 67300000Grade: 0.25Grade Unit: %Historical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Samapleu-Grata Nickel-Copper Project
Commodity
copper
Region
cote d'ivoire
Reported Region
Cote d'Ivoire
Ticker
SME

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Resource group id
resource:9bc38964e7111e856a49
Deposit or zone
Grata Deposit

Resource Data

Category
inferred
Tonnes
67300000
Grade
0.25
Grade Unit
%

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Historical
Yes
Historical Source Date
2024-03-21T00:00:00.000Z

Dates

Event date
2025-05-27T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Part of the Grata Inferred resource reported in the 2024 PEA.

Evidence · text

“The Grata Deposit comprised nearly 70% of the Inferred Resources used in the 2024 PEA, totaling 67.3 million tonnes grading 0.24% nickel, 0.25% copper,0.01% cobalt, 0.10 grams per tonne (“g/t”) platinum, 0.26 g/t palladium, and 0.04 g/t gold.”

Tags used in scoring

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

PEA-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

PFS-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Pre-Feasibility Study — requires adequate M&I component.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

DFS-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

inferredSamapleu-Grata Nickel-Copper Project · cobaltTonnes: 67300000Grade: 0.01Grade Unit: %Historical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Samapleu-Grata Nickel-Copper Project
Commodity
cobalt
Region
cote d'ivoire
Reported Region
Cote d'Ivoire
Ticker
SME

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Resource group id
resource:9bc38964e7111e856a49
Deposit or zone
Grata Deposit

Resource Data

Category
inferred
Tonnes
67300000
Grade
0.01
Grade Unit
%

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Historical
Yes
Historical Source Date
2024-03-21T00:00:00.000Z

Dates

Event date
2025-05-27T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Part of the Grata Inferred resource reported in the 2024 PEA.

Evidence · text

“The Grata Deposit comprised nearly 70% of the Inferred Resources used in the 2024 PEA, totaling 67.3 million tonnes grading 0.24% nickel, 0.25% copper,0.01% cobalt, 0.10 grams per tonne (“g/t”) platinum, 0.26 g/t palladium, and 0.04 g/t gold.”

Tags used in scoring

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

PEA-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

PFS-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Pre-Feasibility Study — requires adequate M&I component.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

DFS-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

inferredSamapleu-Grata Nickel-Copper Project · platinumTonnes: 67300000Grade: 0.1Grade Unit: g/tHistorical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Samapleu-Grata Nickel-Copper Project
Commodity
platinum
Region
cote d'ivoire
Reported Region
Cote d'Ivoire
Ticker
SME

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Resource group id
resource:9bc38964e7111e856a49
Deposit or zone
Grata Deposit

Resource Data

Category
inferred
Tonnes
67300000
Grade
0.1
Grade Unit
g/t

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Historical
Yes
Historical Source Date
2024-03-21T00:00:00.000Z

Dates

Event date
2025-05-27T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Part of the Grata Inferred resource reported in the 2024 PEA.

Evidence · text

“The Grata Deposit comprised nearly 70% of the Inferred Resources used in the 2024 PEA, totaling 67.3 million tonnes grading 0.24% nickel, 0.25% copper,0.01% cobalt, 0.10 grams per tonne (“g/t”) platinum, 0.26 g/t palladium, and 0.04 g/t gold.”

Tags used in scoring

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

PEA-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

PFS-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Pre-Feasibility Study — requires adequate M&I component.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

DFS-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

inferredSamapleu-Grata Nickel-Copper Project · palladiumTonnes: 67300000Grade: 0.26Grade Unit: g/tHistorical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Samapleu-Grata Nickel-Copper Project
Commodity
palladium
Region
cote d'ivoire
Reported Region
Cote d'Ivoire
Ticker
SME

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Resource group id
resource:9bc38964e7111e856a49
Deposit or zone
Grata Deposit

Resource Data

Category
inferred
Tonnes
67300000
Grade
0.26
Grade Unit
g/t

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Historical
Yes
Historical Source Date
2024-03-21T00:00:00.000Z

Dates

Event date
2025-05-27T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Part of the Grata Inferred resource reported in the 2024 PEA.

Evidence · text

“The Grata Deposit comprised nearly 70% of the Inferred Resources used in the 2024 PEA, totaling 67.3 million tonnes grading 0.24% nickel, 0.25% copper,0.01% cobalt, 0.10 grams per tonne (“g/t”) platinum, 0.26 g/t palladium, and 0.04 g/t gold.”

Tags used in scoring

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

PEA-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

PFS-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Pre-Feasibility Study — requires adequate M&I component.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

DFS-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

inferredSamapleu-Grata Nickel-Copper Project · goldTonnes: 67300000Grade: 0.04Grade Unit: g/tHistorical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Samapleu-Grata Nickel-Copper Project
Commodity
gold
Region
cote d'ivoire
Reported Region
Cote d'Ivoire
Ticker
SME

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Resource group id
resource:9bc38964e7111e856a49
Deposit or zone
Grata Deposit

Resource Data

Category
inferred
Tonnes
67300000
Grade
0.04
Grade Unit
g/t

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Historical
Yes
Historical Source Date
2024-03-21T00:00:00.000Z

Dates

Event date
2025-05-27T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Part of the Grata Inferred resource reported in the 2024 PEA.

Evidence · text

“The Grata Deposit comprised nearly 70% of the Inferred Resources used in the 2024 PEA, totaling 67.3 million tonnes grading 0.24% nickel, 0.25% copper,0.01% cobalt, 0.10 grams per tonne (“g/t”) platinum, 0.26 g/t palladium, and 0.04 g/t gold.”

Tags used in scoring

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

PEA-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

PFS-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Pre-Feasibility Study — requires adequate M&I component.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

DFS-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

How Atlas produces this analysis

Minestarters Atlas uses automated extraction to summarize mining announcements, identify reported measurements, and classify supporting evidence. Sentiment reflects the extracted narrative and classification rules; it is an interpretation, not a reported measurement. Evidence quotes and context are provided where available. Missing data, low-confidence results, and review flags indicate limitations. Check the original publisher announcement before relying on an interpretation.