Tsodilo Resources Limited - Gcwihaba Prospecting Licenses Update

Original announcement by tmx on

Company
Tsodilo Resources Limited
Ticker
TSD
Exchange
TSX
Region
Botswana
Primary commodity
Iron ore
Secondary commodities
Silica, Alumina, Phosphorus
Document categories
Resource update, Permitting, Metallurgy
Extracted
2026-09-17 03:38:15 UTC

Analysis by Minestarters Atlas

Minestarters Atlas analysis

Summary

Tsodilo Resources announced that the legal appeal period regarding its Gcwihaba prospecting licenses in Botswana has lapsed. The company also restated historical resource data for the Xaudum Iron Formation (XIF) project, noting an Inferred resource of 441 Mt at 29.4% Fe.

Reasoning: The company reports a legal milestone regarding its prospecting licenses in Botswana, while restating historical resource and metallurgical data for the Xaudum Iron Formation project.

Positive factors

  • Legal appeal period for court judgement has lapsed
  • Prospecting licenses collected
  • Historical resource data restated for context

Negative factors

  • Discrepancies in licenses need addressing
  • Resource estimate is historical (2014)

Facts used in scoring: 5

Classification and evidence

Permitting Milestonepositive · Story-specific tag

No canonical definition is currently available.

Why it applies: The appeal period for the High Court judgement in Botswana has lapsed, allowing the company to move forward with license issues.

Evidence · text

“the date for the Respondents to file an appeal to the judgement... lapsed on February 15, 2024.”

Stale Estimatenegative

Effective date is >2 years old — data currency concern, may not reflect current geological understanding.

Why it applies: The mineral resource estimate provided is from an effective date of August 29, 2014.

Evidence · text

“effective date of August 29, 2014”

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: The reported resource is classified as Inferred.

Evidence · text

“defined a CIM compliant Inferred Mineral Resource Estimate”

Mill Routeneutral

Processing via mill or concentrator (CIL, CIP, tank leach, flotation).

Why it applies: the document describes a flotation route ("concentrate")

Single Domain Onlynegative

Testing limited to one composite or domain — representativeness not established.

Why it applies: only one composite was tested

Extracted facts

Stored fact records: 5. Some facts used in scoring do not have a stored record.

Resource Estimates (4)

inferredXaudum Iron Formation (XIF) · iron_oreTonnes: 441000000Grade: 29.4Grade Unit: %Historical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Xaudum Iron Formation (XIF)
Commodity
iron_ore
Region
botswana
Reported Region
Botswana
Ticker
TSD

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Effective date
2014-08-29T00:00:00.000Z
Reporting standards
other
QP Signed
Yes
Qualified person names
McDonald Kahari
Resource group id
resource:0db9edddae07fff472c5
Deposit or zone
Block 1 magnetite XIF

Resource Data

Category
inferred
Tonnes
441000000
Grade
29.4
Grade Unit
%

Prior Estimate

Resource Date
2014-08-29

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Historical
Yes
Historical Source Date
2014-08-29T00:00:00.000Z

Dates

Event date
2024-02-20T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Historical resource restatement.

Negative factors

  • Stale data (2014)

Evidence · text

“441 million tonnes (Mt) with an average grade of 29.4% Fe”

Tags used in scoring

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

QP/CP Signedpositive

Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.

Why it applies: qp_signed is true

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

PEA-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

Stale Estimatenegative

Effective date is >2 years old — data currency concern, may not reflect current geological understanding.

Why it applies: effective date is 9.5 years before this release

inferredXaudum Iron Formation (XIF) · silicaTonnes: 441000000Grade: 41Grade Unit: % SiO2Historical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Xaudum Iron Formation (XIF)
Commodity
silica
Region
botswana
Reported Region
Botswana
Ticker
TSD

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Effective date
2014-08-29T00:00:00.000Z
Reporting standards
other
QP Signed
Yes
Qualified person names
McDonald Kahari
Resource group id
resource:0db9edddae07fff472c5
Deposit or zone
Block 1 magnetite XIF

Resource Data

Category
inferred
Tonnes
441000000
Grade
41
Grade Unit
% SiO2

Prior Estimate

Resource Date
2014-08-29

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Historical
Yes
Historical Source Date
2014-08-29T00:00:00.000Z

Dates

Event date
2024-02-20T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Historical byproduct grade.

