South Pacific Metals Commences Exploration at the Kili Teke Copper-Gold Project, Papua New Guinea - Host to a 4.2Moz Gold-Equivalent NI 43-101 Inferred Resource
Original announcement by tmx on
- Company
- South Pacific Metals Corp.
- Ticker
- SPMC
- Exchange
- TSX
- Region
- Papua New Guinea
- Primary commodity
- Gold
- Secondary commodities
- Copper, Molybdenum, Silver, Zinc
- Document categories
- Drill results, Resource update, Other
- Extracted
- 2026-09-18 23:09:43 UTC
Analysis by Minestarters Atlas
Minestarters Atlas analysis
Summary
South Pacific Metals Corp. has commenced a staged exploration program at the Kili Teke Copper-Gold Project in Papua New Guinea. The project hosts a 4.2Moz AuEq NI 43-101 Inferred Resource, with significant high-grade targets identified in untested prospect areas including the Ieru Porphyry, Ridge Gold Area, and Skarn Corridor.
Reasoning: The company is commencing a staged exploration program at a district-scale project with a significant existing resource base and high-grade targets in largely untested prospect areas.
Positive factors
- Large existing 4.2Moz AuEq Inferred Resource
- Significant high-grade historical intercepts in untested areas
- Strong stakeholder and government support
- Machine-learning targeting provides clear drill priority
Negative factors
- Resource is entirely Inferred category
- High-grade intercepts are historical and unverified by the current company
Facts used in scoring: 9
Classification and evidence
Inferred Resourcenegative
Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.
Why it applies: The project's 4.2Moz AuEq resource is entirely in the Inferred category.
Evidence · text
“NI 43-101 Inferred Mineral Resource (effective 18 November 2022) of 237 Mt”
Nearology Playneutral · Story-specific tag
Value premise rests on proximity to a known deposit rather than own results.
Why it applies: The project is located in the same gold-copper belt as the >30Moz Au Porgera gold mine.
Evidence · text
“district-scale system in the same gold-copper belt as the >30Moz Au Porgera gold mine, 40km away”
QA/QC Disclosedpositive · Story-specific tag
Release includes QA/QC disclosure — certified lab, QP sign-off, or stated methods (blanks, standards, duplicates).
Why it applies: The release names a Qualified Person (Dr. Darren Holden) and references an independent NI 43-101 technical report.
Evidence · text
“reviewed and approved by Dr. Darren Holden... a 'Qualified Person' as defined under National Instrument 43-101”
Extracted facts
Stored fact records: 9. Some facts used in scoring do not have a stored record.
Drill Results (6)
KTDD045Kili Teke · copperGrade: 1.17Grade Unit: %Intercept: 152 mHistorical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Hole ID
- KTDD045
- Project
- Kili Teke
- Commodity
- copper
- Region
- png
- Reported Region
- png
- Ticker
- SPMC
Geometry
- Grade
- 1.17
- Grade Unit
- %
- Intercept
- 152 m
Classification
- Sample Type
- drill
QA/QC
- QP Signed
- Yes
Review
- Needs Review
- Yes
- Review Reason
- historical_restatement
- Interp. Status
- scored
- Historical
- Yes
Dates
- Event date
- 2026-06-25T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: High-grade historical intercept.
Positive factors
- Strong intercept width and grade
Evidence · text
“152 m @ 1.17% Cu and 0.93 g/t Au (KTDD045)”
Tags used in scoring
No QA/QC Disclosurenegative
Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.
Why it applies: qaqc_disclosed is not true
Cut-off Undisclosednegative
High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.
Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated
Stale Data Re-releasenegative
Historical results re-announced with no new assays or reinterpretation — low genuine novelty.
Why it applies: the fact restates a prior release
Nearology Playneutral
Value premise rests on proximity to a known deposit rather than own results.
Why it applies: proximity is offered as the value premise: "Anga - Bordering K92 to the northeast, along strike from K92's Arakompa discovery; soils to 1,080 ppb Au , 3,397 ppm Cu "
KTDD045Kili Teke · goldGrade: 0.93Grade Unit: g/tIntercept: 152 mHistorical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Hole ID
- KTDD045
- Project
- Kili Teke
- Commodity
- gold
- Region
- png
- Reported Region
- png
- Ticker
- SPMC
Geometry
- Grade
- 0.93
- Grade Unit
- g/t
- Intercept
- 152 m
Classification
- Sample Type
- drill
QA/QC
- QP Signed
- Yes
Review
- Needs Review
- Yes
- Review Reason
- historical_restatement
- Interp. Status
- scored
- Historical
- Yes
Dates
- Event date
- 2026-06-25T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: High-grade historical intercept.
