Selkirk Copper’s $494M value for Minto nearly triple its costs

Original announcement by miningcom on

Company
Selkirk Copper Mines
Ticker
SCMI
Exchange
Unavailable
Region
Yukon
Primary commodity
Copper
Secondary commodities
Gold, Silver
Document categories
Resource update, Economic study
Extracted
2026-09-22 21:17:48 UTC

Analysis by Minestarters Atlas

Minestarters Atlas analysis

Summary

Selkirk Copper Mines has released a Preliminary Economic Assessment (PEA) for its Minto project in Yukon, reporting a post-tax NPV of US$353 million and an IRR of 47.8%. While the economics appear strong with a 1.9-year payback, the study uses high metal price assumptions and excludes $409 million in sustaining capital.

Reasoning: The PEA presents strong headline economics (high IRR, low payback) but carries significant risk due to high price assumptions and the exclusion of major sustaining capital and pre-capital costs.

Positive factors

  • Strong post-tax IRR of 47.8%
  • Short payback period of 1.9 years
  • Significant contained metal growth noted in recent resource update

Negative factors

  • High metal price assumptions relative to long-term planning
  • PEA excludes significant sustaining capital ($409M) and pre-capital expenditures
  • Share price dropped 18% following the announcement

Facts used in scoring: 7

Classification and evidence

PEA Onlyneutral

Only Class 4 / Initial Assessment economics available. Not bankable.

Why it applies: The document reports a Preliminary Economic Assessment (PEA) for the Minto project.

Evidence · text

“A preliminary economic assessment (PEA) for Selkirk Copper Mines’”

Inferred Heavy Feednegative

Material Inferred share of LOM mill feed, or the share is undisclosed.

Why it applies: The resource update mentioned contains a significant inferred component (16.9Mt vs 47.8Mt M&I).

Evidence · text

“Inferred resources total 16.9 million tonnes”

Extracted facts

Stored fact records: 6. Some facts used in scoring do not have a stored record.

Resource Estimates (6)

indicatedMinto · copperTonnes: 47800000Grade: 0.89Grade Unit: %View all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Minto
Commodity
copper
Region
canada_yt
Reported Region
Yukon
Ticker
SCMI

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Resource group id
resource:7bc5ab34d5383b01b7b8
Mining method
combined

Resource Data

Category
indicated
Tonnes
47800000
Grade
0.89
Grade Unit
%

Review

Needs Review
No
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-09-22T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Significant resource growth reported in July update.

Positive factors

  • Contained metal nearly tripled

Evidence · text

“Minto hosts 47.8 million measured and indicated tonnes grading 0.89% copper”

Tags used in scoring

Indicated Resourcepositive

Reasonable geological confidence based on adequate drilling; continuity can be assumed. Basis for Probable Reserves.

Why it applies: category is "indicated"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

No QP/CP Disclosurenegative

No Qualified Person or Competent Person named — lower credibility for the estimate. A QP/CP should be a member of a recognized professional association with relevant experience.

Why it applies: no Qualified or Competent Person is named anywhere in the release

PEA-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

DFS-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

indicatedMinto · goldTonnes: 47800000Grade: 0.34Grade Unit: g/tView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Minto
Commodity
gold
Region
canada_yt
Reported Region
Yukon
Ticker
SCMI

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Resource group id
resource:7bc5ab34d5383b01b7b8
Mining method
combined

Resource Data

Category
indicated
Tonnes
47800000
Grade
0.34
Grade Unit
g/t

Review

Needs Review
No
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-09-22T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Secondary metal reported in M&I resource.

Evidence · text

“47.8 million measured and indicated tonnes grading 0.89% copper, 0.34 gram gold per tonne”

Tags used in scoring

Indicated Resourcepositive

Reasonable geological confidence based on adequate drilling; continuity can be assumed. Basis for Probable Reserves.

Why it applies: category is "indicated"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

No QP/CP Disclosurenegative

No Qualified Person or Competent Person named — lower credibility for the estimate. A QP/CP should be a member of a recognized professional association with relevant experience.

