# Sama Resources and Ivanhoe Electric Commence 2025 Exploration Program at the Polymetallic Samapleu-Grata Nickel-Copper Project in Cote d'Ivoire, West-Africa

Canonical Atlas analysis: https://atlas-extractions.minestarters.com/news/sama-resources-and-ivanhoe-electric-commence-2025-exploration-program-at-the-pol--de31640b-de30-4f2e-aaf2-7924ef93e2fa

Original source: https://money.tmx.com/en/quote/SME/news/4801334302133006/sama-resources-and-ivanhoe-electric-commence-2025-exploration-program-at-the-pol

Publisher: tmx

Original announcement: 2025-05-27T11:00:00.000Z

Analysis by Minestarters Atlas

Atlas analysis published: Unknown date

Atlas analysis updated: Unknown date

- Company: Sama Resources Inc.

- Ticker: SME

- Exchange: TSX

- Region: Cote d'Ivoire

- Primary commodity: Nickel

- Secondary commodities: Copper, Cobalt, Platinum, Palladium, Gold

- Document categories: Resource update, Economic study, Other, Drill results

- Extracted: 2026-09-16 23:03:46 UTC

Narrative sentiment: 0.60 · Bullish

## Minestarters Atlas summary

Sama Resources and Ivanhoe Electric have commenced a 2025 exploration program at the Samapleu-Grata Nickel-Copper Project in Côte d'Ivoire. The program includes 4,500m of diamond drilling focused on resource conversion at Grata, expansion at Samapleu, and regional testing at the Mossikro prospect, alongside environmental baseline studies.

Reasoning: The announcement details a structured exploration program designed to de-risk a project that already has a preliminary economic assessment \(PEA\) in place, focusing on resource upgrading and expansion.

- Positive factor: Commencement of a multi-pronged 2025 exploration program

- Positive factor: Infill drilling targeting resource conversion \(Inferred to Indicated\)

- Positive factor: Expansion drilling to delineate deposit extensions

- Positive factor: Regional exploration to test new prospects \(Mossikro\)

- Positive factor: Environmental and social baseline studies to support permitting

- Positive factor: Reference to a strong 2024 PEA with 28.2% pre-tax IRR

Facts used in scoring: 9

## Classification and evidence

**Infill Drilling**

Polarity: neutral

Story-specific tag

Definition: Confirmatory drilling to raise resource confidence, not new discovery.

Why it applies: Program includes 3,000m of infill drilling at Grata to convert Inferred to Indicated resources.

Evidence · text

> Infill drilling comprising 3,000 meters is designed to convert Inferred Resources at the polymetallic Grata Deposit into higher confidence Indicated Resources.

**Step-Out Extension**

Polarity: positive

Story-specific tag

Definition: Mineralization extended beyond the previously known limit.

Why it applies: 1,000m of drilling at Samapleu Main is designed to step out and delineate extensions.

Evidence · text

> Resource expansion drilling comprising 1,000 meters at the polymetallic Samapleu Main Deposit is designed to step out from the currently defined Mineral Resources

**PEA-Supporting**

Polarity: neutral

Definition: Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.

Why it applies: The exploration program aims to advance the project following the March 2024 PEA.

Evidence · text

> The 2025 exploration program aims to further advance the Project following the March 2024 Preliminary Economic Assessment \(“PEA”\)

## Extracted facts

Stored fact records: 8. Some facts used in scoring do not have a stored record.

