South Atlantic Gold Commences Phase III Mobilization At Pedra Branca

Original announcement by tmx on

Company
SOUTH ATLANTIC GOLD INC.
Ticker
SAO
Exchange
TSX
Region
Ceara State, Brazil
Primary commodity
Gold
Secondary commodities
None reported
Document categories
Drill results, Other, Resource update
Extracted
2026-09-12 22:56:49 UTC

Analysis by Minestarters Atlas

Minestarters Atlas analysis

Summary

South Atlantic Gold has commenced mobilization for its C$3.0 million Phase III diamond drill program at the Pedra Branca Gold Project in Brazil. The program will target three areas—Queimadas, Mirador, and Igrejinha—to test for depth extensions and southwest expansions of known mineralization.

Reasoning: The company is announcing the mobilization of a fully funded 5,000m diamond drill program targeting three known areas, leveraging high-grade historical intercepts to guide new exploration.

Positive factors

  • Fully funded Phase III program
  • Multi-target diamond drilling approach
  • Existing high-grade historical intercepts

Negative factors

  • Historical results being restated rather than new assays

Facts used in scoring: 5

Classification and evidence

Infill Drillingneutral

Confirmatory drilling to raise resource confidence, not new discovery.

Why it applies: The program includes re-sampling historical holes and testing extensions of known targets.

Evidence · text

“Additional historical diamond drill holes on those three targets to be re-sampled”

Apparent Width Onlynegative

Interval given as downhole width with no true width or drill orientation — apparent width may overstate true thickness.

Why it applies: The document explicitly states that true widths for reported intervals have not been determined.

Evidence · text

“All reported intervals are downhole lengths. True widths have not been determined.”

QA/QC Disclosedpositive

Release includes QA/QC disclosure — certified lab, QP sign-off, or stated methods (blanks, standards, duplicates).

Why it applies: The release mentions re-sampling with fire assay and ICP-MS 33-element geochemistry and a QP sign-off.

Evidence · text

“reviewed and approved by Marcelo Antonio Batelochi (P.Geo.), MAusIMM (CP)”

Extracted facts

Stored fact records: 5. Some facts used in scoring do not have a stored record.

Drill Results (4)

FCC002Pedra Branca South · goldGrade: 4.69Grade Unit: g/tIntercept: 20.5 mHistorical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Hole ID
FCC002
Project
Pedra Branca South
Commodity
gold
Region
brazil
Reported Region
brazil
Ticker
SAO

Geometry

Grade
4.69
Grade Unit
g/t
Intercept
20.5 m

Classification

Sample Type
drill

QA/QC

QP Signed
Yes
QA/QC Methods
standards

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Interp. Status
scored
Historical
Yes
Historical Source Date
2021-03-16T00:00:00.000Z

Dates

Event date
2026-04-14T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Historical intercept of 20.5m at 4.69 g/t Au.

Positive factors

  • Strong grade and width

Negative factors

  • Historical data

Evidence · text

“FCC002: 20.5m @ 4.69 g/t Au”

Tags used in scoring

No QA/QC Disclosurenegative

Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.

Why it applies: qaqc_disclosed is not true

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

Stale Data Re-releasenegative

Historical results re-announced with no new assays or reinterpretation — low genuine novelty.

Why it applies: the fact restates a prior release

FCC016Pedra Branca South · goldGrade: 43.7Grade Unit: g/tIntercept: 1 mHistorical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Hole ID
FCC016
Project
Pedra Branca South
Commodity
gold
Region
brazil
Reported Region
brazil
Ticker
SAO

Geometry

Grade
43.7
Grade Unit
g/t
Intercept
1 m
From
90 m
To
91 m
Intercept Depth
90 m

Classification

Sample Type
drill
Group ID
FCC016:90-91

QA/QC

QP Signed
Yes
QA/QC Methods
standards

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Interp. Status
scored
Historical
Yes
Historical Source Date
2021-03-16T00:00:00.000Z

Dates

Event date
2026-04-14T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Historical high-grade intercept of 1.0m at 43.70 g/t Au.

Positive factors

  • High-grade interval

Negative factors

  • Historical data
  • Narrow width

Evidence · text

“FCC016: 1.0m @ 43.70 g/t Au at 90m downhole depth”

Tags used in scoring

No QA/QC Disclosurenegative

Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.

