XXIX Metal Publishes Opemiska's Preliminary Economic Assessment Technical Report
Original announcement by tmx on
- Company
- XXIX Metal Corp.
- Ticker
- XXIX
- Exchange
- TSX
- Region
- Quebec
- Primary commodity
- Copper
- Secondary commodities
- Gold, Silver
- Document categories
- Resource update, Economic study
- Extracted
- 2026-09-17 06:53:50 UTC
Analysis by Minestarters Atlas
Minestarters Atlas analysis
Summary
XXIX Metal Corp. has filed a NI 43-101 Preliminary Economic Assessment (PEA) for its 100%-owned Opemiska Project in Quebec. The base case economics include an after-tax NPV8% of C$505M, an IRR of 27.2%, and a 2.3-year payback, based on 44.3 Mt of inferred resources.
Reasoning: The PEA presents robust economics for the Opemiska project, characterized by high IRR and low C1 costs, though the entire resource base is currently classified as Inferred.
Positive factors
- Strong after-tax NPV8% of C$505M
- High IRR of 27.2%
- Rapid 2.3-year payback
- Low-cost producer status (Q1 of cost curve)
Negative factors
- Economics based entirely on Inferred resources
- Results are a re-release of October 2025 announcement
Facts used in scoring: 4
Classification and evidence
PEA Onlyneutral
Only Class 4 / Initial Assessment economics available. Not bankable.
Why it applies: The document reports a Preliminary Economic Assessment (PEA) technical report.
Evidence · text
“Preliminary Economic Assessment ("PEA") technical report”
All Inferrednegative
M&I share below the weak bound — very early stage, no engineering confidence.
Why it applies: The economic analysis is based on 44.3 Mt of inferred mineral resources with no indicated or measured resources mentioned.
Evidence · text
“The PEA incorporates 44.3 Mt of inferred mineral resources”
Stale Data Re-releasenegative · Story-specific tag
Historical results re-announced with no new assays or reinterpretation — low genuine novelty.
Why it applies: The PEA results were originally announced in an October 21, 2025 news release.
Evidence · text
“The PEA results were originally announced in the Company's October 21, 2025 , news release”
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: The report is a NI 43-101 Preliminary Economic Assessment Technical Report.
Evidence · text
“NI 43-101 Preliminary Economic Assessment (PEA) Technical Report”
Extracted facts
Stored fact records: 3. Some facts used in scoring do not have a stored record.
Resource Estimates (3)
inferredOpemiska · copperTonnes: 44300000Grade: 0.32Grade Unit: %View all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Opemiska
- Commodity
- copper
- Region
- canada_qc
- Reported Region
- Quebec
- Ticker
- XXIX
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- resource
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101
- Resource group id
- resource:5792b85b299bfa87b62e
- Mining method
- combined
- Ownership percent
- 100 %
Resource Data
- Category
- inferred
- Tonnes
- 44300000
- Grade
- 0.32
- Grade Unit
- %
Review
- Needs Review
- No
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2025-12-03T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: The resource base is entirely inferred, limiting economic confidence.
Negative factors
- Entirely inferred
Evidence · text
“44.3 Mt of inferred mineral resources (0.32% Cu, 0.18 g/t Au, 0.77 g/t Ag)”
Tags used in scoring
Inferred Resourcenegative
Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.
Why it applies: category is "inferred"
Cut-off Undisclosednegative
High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.
Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
No Contained Metalnegative
Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.
Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported
PEA-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
inferredOpemiska · goldTonnes: 44300000Grade: 0.18Grade Unit: g/tView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Opemiska
- Commodity
- gold
- Region
- canada_qc
- Reported Region
- Quebec
- Ticker
- XXIX
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- resource
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101
- Resource group id
- resource:5792b85b299bfa87b62e
- Mining method
- combined
- Ownership percent
- 100 %
Resource Data
- Category
- inferred
- Tonnes
- 44300000
- Grade
- 0.18
- Grade Unit
- g/t
Review
- Needs Review
- No
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2025-12-03T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: Byproduct gold grade in inferred resource.
Evidence · text
“44.3 Mt of inferred mineral resources (0.32% Cu, 0.18 g/t Au, 0.77 g/t Ag)”
Tags used in scoring
Inferred Resourcenegative
Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.
Why it applies: category is "inferred"
Cut-off Undisclosednegative
High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.
Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
No Contained Metalnegative
Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.
Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported
PEA-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
inferredOpemiska · silverTonnes: 44300000Grade: 0.77Grade Unit: g/tView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Opemiska
- Commodity
- silver
- Region
- canada_qc
- Reported Region
- Quebec
- Ticker
- XXIX
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- resource
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101
- Resource group id
- resource:5792b85b299bfa87b62e
- Mining method
- combined
- Ownership percent
- 100 %
Resource Data
- Category
- inferred
- Tonnes
- 44300000
- Grade
- 0.77
- Grade Unit
- g/t
Review
- Needs Review
- No
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2025-12-03T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: Byproduct silver grade in inferred resource.
Evidence · text
“44.3 Mt of inferred mineral resources (0.32% Cu, 0.18 g/t Au, 0.77 g/t Ag)”
Tags used in scoring
Inferred Resourcenegative
Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.
Why it applies: category is "inferred"
Cut-off Undisclosednegative
High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.
Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
No Contained Metalnegative
Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.
Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported
PEA-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
How Atlas produces this analysis
Minestarters Atlas uses automated extraction to summarize mining announcements, identify reported measurements, and classify supporting evidence. Sentiment reflects the extracted narrative and classification rules; it is an interpretation, not a reported measurement. Evidence quotes and context are provided where available. Missing data, low-confidence results, and review flags indicate limitations. Check the original publisher announcement before relying on an interpretation.