Positive factors
- Strong intercept width
Evidence · text
“152 m @ 1.17% Cu and 0.93 g/t Au (KTDD045)”
Tags used in scoring
No QA/QC Disclosurenegative
Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.
Why it applies: qaqc_disclosed is not true
Cut-off Undisclosednegative
High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.
Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated
Stale Data Re-releasenegative
Historical results re-announced with no new assays or reinterpretation — low genuine novelty.
Why it applies: the fact restates a prior release
Nearology Playneutral
Value premise rests on proximity to a known deposit rather than own results.
Why it applies: proximity is offered as the value premise: "Anga - Bordering K92 to the northeast, along strike from K92's Arakompa discovery; soils to 1,080 ppb Au , 3,397 ppm Cu "
Fact 3Kili Teke · copperGrade: 12.98Grade Unit: %Intercept: 7.8 mHistorical resultNeeds review: drill_no_hole_idView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Kili Teke
- Commodity
- copper
- Region
- png
- Reported Region
- png
- Ticker
- SPMC
Geometry
- Grade
- 12.98
- Grade Unit
- %
- Intercept
- 7.8 m
Classification
- Sample Type
- drill
QA/QC
- QP Signed
- Yes
Review
- Needs Review
- Yes
- Review Reason
- drill_no_hole_id
- Interp. Status
- scored
- Historical
- Yes
Dates
- Event date
- 2026-06-25T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: Historical drill result explicitly reported in source prose.
Evidence · text
“High-grade historical results include 7.8 m @ 12.98% Cu and 11.75 g/t Au, surface rock chips to 38.7% Cu and 40 g/t Au, and 152 m @ 1.17% Cu and 0.93 g/t Au, across four largely untested prospect areas.”
Tags used in scoring
No QA/QC Disclosurenegative
Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.
Why it applies: qaqc_disclosed is not true
Cut-off Undisclosednegative
High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.
Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated
Stale Data Re-releasenegative
Historical results re-announced with no new assays or reinterpretation — low genuine novelty.
Why it applies: the fact restates a prior release
Nearology Playneutral
Value premise rests on proximity to a known deposit rather than own results.
Why it applies: proximity is offered as the value premise: "Anga - Bordering K92 to the northeast, along strike from K92's Arakompa discovery; soils to 1,080 ppb Au , 3,397 ppm Cu "
Fact 4Kili Teke · goldGrade: 11.75Grade Unit: g/tIntercept: 7.8 mHistorical resultNeeds review: drill_no_hole_idView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Kili Teke
- Commodity
- gold
- Region
- png
- Reported Region
- png
- Ticker
- SPMC
Geometry
- Grade
- 11.75
- Grade Unit
- g/t
- Intercept
- 7.8 m
Classification
- Sample Type
- drill
QA/QC
- QP Signed
- Yes
Review
- Needs Review
- Yes
- Review Reason
- drill_no_hole_id
- Interp. Status
- scored
- Historical
- Yes
Dates
- Event date
- 2026-06-25T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: Historical drill result explicitly reported in source prose.
Evidence · text
“High-grade historical results include 7.8 m @ 12.98% Cu and 11.75 g/t Au, surface rock chips to 38.7% Cu and 40 g/t Au, and 152 m @ 1.17% Cu and 0.93 g/t Au, across four largely untested prospect areas.”
Tags used in scoring
No QA/QC Disclosurenegative
Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.
Why it applies: qaqc_disclosed is not true
Cut-off Undisclosednegative
High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.
Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated
Stale Data Re-releasenegative
Historical results re-announced with no new assays or reinterpretation — low genuine novelty.
Why it applies: the fact restates a prior release
Nearology Playneutral
Value premise rests on proximity to a known deposit rather than own results.