Why it applies: qaqc_disclosed is not true

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

Stale Data Re-releasenegative

Historical results re-announced with no new assays or reinterpretation — low genuine novelty.

Why it applies: the fact restates a prior release

FMC008Pedra Branca South · goldGrade: 9.35Grade Unit: g/tIntercept: 5.1 mHistorical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Hole ID
FMC008
Project
Pedra Branca South
Commodity
gold
Region
brazil
Reported Region
brazil
Ticker
SAO

Geometry

Grade
9.35
Grade Unit
g/t
Intercept
5.1 m

Classification

Sample Type
drill

QA/QC

QP Signed
Yes
QA/QC Methods
standards

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Interp. Status
scored
Historical
Yes
Historical Source Date
2021-03-16T00:00:00.000Z

Dates

Event date
2026-04-14T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Historical intercept of 5.1m at 9.35 g/t Au.

Positive factors

  • Strong grade

Negative factors

  • Historical data

Evidence · text

“FMC008: 5.1m @ 9.35 g/t Au”

Tags used in scoring

No QA/QC Disclosurenegative

Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.

Why it applies: qaqc_disclosed is not true

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

Stale Data Re-releasenegative

Historical results re-announced with no new assays or reinterpretation — low genuine novelty.

Why it applies: the fact restates a prior release

TIG044Pedra Branca South · goldGrade: 19.18Grade Unit: g/tIntercept: 6.4 mHistorical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Hole ID
TIG044
Project
Pedra Branca South
Commodity
gold
Region
brazil
Reported Region
brazil
Ticker
SAO

Geometry

Grade
19.18
Grade Unit
g/t
Intercept
6.4 m

Classification

Sample Type
drill

QA/QC

QP Signed
Yes
QA/QC Methods
standards

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Interp. Status
scored
Historical
Yes
Historical Source Date
2021-03-16T00:00:00.000Z

Dates

Event date
2026-04-14T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Historical RC intercept of 6.4m at 19.18 g/t Au; true width not determined.

Positive factors

  • High grade

Negative factors

  • Historical data
  • Apparent width only

Evidence · text

“TIG044: 6.4m @ 19.18 g/t Au”

Tags used in scoring

No QA/QC Disclosurenegative

Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.

Why it applies: qaqc_disclosed is not true

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

Stale Data Re-releasenegative

Historical results re-announced with no new assays or reinterpretation — low genuine novelty.

Why it applies: the fact restates a prior release

Resource Estimates (1)

inferredPedra Branca · goldTonnes: 4000000Grade: 1.38Grade Unit: g/tContained Metal: 180000Contained Unit: ozHistorical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Pedra Branca
Commodity
gold
Region
brazil
Reported Region
Ceara State, Brazil
Ticker
SAO

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Reporting standards
ni_43_101
Resource group id
resource:d729bbcbb03226e771a0

Resource Data

Category
inferred
Tonnes
4000000
Grade
1.38
Grade Unit
g/t
Contained Metal
180000
Contained Unit
oz
Cutoff Grade
0.4
Cutoff Unit
g/t

Prior Estimate

Resource Date
2021-03-16

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Historical
Yes
Historical Source Date
2021-03-16T00:00:00.000Z

Dates

Event date
2026-04-14T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Existing NI 43-101 Inferred Resource restated for context.

Positive factors

  • Established resource

Negative factors

  • Inferred category

Evidence · text

“4.0 Mt @ 1.38 g/t Au for 180,000 oz Au at a 0.40 g/t cutoff”

Tags used in scoring

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

Cut-off Disclosedpositive

Cut-off grade used for resource reporting is clearly stated, enabling like-for-like comparison.

Why it applies: cutoff_grade is stated

NI 43-101 Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101

Stale Estimatenegative

Effective date is >2 years old — data currency concern, may not reflect current geological understanding.

Why it applies: effective date is 5.1 years before this release

How Atlas produces this analysis

Minestarters Atlas uses automated extraction to summarize mining announcements, identify reported measurements, and classify supporting evidence. Sentiment reflects the extracted narrative and classification rules; it is an interpretation, not a reported measurement. Evidence quotes and context are provided where available. Missing data, low-confidence results, and review flags indicate limitations. Check the original publisher announcement before relying on an interpretation.