## Drill Results (2)

### Fact 1

[Link to this fact](https://atlas-extractions.minestarters.com/news/sama-resources-and-ivanhoe-electric-commence-2025-exploration-program-at-the-pol--de31640b-de30-4f2e-aaf2-7924ef93e2fa#fact-drill-facts-7)

Samapleu-Grata · copper

Needs review: drill\_no\_hole\_id

#### Identity

- Project: Samapleu-Grata
- Commodity: copper
- Region: cote d'ivoire
- Reported Region: cote d'ivoire
- Ticker: SME

#### Geometry

- Grade: 1.5
- Grade Unit: %
- Intercept: 11.9 m

#### Classification

- Sample Type: drill
- Group ID: unknown:0-11.9
- Mining Method: open\_pit

#### Location

- Location: southwest Samapleu Extension
- Loc. Source: document

#### QA/QC

- QA/QC Methods: standards

#### Review

- Needs Review: Yes
- Review Reason: drill\_no\_hole\_id
- Interp. Status: scored
- Historical: No

#### Dates

- Event date: 2025-05-27T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Strong polymetallic intercept identified in the Samapleu Extension.

- Positive factor: High-grade copper and nickel intercept

Evidence · text

> 11.90 meters grading 1.50% copper, 0.50% nickel, 0.02% cobalt, 1.04 g/t platinum, 0.55 g/t palladium, and 0.03 g/t gold.

#### Tags used in scoring

**No QA/QC Disclosure**

Polarity: negative

Definition: Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.

Why it applies: qaqc\_disclosed is not true

**Cut-off Undisclosed**

Polarity: negative

Definition: High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff\_grade was stated

### Fact 2

[Link to this fact](https://atlas-extractions.minestarters.com/news/sama-resources-and-ivanhoe-electric-commence-2025-exploration-program-at-the-pol--de31640b-de30-4f2e-aaf2-7924ef93e2fa#fact-drill-facts-8)

Samapleu-Grata · nickel

Needs review: drill\_no\_hole\_id

#### Identity

- Project: Samapleu-Grata
- Commodity: nickel
- Region: cote d'ivoire
- Reported Region: cote d'ivoire
- Ticker: SME

#### Geometry

- Grade: 0.5
- Grade Unit: %
- Intercept: 11.9 m

#### Classification

- Sample Type: drill
- Group ID: unknown:0-11.9
- Mining Method: open\_pit

#### Location

- Location: southwest Samapleu Extension
- Loc. Source: document

#### QA/QC

- QA/QC Methods: standards

#### Review

- Needs Review: Yes
- Review Reason: drill\_no\_hole\_id
- Interp. Status: scored
- Historical: No

#### Dates

- Event date: 2025-05-27T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Strong polymetallic intercept identified in the Samapleu Extension.

- Positive factor: High-grade nickel intercept

Evidence · text

> 11.90 meters grading 1.50% copper, 0.50% nickel, 0.02% cobalt, 1.04 g/t platinum, 0.55 g/t palladium, and 0.03 g/t gold.

#### Tags used in scoring

**No QA/QC Disclosure**

Polarity: negative

Definition: Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.

Why it applies: qaqc\_disclosed is not true

**Cut-off Undisclosed**

Polarity: negative

Definition: High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff\_grade was stated

## Resource Estimates (6)

### inferred

[Link to this fact](https://atlas-extractions.minestarters.com/news/sama-resources-and-ivanhoe-electric-commence-2025-exploration-program-at-the-pol--de31640b-de30-4f2e-aaf2-7924ef93e2fa#fact-resource-facts-1)

Samapleu-Grata Nickel-Copper Project · nickel

Historical result

Needs review: historical\_restatement

#### Identity

- Project: Samapleu-Grata Nickel-Copper Project
- Commodity: nickel
- Region: cote d'ivoire
- Reported Region: Cote d'Ivoire
- Ticker: SME

#### Resource scope

- Estimate type: resource
- Resource group id: resource:9bc38964e7111e856a49
- Deposit or zone: Grata Deposit

#### Resource Data

- Category: inferred
- Tonnes: 67300000
- Grade: 0.24
- Grade Unit: %

#### Review

- Needs Review: Yes
- Review Reason: historical\_restatement
- Historical: Yes
- Historical Source Date: 2024-03-21T00:00:00.000Z

#### Dates

- Event date: 2025-05-27T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: The Grata deposit is currently entirely Inferred, which is the basis for the upcoming infill program.