Why it applies: no Qualified or Competent Person is named anywhere in the release

PEA-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

DFS-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

indicatedMinto · silverTonnes: 47800000Grade: 3.2Grade Unit: g/tView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Minto
Commodity
silver
Region
canada_yt
Reported Region
Yukon
Ticker
SCMI

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Resource group id
resource:7bc5ab34d5383b01b7b8
Mining method
combined

Resource Data

Category
indicated
Tonnes
47800000
Grade
3.2
Grade Unit
g/t

Review

Needs Review
No
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-09-22T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Secondary metal reported in M&I resource.

Evidence · text

“47.8 million measured and indicated tonnes grading 0.89% copper, 0.34 gram gold per tonne and 3.2 grams silver”

Tags used in scoring

Indicated Resourcepositive

Reasonable geological confidence based on adequate drilling; continuity can be assumed. Basis for Probable Reserves.

Why it applies: category is "indicated"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

No QP/CP Disclosurenegative

No Qualified Person or Competent Person named — lower credibility for the estimate. A QP/CP should be a member of a recognized professional association with relevant experience.

Why it applies: no Qualified or Competent Person is named anywhere in the release

PEA-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

DFS-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

inferredMinto · copperTonnes: 16900000Grade: 0.76Grade Unit: %View all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Minto
Commodity
copper
Region
canada_yt
Reported Region
Yukon
Ticker
SCMI

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Resource group id
resource:bae96661ac8bee03843e
Mining method
combined

Resource Data

Category
inferred
Tonnes
16900000
Grade
0.76
Grade Unit
%

Review

Needs Review
No
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-09-22T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Inferred resource component.

Evidence · text

“Inferred resources total 16.9 million tonnes at 0.76% copper”

Tags used in scoring

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

No QP/CP Disclosurenegative

No Qualified Person or Competent Person named — lower credibility for the estimate. A QP/CP should be a member of a recognized professional association with relevant experience.

Why it applies: no Qualified or Competent Person is named anywhere in the release

PEA-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

DFS-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

inferredMinto · goldTonnes: 16900000Grade: 0.26Grade Unit: g/tView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Minto
Commodity
gold
Region
canada_yt
Reported Region
Yukon
Ticker
SCMI

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Resource group id
resource:bae96661ac8bee03843e
Mining method
combined

Resource Data

Category
inferred
Tonnes
16900000
Grade
0.26
Grade Unit
g/t

Review

Needs Review
No
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-09-22T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Inferred resource component.

Evidence · text

“Inferred resources total 16.9 million tonnes at 0.76% copper, 0.26 gram gold”

Tags used in scoring

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

No QP/CP Disclosurenegative

No Qualified Person or Competent Person named — lower credibility for the estimate. A QP/CP should be a member of a recognized professional association with relevant experience.

Why it applies: no Qualified or Competent Person is named anywhere in the release

PEA-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

DFS-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

inferredMinto · silverTonnes: 16900000Grade: 2.7Grade Unit: g/tView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Minto
Commodity
silver
Region
canada_yt
Reported Region
Yukon
Ticker
SCMI

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Resource group id
resource:bae96661ac8bee03843e
Mining method
combined

Resource Data

Category
inferred
Tonnes
16900000
Grade
2.7
Grade Unit
g/t

Review

Needs Review
No
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-09-22T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Inferred resource component.

Evidence · text

“Inferred resources total 16.9 million tonnes at 0.76% copper, 0.26 gram gold and 2.7 grams silver”

Tags used in scoring

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

No QP/CP Disclosurenegative

No Qualified Person or Competent Person named — lower credibility for the estimate. A QP/CP should be a member of a recognized professional association with relevant experience.

Why it applies: no Qualified or Competent Person is named anywhere in the release

PEA-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

DFS-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

How Atlas produces this analysis

Minestarters Atlas uses automated extraction to summarize mining announcements, identify reported measurements, and classify supporting evidence. Sentiment reflects the extracted narrative and classification rules; it is an interpretation, not a reported measurement. Evidence quotes and context are provided where available. Missing data, low-confidence results, and review flags indicate limitations. Check the original publisher announcement before relying on an interpretation.