Why it applies: proximity is offered as the value premise: "Anga - Bordering K92 to the northeast, along strike from K92's Arakompa discovery; soils to 1,080 ppb Au , 3,397 ppm Cu "
Fact 5Kili Teke · copperGrade: 1.17Grade Unit: %Intercept: 152 mHistorical resultNeeds review: drill_no_hole_idView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Kili Teke
- Commodity
- copper
- Region
- png
- Reported Region
- png
- Ticker
- SPMC
Geometry
- Grade
- 1.17
- Grade Unit
- %
- Intercept
- 152 m
Classification
- Sample Type
- drill
QA/QC
- QP Signed
- Yes
Review
- Needs Review
- Yes
- Review Reason
- drill_no_hole_id
- Interp. Status
- scored
- Historical
- Yes
Dates
- Event date
- 2026-06-25T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: Historical drill result explicitly reported in source prose.
Evidence · text
“High-grade historical results include 7.8 m @ 12.98% Cu and 11.75 g/t Au, surface rock chips to 38.7% Cu and 40 g/t Au, and 152 m @ 1.17% Cu and 0.93 g/t Au, across four largely untested prospect areas.”
Tags used in scoring
No QA/QC Disclosurenegative
Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.
Why it applies: qaqc_disclosed is not true
Cut-off Undisclosednegative
High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.
Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated
Stale Data Re-releasenegative
Historical results re-announced with no new assays or reinterpretation — low genuine novelty.
Why it applies: the fact restates a prior release
Nearology Playneutral
Value premise rests on proximity to a known deposit rather than own results.
Why it applies: proximity is offered as the value premise: "Anga - Bordering K92 to the northeast, along strike from K92's Arakompa discovery; soils to 1,080 ppb Au , 3,397 ppm Cu "
Fact 6Kili Teke · goldGrade: 0.93Grade Unit: g/tIntercept: 152 mHistorical resultNeeds review: drill_no_hole_idView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Kili Teke
- Commodity
- gold
- Region
- png
- Reported Region
- png
- Ticker
- SPMC
Geometry
- Grade
- 0.93
- Grade Unit
- g/t
- Intercept
- 152 m
Classification
- Sample Type
- drill
QA/QC
- QP Signed
- Yes
Review
- Needs Review
- Yes
- Review Reason
- drill_no_hole_id
- Interp. Status
- scored
- Historical
- Yes
Dates
- Event date
- 2026-06-25T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: Historical drill result explicitly reported in source prose.
Evidence · text
“High-grade historical results include 7.8 m @ 12.98% Cu and 11.75 g/t Au, surface rock chips to 38.7% Cu and 40 g/t Au, and 152 m @ 1.17% Cu and 0.93 g/t Au, across four largely untested prospect areas.”
Tags used in scoring
No QA/QC Disclosurenegative
Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.
Why it applies: qaqc_disclosed is not true
Cut-off Undisclosednegative
High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.
Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated
Stale Data Re-releasenegative
Historical results re-announced with no new assays or reinterpretation — low genuine novelty.
Why it applies: the fact restates a prior release
Nearology Playneutral
Value premise rests on proximity to a known deposit rather than own results.
Why it applies: proximity is offered as the value premise: "Anga - Bordering K92 to the northeast, along strike from K92's Arakompa discovery; soils to 1,080 ppb Au , 3,397 ppm Cu "
Resource Estimates (3)
inferredKili Teke · goldTonnes: 237000000Grade: 0.24Grade Unit: g/tContained Metal: 1.81Contained Unit: mozHistorical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Kili Teke
- Commodity
- gold
- Region
- png
- Reported Region
- Papua New Guinea
- Ticker
- SPMC
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- resource
- Effective date
- 2022-11-18T00:00:00.000Z
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101
- QP Signed
- Yes
- Qualified person names
- Graeme J. Fleming
- Resource group id
- resource:44955edf0ecaced21db0
- Deposit or zone
- Central Main Porphyry
- Mining method
- open_pit
- Material type
- unspecified
- Ownership percent
- 100 %
Resource Data
- Category
- inferred
- Tonnes
- 237000000
- Grade
- 0.24
- Grade Unit
- g/t
- Contained Metal
- 1.81
- Contained Unit
- moz
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2022-11-18
Metal Equivalent
- Assumptions Disclosed
- Yes
Review
- Needs Review
- Yes
- Review Reason
- historical_restatement
- Historical
- Yes
- Historical Source Date
- 2023-01-12T00:00:00.000Z
Dates
- Event date
- 2026-06-25T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: Large scale resource but low geological confidence due to Inferred status.