- Negative factor: 100% Inferred resource

Evidence · text

> The Grata Deposit comprised nearly 70% of the Inferred Resources used in the 2024 PEA, totaling 67.3 million tonnes grading 0.24% nickel, 0.25% copper,0.01% cobalt, 0.10 grams per tonne \(“g/t”\) platinum, 0.26 g/t palladium, and 0.04 g/t gold.

#### Tags used in scoring

**Inferred Resource**

Polarity: negative

Definition: Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

**Cut-off Undisclosed**

Polarity: negative

Definition: High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff\_grade was stated

**No Contained Metal**

Polarity: negative

Definition: Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained\_metal was not reported

**PEA-Supporting**

Polarity: neutral

Definition: Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

**PFS-Supporting**

Polarity: neutral

Definition: Resource estimate prepared to support a Pre-Feasibility Study — requires adequate M&amp;I component.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

**DFS-Supporting**

Polarity: neutral

Definition: Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&amp;I confidence.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

### inferred

[Link to this fact](https://atlas-extractions.minestarters.com/news/sama-resources-and-ivanhoe-electric-commence-2025-exploration-program-at-the-pol--de31640b-de30-4f2e-aaf2-7924ef93e2fa#fact-resource-facts-2)

Samapleu-Grata Nickel-Copper Project · copper

Historical result

Needs review: historical\_restatement

#### Identity

- Project: Samapleu-Grata Nickel-Copper Project
- Commodity: copper
- Region: cote d'ivoire
- Reported Region: Cote d'Ivoire
- Ticker: SME

#### Resource scope

- Estimate type: resource
- Resource group id: resource:9bc38964e7111e856a49
- Deposit or zone: Grata Deposit

#### Resource Data

- Category: inferred
- Tonnes: 67300000
- Grade: 0.25
- Grade Unit: %

#### Review

- Needs Review: Yes
- Review Reason: historical\_restatement
- Historical: Yes
- Historical Source Date: 2024-03-21T00:00:00.000Z

#### Dates

- Event date: 2025-05-27T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Part of the Grata Inferred resource reported in the 2024 PEA.

Evidence · text

> The Grata Deposit comprised nearly 70% of the Inferred Resources used in the 2024 PEA, totaling 67.3 million tonnes grading 0.24% nickel, 0.25% copper,0.01% cobalt, 0.10 grams per tonne \(“g/t”\) platinum, 0.26 g/t palladium, and 0.04 g/t gold.

#### Tags used in scoring

**Inferred Resource**

Polarity: negative

Definition: Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

**Cut-off Undisclosed**

Polarity: negative

Definition: High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff\_grade was stated

**No Contained Metal**

Polarity: negative

Definition: Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained\_metal was not reported

**PEA-Supporting**

Polarity: neutral

Definition: Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

**PFS-Supporting**

Polarity: neutral

Definition: Resource estimate prepared to support a Pre-Feasibility Study — requires adequate M&amp;I component.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

**DFS-Supporting**

Polarity: neutral

Definition: Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&amp;I confidence.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

### inferred

[Link to this fact](https://atlas-extractions.minestarters.com/news/sama-resources-and-ivanhoe-electric-commence-2025-exploration-program-at-the-pol--de31640b-de30-4f2e-aaf2-7924ef93e2fa#fact-resource-facts-3)

Samapleu-Grata Nickel-Copper Project · cobalt

Historical result

Needs review: historical\_restatement

#### Identity

- Project: Samapleu-Grata Nickel-Copper Project
- Commodity: cobalt
- Region: cote d'ivoire
- Reported Region: Cote d'Ivoire
- Ticker: SME

#### Resource scope

- Estimate type: resource
- Resource group id: resource:9bc38964e7111e856a49
- Deposit or zone: Grata Deposit

#### Resource Data

- Category: inferred
- Tonnes: 67300000
- Grade: 0.01
- Grade Unit: %

#### Review

- Needs Review: Yes
- Review Reason: historical\_restatement
- Historical: Yes
- Historical Source Date: 2024-03-21T00:00:00.000Z

#### Dates

- Event date: 2025-05-27T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Part of the Grata Inferred resource reported in the 2024 PEA.