Evidence · text

“41.0% SiO2”

Context: 441 million tonnes (Mt)

Tags used in scoring

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

QP/CP Signedpositive

Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.

Why it applies: qp_signed is true

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

PEA-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

Stale Estimatenegative

Effective date is >2 years old — data currency concern, may not reflect current geological understanding.

Why it applies: effective date is 9.5 years before this release

inferredXaudum Iron Formation (XIF) · aluminaTonnes: 441000000Grade: 6.1Grade Unit: % Al2O3Historical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Xaudum Iron Formation (XIF)
Commodity
alumina
Region
botswana
Reported Region
Botswana
Ticker
TSD

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Effective date
2014-08-29T00:00:00.000Z
Reporting standards
other
QP Signed
Yes
Qualified person names
McDonald Kahari
Resource group id
resource:0db9edddae07fff472c5
Deposit or zone
Block 1 magnetite XIF

Resource Data

Category
inferred
Tonnes
441000000
Grade
6.1
Grade Unit
% Al2O3

Prior Estimate

Resource Date
2014-08-29

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Historical
Yes
Historical Source Date
2014-08-29T00:00:00.000Z

Dates

Event date
2024-02-20T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Historical byproduct grade.

Evidence · text

“6.1% Al2O3”

Context: 441 million tonnes (Mt)

Tags used in scoring

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

QP/CP Signedpositive

Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.

Why it applies: qp_signed is true

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

PEA-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

Stale Estimatenegative

Effective date is >2 years old — data currency concern, may not reflect current geological understanding.

Why it applies: effective date is 9.5 years before this release

inferredXaudum Iron Formation (XIF) · phosphorusTonnes: 441000000Grade: 0.3Grade Unit: % PHistorical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Xaudum Iron Formation (XIF)
Commodity
phosphorus
Region
botswana
Reported Region
Botswana
Ticker
TSD

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Effective date
2014-08-29T00:00:00.000Z
Reporting standards
other
QP Signed
Yes
Qualified person names
McDonald Kahari
Resource group id
resource:0db9edddae07fff472c5
Deposit or zone
Block 1 magnetite XIF

Resource Data

Category
inferred
Tonnes
441000000
Grade
0.3
Grade Unit
% P

Prior Estimate

Resource Date
2014-08-29

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Historical
Yes
Historical Source Date
2014-08-29T00:00:00.000Z

Dates

Event date
2024-02-20T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Historical byproduct grade.

Evidence · text

“0.3% P”

Context: 441 million tonnes (Mt)

Tags used in scoring

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

QP/CP Signedpositive

Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.

Why it applies: qp_signed is true

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

PEA-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

Stale Estimatenegative

Effective date is >2 years old — data currency concern, may not reflect current geological understanding.

Why it applies: effective date is 9.5 years before this release

Metallurgical Results (1)

magnetic separationXaudum Iron Formation (XIF) · iron_oreView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Xaudum Iron Formation (XIF)
Commodity
iron_ore
Region
botswana
Reported Region
Botswana
Ticker
TSD

Test Work

Program Status
scoping
Test Type
magnetic separation
Sample
Davis Tube Recovery
Grind P80
80 µm

Recovery

Conc. Grade
67.2
Conc. Grade Unit
% Fe

Review

Needs Review
No
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2024-02-20T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Historical metallurgical results restated.

Positive factors

  • High grade concentrate achieved

Evidence · text

“average concentrate of 67.2% Fe”

How Atlas produces this analysis

Minestarters Atlas uses automated extraction to summarize mining announcements, identify reported measurements, and classify supporting evidence. Sentiment reflects the extracted narrative and classification rules; it is an interpretation, not a reported measurement. Evidence quotes and context are provided where available. Missing data, low-confidence results, and review flags indicate limitations. Check the original publisher announcement before relying on an interpretation.