Positive factors
- Large tonnage and significant gold content
Negative factors
- Entirely Inferred category
Evidence · text
“NI 43-101 Inferred Mineral Resource (effective 18 November 2022) of 237 Mt grading 0.24 g/t Au and 0.34% Cu, containing 1.81 Moz Au, 802 kt Cu and 40 kt Mo”
Tags used in scoring
Inferred Resourcenegative
Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.
Why it applies: category is "inferred"
Cut-off Undisclosednegative
High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.
Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated
QP/CP Signedpositive
Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.
Why it applies: qp_signed is true
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
Stale Estimatenegative
Effective date is >2 years old — data currency concern, may not reflect current geological understanding.
Why it applies: effective date is 3.6 years before this release
inferredKili Teke · copperTonnes: 237000000Grade: 0.34Grade Unit: %Contained Metal: 802Contained Unit: ktHistorical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Kili Teke
- Commodity
- copper
- Region
- png
- Reported Region
- Papua New Guinea
- Ticker
- SPMC
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- resource
- Effective date
- 2022-11-18T00:00:00.000Z
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101
- QP Signed
- Yes
- Qualified person names
- Graeme J. Fleming
- Resource group id
- resource:44955edf0ecaced21db0
- Deposit or zone
- Central Main Porphyry
- Mining method
- open_pit
- Material type
- unspecified
- Ownership percent
- 100 %
Resource Data
- Category
- inferred
- Tonnes
- 237000000
- Grade
- 0.34
- Grade Unit
- %
- Contained Metal
- 802
- Contained Unit
- kt
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2022-11-18
Metal Equivalent
- Assumptions Disclosed
- Yes
Review
- Needs Review
- Yes
- Review Reason
- historical_restatement
- Historical
- Yes
- Historical Source Date
- 2023-01-12T00:00:00.000Z
Dates
- Event date
- 2026-06-25T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: Significant copper resource but low geological confidence due to Inferred status.
Positive factors
- Significant copper content
Negative factors
- Entirely Inferred category
Evidence · text
“237 Mt grading 0.24 g/t Au and 0.34% Cu, containing 1.81 Moz Au, 802 kt Cu and 40 kt Mo”
Tags used in scoring
Inferred Resourcenegative
Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.
Why it applies: category is "inferred"
Cut-off Undisclosednegative
High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.
Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated
QP/CP Signedpositive
Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.
Why it applies: qp_signed is true
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
Stale Estimatenegative
Effective date is >2 years old — data currency concern, may not reflect current geological understanding.
Why it applies: effective date is 3.6 years before this release
inferredKili Teke · molybdenumTonnes: 237000000Contained Metal: 40Contained Unit: ktHistorical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Kili Teke
- Commodity
- molybdenum
- Region
- png
- Reported Region
- Papua New Guinea
- Ticker
- SPMC
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- resource
- Effective date
- 2022-11-18T00:00:00.000Z
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101
- QP Signed
- Yes
- Qualified person names
- Graeme J. Fleming
- Resource group id
- resource:44955edf0ecaced21db0
- Deposit or zone
- Central Main Porphyry
- Mining method
- open_pit
- Material type
- unspecified
- Ownership percent
- 100 %
Resource Data
- Category
- inferred
- Tonnes
- 237000000
- Contained Metal
- 40
- Contained Unit
- kt
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2022-11-18
Metal Equivalent
- Assumptions Disclosed
- Yes
Review
- Needs Review
- Yes
- Review Reason
- historical_restatement
- Historical
- Yes
- Historical Source Date
- 2023-01-12T00:00:00.000Z
Dates
- Event date
- 2026-06-25T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: Trace byproduct molybdenum.
Evidence · text
“containing 1.81 Moz Au, 802 kt Cu and 40 kt Mo”
Tags used in scoring
Inferred Resourcenegative
Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.
Why it applies: category is "inferred"
Cut-off Undisclosednegative
High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.
Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated
QP/CP Signedpositive
Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.
Why it applies: qp_signed is true
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
Stale Estimatenegative
Effective date is >2 years old — data currency concern, may not reflect current geological understanding.
Why it applies: effective date is 3.6 years before this release
How Atlas produces this analysis
Minestarters Atlas uses automated extraction to summarize mining announcements, identify reported measurements, and classify supporting evidence. Sentiment reflects the extracted narrative and classification rules; it is an interpretation, not a reported measurement. Evidence quotes and context are provided where available. Missing data, low-confidence results, and review flags indicate limitations. Check the original publisher announcement before relying on an interpretation.