Evidence · text

> The Grata Deposit comprised nearly 70% of the Inferred Resources used in the 2024 PEA, totaling 67.3 million tonnes grading 0.24% nickel, 0.25% copper,0.01% cobalt, 0.10 grams per tonne \(“g/t”\) platinum, 0.26 g/t palladium, and 0.04 g/t gold.

#### Tags used in scoring

**Inferred Resource**

Polarity: negative

Definition: Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

**Cut-off Undisclosed**

Polarity: negative

Definition: High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff\_grade was stated

**No Contained Metal**

Polarity: negative

Definition: Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained\_metal was not reported

**PEA-Supporting**

Polarity: neutral

Definition: Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

**PFS-Supporting**

Polarity: neutral

Definition: Resource estimate prepared to support a Pre-Feasibility Study — requires adequate M&amp;I component.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

**DFS-Supporting**

Polarity: neutral

Definition: Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&amp;I confidence.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

### inferred

[Link to this fact](https://atlas-extractions.minestarters.com/news/sama-resources-and-ivanhoe-electric-commence-2025-exploration-program-at-the-pol--de31640b-de30-4f2e-aaf2-7924ef93e2fa#fact-resource-facts-4)

Samapleu-Grata Nickel-Copper Project · platinum

Historical result

Needs review: historical\_restatement

#### Identity

- Project: Samapleu-Grata Nickel-Copper Project
- Commodity: platinum
- Region: cote d'ivoire
- Reported Region: Cote d'Ivoire
- Ticker: SME

#### Resource scope

- Estimate type: resource
- Resource group id: resource:9bc38964e7111e856a49
- Deposit or zone: Grata Deposit

#### Resource Data

- Category: inferred
- Tonnes: 67300000
- Grade: 0.1
- Grade Unit: g/t

#### Review

- Needs Review: Yes
- Review Reason: historical\_restatement
- Historical: Yes
- Historical Source Date: 2024-03-21T00:00:00.000Z

#### Dates

- Event date: 2025-05-27T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Part of the Grata Inferred resource reported in the 2024 PEA.

Evidence · text

> The Grata Deposit comprised nearly 70% of the Inferred Resources used in the 2024 PEA, totaling 67.3 million tonnes grading 0.24% nickel, 0.25% copper,0.01% cobalt, 0.10 grams per tonne \(“g/t”\) platinum, 0.26 g/t palladium, and 0.04 g/t gold.

#### Tags used in scoring

**Inferred Resource**

Polarity: negative

Definition: Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

**Cut-off Undisclosed**

Polarity: negative

Definition: High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff\_grade was stated

**No Contained Metal**

Polarity: negative

Definition: Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained\_metal was not reported

**PEA-Supporting**

Polarity: neutral

Definition: Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

**PFS-Supporting**

Polarity: neutral

Definition: Resource estimate prepared to support a Pre-Feasibility Study — requires adequate M&amp;I component.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

**DFS-Supporting**

Polarity: neutral

Definition: Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&amp;I confidence.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

### inferred

[Link to this fact](https://atlas-extractions.minestarters.com/news/sama-resources-and-ivanhoe-electric-commence-2025-exploration-program-at-the-pol--de31640b-de30-4f2e-aaf2-7924ef93e2fa#fact-resource-facts-5)

Samapleu-Grata Nickel-Copper Project · palladium

Historical result

Needs review: historical\_restatement

#### Identity

- Project: Samapleu-Grata Nickel-Copper Project
- Commodity: palladium
- Region: cote d'ivoire
- Reported Region: Cote d'Ivoire
- Ticker: SME

#### Resource scope

- Estimate type: resource
- Resource group id: resource:9bc38964e7111e856a49
- Deposit or zone: Grata Deposit

#### Resource Data

- Category: inferred
- Tonnes: 67300000
- Grade: 0.26
- Grade Unit: g/t

#### Review

- Needs Review: Yes
- Review Reason: historical\_restatement
- Historical: Yes
- Historical Source Date: 2024-03-21T00:00:00.000Z

#### Dates

- Event date: 2025-05-27T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Part of the Grata Inferred resource reported in the 2024 PEA.

Evidence · text

> The Grata Deposit comprised nearly 70% of the Inferred Resources used in the 2024 PEA, totaling 67.3 million tonnes grading 0.24% nickel, 0.25% copper,0.01% cobalt, 0.10 grams per tonne \(“g/t”\) platinum, 0.26 g/t palladium, and 0.04 g/t gold.

#### Tags used in scoring

**Inferred Resource**

Polarity: negative

Definition: Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

**Cut-off Undisclosed**

Polarity: negative

Definition: High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff\_grade was stated

**No Contained Metal**

Polarity: negative

Definition: Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained\_metal was not reported

**PEA-Supporting**

Polarity: neutral

Definition: Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

**PFS-Supporting**

Polarity: neutral

Definition: Resource estimate prepared to support a Pre-Feasibility Study — requires adequate M&amp;I component.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

**DFS-Supporting**

Polarity: neutral

Definition: Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&amp;I confidence.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

### inferred

[Link to this fact](https://atlas-extractions.minestarters.com/news/sama-resources-and-ivanhoe-electric-commence-2025-exploration-program-at-the-pol--de31640b-de30-4f2e-aaf2-7924ef93e2fa#fact-resource-facts-6)

Samapleu-Grata Nickel-Copper Project · gold

Historical result

Needs review: historical\_restatement

#### Identity

- Project: Samapleu-Grata Nickel-Copper Project
- Commodity: gold
- Region: cote d'ivoire
- Reported Region: Cote d'Ivoire
- Ticker: SME

#### Resource scope

- Estimate type: resource
- Resource group id: resource:9bc38964e7111e856a49
- Deposit or zone: Grata Deposit

#### Resource Data

- Category: inferred
- Tonnes: 67300000
- Grade: 0.04
- Grade Unit: g/t

#### Review

- Needs Review: Yes
- Review Reason: historical\_restatement
- Historical: Yes
- Historical Source Date: 2024-03-21T00:00:00.000Z

#### Dates

- Event date: 2025-05-27T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Part of the Grata Inferred resource reported in the 2024 PEA.

Evidence · text

> The Grata Deposit comprised nearly 70% of the Inferred Resources used in the 2024 PEA, totaling 67.3 million tonnes grading 0.24% nickel, 0.25% copper,0.01% cobalt, 0.10 grams per tonne \(“g/t”\) platinum, 0.26 g/t palladium, and 0.04 g/t gold.

#### Tags used in scoring

**Inferred Resource**

Polarity: negative

Definition: Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

**Cut-off Undisclosed**

Polarity: negative

Definition: High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff\_grade was stated

**No Contained Metal**

Polarity: negative

Definition: Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained\_metal was not reported

**PEA-Supporting**

Polarity: neutral

Definition: Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

**PFS-Supporting**

Polarity: neutral

Definition: Resource estimate prepared to support a Pre-Feasibility Study — requires adequate M&amp;I component.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

**DFS-Supporting**

Polarity: neutral

Definition: Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&amp;I confidence.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

## How Atlas produces this analysis

Minestarters Atlas uses automated extraction to summarize mining announcements, identify reported measurements, and classify supporting evidence. Sentiment reflects the extracted narrative and classification rules; it is an interpretation, not a reported measurement. Evidence quotes and context are provided where available. Missing data, low-confidence results, and review flags indicate limitations. Check the original publisher announcement before relying on an interpretation.
